$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax44
Business
Carmel, Ca
Oct 28, 2012

World Series stay

We arrived two hours before check in time and we were given a room which was perfect because we were anxious to get to the game!. The Concierge gave us a great tip to take Muni to the field, this saved us tons of time and money. As always, a great time, courteous staff who go the extra mile and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lefty O'Douls next door, great piano bar.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Godzilla
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Go Giants!

I could not ask for better people to welcome you to the hotel than the front desk staff, Shirley is the best. Love the location but with it comes city noise. They provide you with ear plugs but didn't need it. Basic room and CLEAN. Shower was a little tight. Liked that windows open, it was raining and loved the sound and smell of rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R and G Lounge is the best Chinese restaurant around, worth the walk and wait. Fried salt and pepper crab only available for dinner. House special beef for lunch. MAKE RESERVATIONS first.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lau yeah
Business
Mexico city
Oct 1, 2012

Great experience

My friend and I just love this getaway. The hotel is excellent located, the staff is very friendly and helpful, room was always very clean and smells nice. the daily grill has awesome quality and delicious food. It's a great option to stay, you have all city places very close. San Francisco was so exciting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese neighborhood

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAFF
Business
SOUTH WALES
Sep 27, 2012

Disappointed

As a disabled person I booked a premium room.I expected this room to be in the main part of the hotel instead I had to walk through five corridors to reach my room in the annexe.It was a nice room but it would have been nice to have been able to open the curtains and leave them open.With people constantly passing I was unable to do this The Daily Grill was good and the evening manager of the Grill was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around the corner of the hotel is LOREIS DINER good food at a good price

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Bes
Business
Mesa, Arizona
Sep 21, 2012

Great Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Overpriced for DreamForce

Everything was great. The only comment I have is for those people that will be attending the DreamForce conference, or any other major major conferences that occur in the Moscone Center area. I enjoyed the location; you get to walk by lots of little restaurants and all different kinds of shopping places (anything from small local-owned shops, to Bebe and Louis Vuitton). The trolley line is apx 25 yards away from the hotel entrance, but to board the trolley, it's about 1/4mi away. While SF Downtown does have homeless people, with all of the DreamForce foot traffic, I always felt safe walking in the daytime through early evening. There are minimal hills to "climb" walking back and forth to the conference as the Moscone Center area. The only "negative" I have is just in regards to pricing for DreamForce. I get that it's a major event, and they keep their rates competitive, but I had a single-queen bed room with a "view" of a brickwall, and it was very small to pay $500 for it. Other hotels with the same rate, in the same area, provided larger room spaces. However, I didn't spend much time in my room except to sleep, so I wasn't uncomfortable; I felt like this particular room was about $150 overpriced. NOTE, my image is of what you see after you take a few steps towards Market Street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick dine-in breakfast with great food, that seems to be a "local spot" that is not crowded, walk to Market street, turn left to head downhill, CAFE BELLINI is on the right!!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Holiday
Business
Worcestershire, UK
Sep 3, 2012

Spacious family room. Excellent Location

We really enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. The location was perfect. The room was very clean and comfortable. As a family of four, we were pleased with the spacious premier room we chose. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini's served great breakfast just around the corner.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzman
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Aug 26, 2012

Great location

Our room was in the newer "premium" section which was far more modern than the older part. The bath had great counter space, a delightful easy-to-adjust shower and was spotless. The room was relatively quiet considering that we were in one of the noisiest parts of San Francisco. The restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The one downside was that because the newer section was originally another hotel on the adjacent street, getting from the hotel lobby to the elevators required walking outdoors and up a flight of stairs, past the hotel pool. Other than that, the staff was excellent and our stay was delightful. Many foreign tour groups were at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine dining (at a price) the Fleur de Lys at 777 Sutter Street is a gourmet's delight. Soft atmosphere, excellent cuisine.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwandww
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2012

Excellent hotel in midst of lively Union Square!

What a perfect central location to explore San Francisco! Within walking distance of cable cars, many restaurant choices, and Chinatown, this hotel was an excellent choice for us. We loved the balcony that allowed us to feel a part of the busy streets below while we sipped coffee or wine! This hotel is great for couples or for families with teenages who would like to spend time exploring the area. The stop for the hop on-hop off bus tours is nearby also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Restaurant, a local tradition for great breakfasts. John's Grill, another local tradition for nice dinners and live music!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliTravel
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Valet Parking? Not really!

The hotel itself was fine. Room was OK, a little warm. Bathroom small but shower was fine. The Daily Grill was fine for breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere. The big problem was on arrival. There is no place to pull off the street for valet parking. Finally since there was no space at the curb, my husband double-parked and stayed with the car while I went in. There I found out that the parking was actually on the back side of the hotel and we had to drive there. A bellman came out and took our 1 bag up to the room while we drove around the block to the garage. Conidering we were paying for valet parking, we drove the car around in lots of traffic. Since people like us might use GPS to get there, it should say as part of the description on the website that "Valet Parking" is NOT on the same side of the hotel as the address and is not really "valet." Basically parking was the main problem. Later a doorman was very helpful and did work hard to get us a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flynns
Business
Ireland
Jul 31, 2012

Ideal hotel for city exploring with family

Nice staff, clean room. plenty of room for family of 5 in the one room which is not easy to find. Great location, at the heart of shopping,lots of restaurants close by, around the corner from cable car stop and really lovely to have a nice pool to cool down and relax after a busy day. We would definitely return to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top