$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlking40356
Single
Seattle
Oct 23, 2013

Great stay

I stayed here over the weekend while I ran the Nike Women's Marathon. The location was great and so was the service. I really enjoyed the room service because after running a half marathon I didn't feel like going down to get food! The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in and check out was easy. I also expected more noice but was pleasantly surprised at how minimal the noise was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
Philadelphia
May 6, 2013

Good value for location

Very nice staff, big room, suprisingly quiet for Union Square - though inside pool creates some noise and the pumbing was a little old. Worth it, thoug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrmatt
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 19, 2013

Business and pleasure

Located in the heart of San Francisco. Convenient to shopping and all the cool stuff in San Fran!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trabi
Business
Orange County
Apr 19, 2013

Nice stay for price

Nice and quiet at night, room was clean and staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xcgroup
Friends
NYC
Apr 18, 2013

value hotel

Unbeatable location with all conveniences. Room is clean and comfortable in general albeit old (real old). Staff is not helpful however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Couples
Sacramento
Apr 15, 2013

New Years

Great hotel. Friendly staff, and amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie in SF
Friends
Folsom, California
Apr 1, 2013

Friends get together

Front desk was really rude, will not go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bellylaughs58
Family
Little Rock, AR
Mar 31, 2013

Great Location

Great location next to BART, trolley car and buses. Lots of great restaurants closeby. Free wi-fi in room. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool which was a nice surprise. The only complaint I have is that there were no towel holders or hooks in the lavatory area---you have to walk into the bathroom (separate room) to get to the hand towel to dry your hands. Minor, really and I would stay here again. FYI: You're about 5 or 6 blocks from a really scary neighborhood in the Tenderloin---lots of shady looking characters everywhere in clusters. I definately wouldn't want to walk through here at night, and daytime is questionable. The immediate area around the hotel felt quite safe, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Super Conference Goer
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Convenient, clean, quiet

Stayed at this hotel with two other friends for a conference. Clean, quiet. No frills but worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Rooster
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Bad and Good Service

The front desk said someone cancelled our reservation and they had to talk to the manager about it. They agreed to give us another room, but it was the Handicap room. He said if we did not like it, we could come back and ask for another but it was better with a queen size bed rather than the regular bed we booked. However, the refrigerator did not work and the room was small with no dresser. We went back again. This time he upgraded us to a 2 room suite facing the street for the same price. I asked him jokingly for an upgrade and he did it. This guy really understands "Customer Service." I will return to this hotel again because of this great service. The only complaint I have is the cost of Valet Parking, $47, but its worth it if you are staying for a few days and don't want your car broken into like what happens in the other public lots that are cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to see and do in the city. City Guiudes offer free tours every day to various locations and areas like North Beach, Golden Gate Park, and the Mission Murals, etc. They are very informative and run by volunteers who only accept donations to the organization. Google S.F. City Guides for their daily schedule.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Couples
Sacramento
Jan 2, 2013

Couples Retreat

The hotel in my opinion was very overpriced. The lobby was really nice and that was about it. Rooms were very old and small and lacked certain ammenities such as toothpaste, soap, and minibar. However, we stated here for New Years so it didnt really bother us since we were out all day/night. Recomend this place for the location and for really short visits. Hope everyone had a great New Years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Back to menu Return to top