$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 23, 2012

You get what you pay for

We paid for a small double room and it was tiny!! I'd spring for the extra and get the double queen. Also no wifi included and it's $10 a day per device! Which means if you want iPad and laptop it's $20 a day!! Ridiculous! But I think some other rooms have it included that are more expensive. Also the air flow is bad. We had to keep windows open most of the time. The good is location. All trains, buses, cable cars, etc. meet right there so you don't need a car to get anywhere. That included me taking the BART at 5:30 am to get to SFO airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Bart train to and from airport.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meldonator
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

San Francisco

Hotel was in perfect location and rooms were comfortable. Close to transportation, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Foley's Irish Pub!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikMo
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

Handlery Union Square

Great location, great staff, very good value. Room adequate. If old school ambience is desired, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M...
Business
Houston
Feb 5, 2012

Good Business trip

Half a block from Union Square and in a very quiet location. Check in was fast and the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room overlooked O'Farley street and minimal noise was to be heard. A/C and heat in the room. Would stay there again without exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shanelle
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 28, 2012

Good value, responsive staff

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay a great deal. The location is ideal, and the staff was friendly and eager to help. Very good value for the price we paid--room on Premier side was spacious with fine amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris06
Business
Sacramento, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Dec 19, 2011

Not bad

Near Union Square, not very modern, would need a renovation, nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinmanic
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfectly decent hotel, great location

Our room was clean and perfectly fine -- not particularly big, but enough space to hang out in. Note: our guidebook said this hotel had free wifi, but when we tried to access it online, it wanted to charge us. I went to the front desk and asked about this, and the desk clerk decided to give us a coupon with an access code for free wifi. So be sure to ask about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is connected to the hotel and is a great place to eat.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilynam
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Oct 12, 2011

Nicest staff ever

The folks that work here RULE. Period. Kind, friendly, polite and nice as heck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Mission.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
windsor
Business
Hudson, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Good Location

Good location to transportation and a lot of activities. Biggest problem was the area was very crowded with people. If you do not like people this is no the spot. Attached restaurant had good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top