$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinmanic
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfectly decent hotel, great location

Our room was clean and perfectly fine -- not particularly big, but enough space to hang out in. Note: our guidebook said this hotel had free wifi, but when we tried to access it online, it wanted to charge us. I went to the front desk and asked about this, and the desk clerk decided to give us a coupon with an access code for free wifi. So be sure to ask about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is connected to the hotel and is a great place to eat.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilynam
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Oct 12, 2011

Nicest staff ever

The folks that work here RULE. Period. Kind, friendly, polite and nice as heck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Mission.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
windsor
Business
Hudson, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Good Location

Good location to transportation and a lot of activities. Biggest problem was the area was very crowded with people. If you do not like people this is no the spot. Attached restaurant had good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linel
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect location

The service was excellent. I loved the fact that the hotel was close to everything...restaurants, theater, car rental, shopping! I had room service for all three breakfasts and they were delicious and the servers were very courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. It was located in the back, so it was quiet. I love the doorman and the bell staff...so welcoming and nice. This is a hotel I will return to....and soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ACT Box office is a very short walk and you can get tickets at the last minute!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linel
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect location

The service was excellent. I loved the fact that the hotel was close to everything...restaurants, theater, car rental, shopping! I had room service for all three breakfasts and they were delicious and the servers were very courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. It was located in the back, so it was quiet. I love the doorman and the bell staff...so welcoming and nice. This is a hotel I will return to....and soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ACT Box office is a very short walk and you can get tickets at the last minute!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xmaskt
Business
Colorado, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great staff

5 minutes after checking in, we complained about the size of the "queen" bed. John, the night manager, hooked us up with a beautiful suite with a king sized bed. It was such a lovely evening thanks to John :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to the hotel. It's a short walk and only about $8, instead of a ridiculous cab fare.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xmaskt
Business
Colorado, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great staff

5 minutes after checking in, we complained about the size of the "queen" bed. John, the night manager, hooked us up with a beautiful suite with a king sized bed. It was such a lovely evening thanks to John :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to the hotel. It's a short walk and only about $8, instead of a ridiculous cab fare.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati oh
Aug 5, 2011

nice clean friendly

good location friendly staff and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 3, 2011

Surprisingly fantastic!

Quite surprised that such a nice space was available in the middle of everything! Not only was the $$ resonable, but the accomadations were excellent. Great staff and spotless room. On the small side, but had everything we needed. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top