Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
Philadelphia
May 6, 2013

Good value for location

Very nice staff, big room, suprisingly quiet for Union Square - though inside pool creates some noise and the pumbing was a little old. Worth it, thoug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Traveler 1234
Business
Miami, Florida
May 25, 2013

Stay

Very Good overall experience. The staff was very helpful. Being one block from Union Square helped to move to all parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephenEven
Business
Knoxville, TN
Oct 26, 2013

Location and Value

Can't beat the location - It's in the dead center of all transportation options plus many shops, bars, and restaurants. We were in the "Historic" section, which I take to mean "old". No matter. The room was modern, clean, and in great condition. We had a suite, actually. Absolutely huge. Our room had no view, but that means it didn't face the street. Which means, no noise. We heard nothing from outside nor other rooms, for that matter. A great stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesomedude10
Business
San Francisco
Oct 28, 2013

Clean and Comfortable

This hotel is clearly old, but the room was clean and updated. The Grill has decent food and a pretty good happy hour. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creative business travel
Business
San Francisco
Nov 4, 2013

Great location. convenient to shopping

Handlery is a great location right off Union Square, convenient to all the shopping. The staff is helpful and well-informed. Email access is seperate fee at downstairs computer room. ($5.00) Room is average size for San Francisco (adequate, but not big). The room was generally clean except for the edging on the bathroom tiles. I had a back room which had no view, but was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the Sushi Boat on Geary. The worst Japanese food I've ever had.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regular1
Business
North Dakota
Jun 7, 2010

Great Location for a Girls Night Out!

This was a great location to shopping, restaurants, and to great night life! The rooms were nice and it was great to have a pool to relax at! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atozcats
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 13, 2011

Excellent location and value

The location was perfect for my theater-going plans. The staff was extremely helpful and the room was spacious and pleasant. (Only drawback: the A/C-heater fan was noisy.) I like being near Union Square, the theaters, fine art galleries, and Muni which I use to go to either the Legion of Honor or the DeYoung. I'll probably stay at the Handlery again for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Curran and the Geary theaters are just a block or so away. The Orpheum and the Golden Gate are either within walking distance or a very short cab ride away.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 8, 2011

Great Family friendly hotel

We had a great base whilst travelling around SF and the surrounding areas - Napa, Redwoods etc. It was a perfect location for eating out with the kids in the evening. Room was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoltDaddy
Business
San DIego, CA
May 12, 2011

Outstanding value, great location

One of the best locations in all of SF. Comfortablle contemporarily designed and spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 31, 2008

Good Value

Excellent Location, timely service, excellent concierge service, fantastic attached restaurant (Daily Grill), Good Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a block from Union Square.

Back to menu Return to top