$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlking40356
Seattle
Oct 23, 2013

Great stay

I stayed here over the weekend while I ran the Nike Women's Marathon. The location was great and so was the service. I really enjoyed the room service because after running a half marathon I didn't feel like going down to get food! The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in and check out was easy. I also expected more noice but was pleasantly surprised at how minimal the noise was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 29, 2012

Quick Two Day Stay

The staff and restaurant were great. The room was a bit small but was ok as we didn't stay in the room much. Wifi had to be bought and there were no drinks in the vending machine on our floor. The staff did remedy the situation though by bringing my wife two bottles of water and a soda free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping, food, and art galleries within short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hartl
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 26, 2012

Great location but funny smell

This hotel was located in the Union Square area of city and it was perfectly located for my business appts. the restaurant The Daily Grill attached to it was great. The only thing I didn't like was it smelled funny like mildew guess because its so old other than that it was great will definitely stay there again and just bring Febreze with me next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfectly located for shopping and lots of dining and bars in this area. Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALRT
Business
Brookline, MA
Feb 28, 2012

Very Good Hotel

An old-style, well-maintained hotel with a sense of timelessness. Perfectly located, comfortable, a superb cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 23, 2012

You get what you pay for

We paid for a small double room and it was tiny!! I'd spring for the extra and get the double queen. Also no wifi included and it's $10 a day per device! Which means if you want iPad and laptop it's $20 a day!! Ridiculous! But I think some other rooms have it included that are more expensive. Also the air flow is bad. We had to keep windows open most of the time. The good is location. All trains, buses, cable cars, etc. meet right there so you don't need a car to get anywhere. That included me taking the BART at 5:30 am to get to SFO airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Bart train to and from airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meldonator
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

San Francisco

Hotel was in perfect location and rooms were comfortable. Close to transportation, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Foley's Irish Pub!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikMo
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

Handlery Union Square

Great location, great staff, very good value. Room adequate. If old school ambience is desired, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M...
Business
Houston
Feb 5, 2012

Good Business trip

Half a block from Union Square and in a very quiet location. Check in was fast and the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room overlooked O'Farley street and minimal noise was to be heard. A/C and heat in the room. Would stay there again without exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shanelle
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 28, 2012

Good value, responsive staff

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay a great deal. The location is ideal, and the staff was friendly and eager to help. Very good value for the price we paid--room on Premier side was spacious with fine amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris06
Business
Sacramento, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Dec 19, 2011

Not bad

Near Union Square, not very modern, would need a renovation, nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top