$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Gambler
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect location

Wonderful location with very friendly and professional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
windsor
Couples
Hudson, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Good Location

Good location to transportation and a lot of activities. Biggest problem was the area was very crowded with people. If you do not like people this is no the spot. Attached restaurant had good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinmanic
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfectly decent hotel, great location

Our room was clean and perfectly fine -- not particularly big, but enough space to hang out in. Note: our guidebook said this hotel had free wifi, but when we tried to access it online, it wanted to charge us. I went to the front desk and asked about this, and the desk clerk decided to give us a coupon with an access code for free wifi. So be sure to ask about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is connected to the hotel and is a great place to eat.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M...
Business
Houston
Feb 5, 2012

Good Business trip

Half a block from Union Square and in a very quiet location. Check in was fast and the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room overlooked O'Farley street and minimal noise was to be heard. A/C and heat in the room. Would stay there again without exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikMo
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

Handlery Union Square

Great location, great staff, very good value. Room adequate. If old school ambience is desired, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meldonator
Couples
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

San Francisco

Hotel was in perfect location and rooms were comfortable. Close to transportation, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Foley's Irish Pub!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALRT
Business
Brookline, MA
Feb 28, 2012

Very Good Hotel

An old-style, well-maintained hotel with a sense of timelessness. Perfectly located, comfortable, a superb cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flynns
Family
Ireland
Jul 31, 2012

Ideal hotel for city exploring with family

Nice staff, clean room. plenty of room for family of 5 in the one room which is not easy to find. Great location, at the heart of shopping,lots of restaurants close by, around the corner from cable car stop and really lovely to have a nice pool to cool down and relax after a busy day. We would definitely return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwandww
Couples
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2012

Excellent hotel in midst of lively Union Square!

What a perfect central location to explore San Francisco! Within walking distance of cable cars, many restaurant choices, and Chinatown, this hotel was an excellent choice for us. We loved the balcony that allowed us to feel a part of the busy streets below while we sipped coffee or wine! This hotel is great for couples or for families with teenages who would like to spend time exploring the area. The stop for the hop on-hop off bus tours is nearby also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Restaurant, a local tradition for great breakfasts. John's Grill, another local tradition for nice dinners and live music!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliTravel
Couples
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Valet Parking? Not really!

The hotel itself was fine. Room was OK, a little warm. Bathroom small but shower was fine. The Daily Grill was fine for breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere. The big problem was on arrival. There is no place to pull off the street for valet parking. Finally since there was no space at the curb, my husband double-parked and stayed with the car while I went in. There I found out that the parking was actually on the back side of the hotel and we had to drive there. A bellman came out and took our 1 bag up to the room while we drove around the block to the garage. Conidering we were paying for valet parking, we drove the car around in lots of traffic. Since people like us might use GPS to get there, it should say as part of the description on the website that "Valet Parking" is NOT on the same side of the hotel as the address and is not really "valet." Basically parking was the main problem. Later a doorman was very helpful and did work hard to get us a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top