$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlking40356
Seattle
Oct 23, 2013

Great stay

I stayed here over the weekend while I ran the Nike Women's Marathon. The location was great and so was the service. I really enjoyed the room service because after running a half marathon I didn't feel like going down to get food! The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in and check out was easy. I also expected more noice but was pleasantly surprised at how minimal the noise was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not going back
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 16, 2013

Not going back

The rooms are clean but very small and watch out parking is an extra cost. I got billed $97 dollars for 2 days even when parking was included in hotel amenities description and has the hotel's logo and name. I was told it is run by a different company so they charge you for parking even if you stay at their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKCK
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location and staff!!

This hotel is less than 1/2 a block from union square!! It pretty much overlooks it. Great location and very nice rooms. It was our anniversary and they made it extra special by giving us a bottle of wine and a room overlooking union square. Tena at the front desk was the best!! We have stayed at a few different hotels in SF and I would definitely come back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotto Mare, near the Italian District, has the best clam chowder, the best we can find! And Kokkari is the best meal you will find anywhere, close to the Ferry building. Yum!!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Traveler 1234
Business
Miami, Florida
May 25, 2013

Stay

Very Good overall experience. The staff was very helpful. Being one block from Union Square helped to move to all parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
Philadelphia
May 6, 2013

Good value for location

Very nice staff, big room, suprisingly quiet for Union Square - though inside pool creates some noise and the pumbing was a little old. Worth it, thoug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrmatt
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 19, 2013

Business and pleasure

Located in the heart of San Francisco. Convenient to shopping and all the cool stuff in San Fran!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trabi
Business
Orange County
Apr 19, 2013

Nice stay for price

Nice and quiet at night, room was clean and staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xcgroup
Business
NYC
Apr 18, 2013

value hotel

Unbeatable location with all conveniences. Room is clean and comfortable in general albeit old (real old). Staff is not helpful however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Business
Sacramento
Apr 15, 2013

New Years

Great hotel. Friendly staff, and amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie in SF
Business
Folsom, California
Apr 1, 2013

Friends get together

Front desk was really rude, will not go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bellylaughs58
Business
Little Rock, AR
Mar 31, 2013

Great Location

Great location next to BART, trolley car and buses. Lots of great restaurants closeby. Free wi-fi in room. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool which was a nice surprise. The only complaint I have is that there were no towel holders or hooks in the lavatory area---you have to walk into the bathroom (separate room) to get to the hand towel to dry your hands. Minor, really and I would stay here again. FYI: You're about 5 or 6 blocks from a really scary neighborhood in the Tenderloin---lots of shady looking characters everywhere in clusters. I definately wouldn't want to walk through here at night, and daytime is questionable. The immediate area around the hotel felt quite safe, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top