$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie in SF
Business
Folsom, California
Apr 1, 2013

Friends get together

Front desk was really rude, will not go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bellylaughs58
Business
Little Rock, AR
Mar 31, 2013

Great Location

Great location next to BART, trolley car and buses. Lots of great restaurants closeby. Free wi-fi in room. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool which was a nice surprise. The only complaint I have is that there were no towel holders or hooks in the lavatory area---you have to walk into the bathroom (separate room) to get to the hand towel to dry your hands. Minor, really and I would stay here again. FYI: You're about 5 or 6 blocks from a really scary neighborhood in the Tenderloin---lots of shady looking characters everywhere in clusters. I definately wouldn't want to walk through here at night, and daytime is questionable. The immediate area around the hotel felt quite safe, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Super Conference Goer
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Convenient, clean, quiet

Stayed at this hotel with two other friends for a conference. Clean, quiet. No frills but worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Rooster
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Bad and Good Service

The front desk said someone cancelled our reservation and they had to talk to the manager about it. They agreed to give us another room, but it was the Handicap room. He said if we did not like it, we could come back and ask for another but it was better with a queen size bed rather than the regular bed we booked. However, the refrigerator did not work and the room was small with no dresser. We went back again. This time he upgraded us to a 2 room suite facing the street for the same price. I asked him jokingly for an upgrade and he did it. This guy really understands "Customer Service." I will return to this hotel again because of this great service. The only complaint I have is the cost of Valet Parking, $47, but its worth it if you are staying for a few days and don't want your car broken into like what happens in the other public lots that are cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to see and do in the city. City Guiudes offer free tours every day to various locations and areas like North Beach, Golden Gate Park, and the Mission Murals, etc. They are very informative and run by volunteers who only accept donations to the organization. Google S.F. City Guides for their daily schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New years Liz
Business
San Francisco
Jan 2, 2013

New year 2013

It was good! The staff was just ok. They had me write down the names if my guest n told me that room cards would be checked after midnight. They didn't. I wonder why they told me that. But my stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Business
Sacramento
Jan 2, 2013

Couples Retreat

The hotel in my opinion was very overpriced. The lobby was really nice and that was about it. Rooms were very old and small and lacked certain ammenities such as toothpaste, soap, and minibar. However, we stated here for New Years so it didnt really bother us since we were out all day/night. Recomend this place for the location and for really short visits. Hope everyone had a great New Years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zzyzx
Business
Southern CA
Nov 5, 2012

Handlery Hotel SFO Great Hotel for the price!

Hotel is always clean, neat, rooms are roomy and up-to-date. Staff is very courteous. They acknowledge your presence, always willing to help. Hotel location is 1/2 block from Union Square. Within walking distance of cable cars, shopping, night life, great restaurants. Worth the money, even if you may not be able to get a great deal on price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax44
Business
Carmel, Ca
Oct 28, 2012

World Series stay

We arrived two hours before check in time and we were given a room which was perfect because we were anxious to get to the game!. The Concierge gave us a great tip to take Muni to the field, this saved us tons of time and money. As always, a great time, courteous staff who go the extra mile and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lefty O'Douls next door, great piano bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisulu
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2012

Disappointment

While the staff was courteous, professional and helpful, I did not like this hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. I had to request a new room upon arrival as the room they put me in was as small as a closet and had an awful, foul smell. There was not way I could sleep there. A big, exposed AC unit in the ceiling was noisy and unattractive. They were booked solid but gave me a new room anyway. Still same size and the AC unit in the ceiling but the smell was gone. It is an old hotel...layer upon layer of paint, floors creek in hallway, etc. I prefer a more modern place. Again, staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini is around the corner, wonderful european-style cafe for an espresso, cappuccino, breakfast, etc. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Godzilla
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Go Giants!

I could not ask for better people to welcome you to the hotel than the front desk staff, Shirley is the best. Love the location but with it comes city noise. They provide you with ear plugs but didn't need it. Basic room and CLEAN. Shower was a little tight. Liked that windows open, it was raining and loved the sound and smell of rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R and G Lounge is the best Chinese restaurant around, worth the walk and wait. Fried salt and pepper crab only available for dinner. House special beef for lunch. MAKE RESERVATIONS first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top