Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob from WLA
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 20, 2012

Handerly Hotel Union Square

Common areas were dirty and worn. I am a business traveler and hotel was overrun by tourists. On other hand, rooms were very well appointed and clean. I am iffy on going back, but was the lowest priced acceptable hotel I could find in general Financial District area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Daily Grill (national chain, upscale and good for business meetings) in hotel is a great option

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Business
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alon
Business
DC
Jun 13, 2012

It's right in the heart of things at a good price.

This is an older property, but you cannot tell in your room where it matters most and the price is really a steal in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 29, 2012

Quick Two Day Stay

The staff and restaurant were great. The room was a bit small but was ok as we didn't stay in the room much. Wifi had to be bought and there were no drinks in the vending machine on our floor. The staff did remedy the situation though by bringing my wife two bottles of water and a soda free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping, food, and art galleries within short walking distance.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hartl
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 26, 2012

Great location but funny smell

This hotel was located in the Union Square area of city and it was perfectly located for my business appts. the restaurant The Daily Grill attached to it was great. The only thing I didn't like was it smelled funny like mildew guess because its so old other than that it was great will definitely stay there again and just bring Febreze with me next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfectly located for shopping and lots of dining and bars in this area. Great location

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALRT
Business
Brookline, MA
Feb 28, 2012

Very Good Hotel

An old-style, well-maintained hotel with a sense of timelessness. Perfectly located, comfortable, a superb cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 23, 2012

You get what you pay for

We paid for a small double room and it was tiny!! I'd spring for the extra and get the double queen. Also no wifi included and it's $10 a day per device! Which means if you want iPad and laptop it's $20 a day!! Ridiculous! But I think some other rooms have it included that are more expensive. Also the air flow is bad. We had to keep windows open most of the time. The good is location. All trains, buses, cable cars, etc. meet right there so you don't need a car to get anywhere. That included me taking the BART at 5:30 am to get to SFO airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Bart train to and from airport.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meldonator
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

San Francisco

Hotel was in perfect location and rooms were comfortable. Close to transportation, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Foley's Irish Pub!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikMo
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

Handlery Union Square

Great location, great staff, very good value. Room adequate. If old school ambience is desired, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M...
Business
Houston
Feb 5, 2012

Good Business trip

Half a block from Union Square and in a very quiet location. Check in was fast and the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room overlooked O'Farley street and minimal noise was to be heard. A/C and heat in the room. Would stay there again without exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top