Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
295 reviews
Short stay

Although we could only stay one nite, It was a very good hotel. It is old,but renovated. Our room... See full review

  • Rabidroger
  • Aug 18, 2015
Great value and location

We stayed in the premier/deluxe room with balcony. The room was excellent value and was large with... See full review

  • NotoriousJDC
  • Apr 6, 2015
Located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, the family-owned and operated Handlery Union Square Hotel is just steps away from the Powell Street cable car line, world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or oversized rooms in the Premier Section. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. The Daily Grill, the on site restaurant, serves American fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Please note: Parking is $52.00 per day, plus tax with unlimited in and out privileges. Additional charge may apply for oversized vehicles.

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zzyzx
Family
Southern CA
Nov 5, 2012

Handlery Hotel SFO Great Hotel for the price!

Hotel is always clean, neat, rooms are roomy and up-to-date. Staff is very courteous. They acknowledge your presence, always willing to help. Hotel location is 1/2 block from Union Square. Within walking distance of cable cars, shopping, night life, great restaurants. Worth the money, even if you may not be able to get a great deal on price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax44
Couples
Carmel, Ca
Oct 28, 2012

World Series stay

We arrived two hours before check in time and we were given a room which was perfect because we were anxious to get to the game!. The Concierge gave us a great tip to take Muni to the field, this saved us tons of time and money. As always, a great time, courteous staff who go the extra mile and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lefty O'Douls next door, great piano bar.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Godzilla
Single
San Diego, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Go Giants!

I could not ask for better people to welcome you to the hotel than the front desk staff, Shirley is the best. Love the location but with it comes city noise. They provide you with ear plugs but didn't need it. Basic room and CLEAN. Shower was a little tight. Liked that windows open, it was raining and loved the sound and smell of rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R and G Lounge is the best Chinese restaurant around, worth the walk and wait. Fried salt and pepper crab only available for dinner. House special beef for lunch. MAKE RESERVATIONS first.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lau yeah
Friends
Mexico city
Oct 1, 2012

Great experience

My friend and I just love this getaway. The hotel is excellent located, the staff is very friendly and helpful, room was always very clean and smells nice. the daily grill has awesome quality and delicious food. It's a great option to stay, you have all city places very close. San Francisco was so exciting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese neighborhood

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAFF
Family
SOUTH WALES
Sep 27, 2012

Disappointed

As a disabled person I booked a premium room.I expected this room to be in the main part of the hotel instead I had to walk through five corridors to reach my room in the annexe.It was a nice room but it would have been nice to have been able to open the curtains and leave them open.With people constantly passing I was unable to do this The Daily Grill was good and the evening manager of the Grill was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around the corner of the hotel is LOREIS DINER good food at a good price

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Bes
Business
Mesa, Arizona
Sep 21, 2012

Great Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Overpriced for DreamForce

Everything was great. The only comment I have is for those people that will be attending the DreamForce conference, or any other major major conferences that occur in the Moscone Center area. I enjoyed the location; you get to walk by lots of little restaurants and all different kinds of shopping places (anything from small local-owned shops, to Bebe and Louis Vuitton). The trolley line is apx 25 yards away from the hotel entrance, but to board the trolley, it's about 1/4mi away. While SF Downtown does have homeless people, with all of the DreamForce foot traffic, I always felt safe walking in the daytime through early evening. There are minimal hills to "climb" walking back and forth to the conference as the Moscone Center area. The only "negative" I have is just in regards to pricing for DreamForce. I get that it's a major event, and they keep their rates competitive, but I had a single-queen bed room with a "view" of a brickwall, and it was very small to pay $500 for it. Other hotels with the same rate, in the same area, provided larger room spaces. However, I didn't spend much time in my room except to sleep, so I wasn't uncomfortable; I felt like this particular room was about $150 overpriced. NOTE, my image is of what you see after you take a few steps towards Market Street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick dine-in breakfast with great food, that seems to be a "local spot" that is not crowded, walk to Market street, turn left to head downhill, CAFE BELLINI is on the right!!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Holiday
Family
Worcestershire, UK
Sep 3, 2012

Spacious family room. Excellent Location

We really enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. The location was perfect. The room was very clean and comfortable. As a family of four, we were pleased with the spacious premier room we chose. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini's served great breakfast just around the corner.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzman
Couples
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Aug 26, 2012

Great location

Our room was in the newer "premium" section which was far more modern than the older part. The bath had great counter space, a delightful easy-to-adjust shower and was spotless. The room was relatively quiet considering that we were in one of the noisiest parts of San Francisco. The restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The one downside was that because the newer section was originally another hotel on the adjacent street, getting from the hotel lobby to the elevators required walking outdoors and up a flight of stairs, past the hotel pool. Other than that, the staff was excellent and our stay was delightful. Many foreign tour groups were at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine dining (at a price) the Fleur de Lys at 777 Sutter Street is a gourmet's delight. Soft atmosphere, excellent cuisine.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwandww
Couples
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2012

Excellent hotel in midst of lively Union Square!

What a perfect central location to explore San Francisco! Within walking distance of cable cars, many restaurant choices, and Chinatown, this hotel was an excellent choice for us. We loved the balcony that allowed us to feel a part of the busy streets below while we sipped coffee or wine! This hotel is great for couples or for families with teenages who would like to spend time exploring the area. The stop for the hop on-hop off bus tours is nearby also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Restaurant, a local tradition for great breakfasts. John's Grill, another local tradition for nice dinners and live music!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliTravel
Couples
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 2, 2012

Valet Parking? Not really!

The hotel itself was fine. Room was OK, a little warm. Bathroom small but shower was fine. The Daily Grill was fine for breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere. The big problem was on arrival. There is no place to pull off the street for valet parking. Finally since there was no space at the curb, my husband double-parked and stayed with the car while I went in. There I found out that the parking was actually on the back side of the hotel and we had to drive there. A bellman came out and took our 1 bag up to the room while we drove around the block to the garage. Conidering we were paying for valet parking, we drove the car around in lots of traffic. Since people like us might use GPS to get there, it should say as part of the description on the website that "Valet Parking" is NOT on the same side of the hotel as the address and is not really "valet." Basically parking was the main problem. Later a doorman was very helpful and did work hard to get us a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top