$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Bes
Business
Mesa, Arizona
Sep 21, 2012

Great Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Overpriced for DreamForce

Everything was great. The only comment I have is for those people that will be attending the DreamForce conference, or any other major major conferences that occur in the Moscone Center area. I enjoyed the location; you get to walk by lots of little restaurants and all different kinds of shopping places (anything from small local-owned shops, to Bebe and Louis Vuitton). The trolley line is apx 25 yards away from the hotel entrance, but to board the trolley, it's about 1/4mi away. While SF Downtown does have homeless people, with all of the DreamForce foot traffic, I always felt safe walking in the daytime through early evening. There are minimal hills to "climb" walking back and forth to the conference as the Moscone Center area. The only "negative" I have is just in regards to pricing for DreamForce. I get that it's a major event, and they keep their rates competitive, but I had a single-queen bed room with a "view" of a brickwall, and it was very small to pay $500 for it. Other hotels with the same rate, in the same area, provided larger room spaces. However, I didn't spend much time in my room except to sleep, so I wasn't uncomfortable; I felt like this particular room was about $150 overpriced. NOTE, my image is of what you see after you take a few steps towards Market Street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick dine-in breakfast with great food, that seems to be a "local spot" that is not crowded, walk to Market street, turn left to head downhill, CAFE BELLINI is on the right!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Holiday
Business
Worcestershire, UK
Sep 3, 2012

Spacious family room. Excellent Location

We really enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. The location was perfect. The room was very clean and comfortable. As a family of four, we were pleased with the spacious premier room we chose. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini's served great breakfast just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzman
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Aug 26, 2012

Great location

Our room was in the newer "premium" section which was far more modern than the older part. The bath had great counter space, a delightful easy-to-adjust shower and was spotless. The room was relatively quiet considering that we were in one of the noisiest parts of San Francisco. The restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The one downside was that because the newer section was originally another hotel on the adjacent street, getting from the hotel lobby to the elevators required walking outdoors and up a flight of stairs, past the hotel pool. Other than that, the staff was excellent and our stay was delightful. Many foreign tour groups were at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine dining (at a price) the Fleur de Lys at 777 Sutter Street is a gourmet's delight. Soft atmosphere, excellent cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwandww
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2012

Excellent hotel in midst of lively Union Square!

What a perfect central location to explore San Francisco! Within walking distance of cable cars, many restaurant choices, and Chinatown, this hotel was an excellent choice for us. We loved the balcony that allowed us to feel a part of the busy streets below while we sipped coffee or wine! This hotel is great for couples or for families with teenages who would like to spend time exploring the area. The stop for the hop on-hop off bus tours is nearby also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Restaurant, a local tradition for great breakfasts. John's Grill, another local tradition for nice dinners and live music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliTravel
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Valet Parking? Not really!

The hotel itself was fine. Room was OK, a little warm. Bathroom small but shower was fine. The Daily Grill was fine for breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere. The big problem was on arrival. There is no place to pull off the street for valet parking. Finally since there was no space at the curb, my husband double-parked and stayed with the car while I went in. There I found out that the parking was actually on the back side of the hotel and we had to drive there. A bellman came out and took our 1 bag up to the room while we drove around the block to the garage. Conidering we were paying for valet parking, we drove the car around in lots of traffic. Since people like us might use GPS to get there, it should say as part of the description on the website that "Valet Parking" is NOT on the same side of the hotel as the address and is not really "valet." Basically parking was the main problem. Later a doorman was very helpful and did work hard to get us a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flynns
Business
Ireland
Jul 31, 2012

Ideal hotel for city exploring with family

Nice staff, clean room. plenty of room for family of 5 in the one room which is not easy to find. Great location, at the heart of shopping,lots of restaurants close by, around the corner from cable car stop and really lovely to have a nice pool to cool down and relax after a busy day. We would definitely return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuliana
Business
Mexico
Jul 26, 2012

Good Location

The location of this hotel is very good and I had everything that I needed around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob from WLA
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 20, 2012

Handerly Hotel Union Square

Common areas were dirty and worn. I am a business traveler and hotel was overrun by tourists. On other hand, rooms were very well appointed and clean. I am iffy on going back, but was the lowest priced acceptable hotel I could find in general Financial District area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Daily Grill (national chain, upscale and good for business meetings) in hotel is a great option

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Business
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alon
Business
DC
Jun 13, 2012

It's right in the heart of things at a good price.

This is an older property, but you cannot tell in your room where it matters most and the price is really a steal in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top