$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female friends
Mexico city
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions (including shopping, if that's your thing). Spacious room, great staff and the best stay in san francisco! Definitely would stay again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The daily grill restaurant is fab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasadena, CA
Jun 10, 2011

friendly staff and convenient location

very convenient location as it's at the heart of Union Square, walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The hotel staffs were extremely attentive and I was pleasantly surprised by an offer to upgrade my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mpaladin
Business
italy
May 22, 2011

Very well located, nice and clean room

The hotel is very well located, in the core of Union Square. The backside of this location is the large amount of homeless people asking for money on the road. For the rest the hotel is in a very good position for visiting san francisco and for conferences at Moscone center. The room was big and clean, we didn't have any problem with the hotel and the staff. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJZ
Business
Evanston, IL
May 19, 2011

Good location for attending conferences

The room was quite nice; the service quite good. They were doing some work nearby so nap time was interrupted with drilling and pounding. Getting to the room was a bit serpentine but manageable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's is close by on Powell. It is a fine restaurant with excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
May 18, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Very clean room. No complaints except the percussion player out on the street playing way to late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loved the Daily Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colfax, CA
May 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel is in the perfect location! Staff were excellent! Our room was very clean and nice but small with not a great view - others we were with had better views. We went with a group for the Bay to Breakers race and the hotel held our luggage until we could pick it up later - very accomodating and excellent bar/restuarant downstairs! Short taxi ride to the Wharf! We look forward to staying again and taking in the sites and food all around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - great buffet and great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
May 17, 2011

B2B weekend!

Bay to Breakers weekend! Great location for walking to the race and to accessing public transportation. Loved the fact that the room included a refrigerator for use (not to sell over-priced items).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanatorini was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atozcats
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 13, 2011

Excellent location and value

The location was perfect for my theater-going plans. The staff was extremely helpful and the room was spacious and pleasant. (Only drawback: the A/C-heater fan was noisy.) I like being near Union Square, the theaters, fine art galleries, and Muni which I use to go to either the Legion of Honor or the DeYoung. I'll probably stay at the Handlery again for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Curran and the Geary theaters are just a block or so away. The Orpheum and the Golden Gate are either within walking distance or a very short cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eski
Business
Oxnard, CA
May 13, 2011

Great Location Great price

The location of the hotel can not get any better and considering how expensive San Fran can be the price is reasonable. Couple of minor issues the walk from the parking garage to the front desk is somewhat of a maze and the price of the parking garage is $38 a night. The hotel is located in all the action of Union Square, close to all public transportation and you never have any problems getting a cab. Bars and restaurants are also top notch around the area. I recommend the hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

John Foley bar is great and is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoltDaddy
Business
San DIego, CA
May 12, 2011

Outstanding value, great location

One of the best locations in all of SF. Comfortablle contemporarily designed and spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vetty
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 14, 2011

Great Location !

Hop on hop off deluxe double decker bus to go around city .Went to Golden gate , china town , coit tower , union square ,north beach,Pier 39 ,took ferry to Tiburon . None missing we really enjoyed our stay the convenience and location close to BART station on Powell , cable car , double deck buses , cabs readily available , but also walking distance to chinatown . I have visited before but did not stay over and trip was limited . Checking in hotel really helps a lot to really stroll around San francisco and really enjoy it . San Francisco it so cool to vist you dont even need to rent a car , easy access to public transportation of all kinds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Nan king great chinese food. I loved Coit Tower great view of city of San Francisco . Our hotel is just across Westin hotel which has great glass elevator fantastic view of San Francisco .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top