$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKCK
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location and staff!!

This hotel is less than 1/2 a block from union square!! It pretty much overlooks it. Great location and very nice rooms. It was our anniversary and they made it extra special by giving us a bottle of wine and a room overlooking union square. Tena at the front desk was the best!! We have stayed at a few different hotels in SF and I would definitely come back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotto Mare, near the Italian District, has the best clam chowder, the best we can find! And Kokkari is the best meal you will find anywhere, close to the Ferry building. Yum!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliTravel
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Valet Parking? Not really!

The hotel itself was fine. Room was OK, a little warm. Bathroom small but shower was fine. The Daily Grill was fine for breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere. The big problem was on arrival. There is no place to pull off the street for valet parking. Finally since there was no space at the curb, my husband double-parked and stayed with the car while I went in. There I found out that the parking was actually on the back side of the hotel and we had to drive there. A bellman came out and took our 1 bag up to the room while we drove around the block to the garage. Conidering we were paying for valet parking, we drove the car around in lots of traffic. Since people like us might use GPS to get there, it should say as part of the description on the website that "Valet Parking" is NOT on the same side of the hotel as the address and is not really "valet." Basically parking was the main problem. Later a doorman was very helpful and did work hard to get us a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flynns
Business
Ireland
Jul 31, 2012

Ideal hotel for city exploring with family

Nice staff, clean room. plenty of room for family of 5 in the one room which is not easy to find. Great location, at the heart of shopping,lots of restaurants close by, around the corner from cable car stop and really lovely to have a nice pool to cool down and relax after a busy day. We would definitely return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuliana
Business
Mexico
Jul 26, 2012

Good Location

The location of this hotel is very good and I had everything that I needed around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob from WLA
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 20, 2012

Handerly Hotel Union Square

Common areas were dirty and worn. I am a business traveler and hotel was overrun by tourists. On other hand, rooms were very well appointed and clean. I am iffy on going back, but was the lowest priced acceptable hotel I could find in general Financial District area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Daily Grill (national chain, upscale and good for business meetings) in hotel is a great option

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Business
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alon
Business
DC
Jun 13, 2012

It's right in the heart of things at a good price.

This is an older property, but you cannot tell in your room where it matters most and the price is really a steal in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 29, 2012

Quick Two Day Stay

The staff and restaurant were great. The room was a bit small but was ok as we didn't stay in the room much. Wifi had to be bought and there were no drinks in the vending machine on our floor. The staff did remedy the situation though by bringing my wife two bottles of water and a soda free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping, food, and art galleries within short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hartl
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 26, 2012

Great location but funny smell

This hotel was located in the Union Square area of city and it was perfectly located for my business appts. the restaurant The Daily Grill attached to it was great. The only thing I didn't like was it smelled funny like mildew guess because its so old other than that it was great will definitely stay there again and just bring Febreze with me next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfectly located for shopping and lots of dining and bars in this area. Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALRT
Business
Brookline, MA
Feb 28, 2012

Very Good Hotel

An old-style, well-maintained hotel with a sense of timelessness. Perfectly located, comfortable, a superb cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 23, 2012

You get what you pay for

We paid for a small double room and it was tiny!! I'd spring for the extra and get the double queen. Also no wifi included and it's $10 a day per device! Which means if you want iPad and laptop it's $20 a day!! Ridiculous! But I think some other rooms have it included that are more expensive. Also the air flow is bad. We had to keep windows open most of the time. The good is location. All trains, buses, cable cars, etc. meet right there so you don't need a car to get anywhere. That included me taking the BART at 5:30 am to get to SFO airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Bart train to and from airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top