$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
325 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, the family-owned and operated Handlery Union Square Hotel is just steps away from the Powell Street cable car line, world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or oversized rooms in the Premier Section. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. The Daily Grill, the on site restaurant, serves American fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Please note: Parking is $47.00 per day, plus tax with unlimited in and out privileges. Additional charge may apply for oversized vehicles.

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKCK
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location and staff!!

This hotel is less than 1/2 a block from union square!! It pretty much overlooks it. Great location and very nice rooms. It was our anniversary and they made it extra special by giving us a bottle of wine and a room overlooking union square. Tena at the front desk was the best!! We have stayed at a few different hotels in SF and I would definitely come back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotto Mare, near the Italian District, has the best clam chowder, the best we can find! And Kokkari is the best meal you will find anywhere, close to the Ferry building. Yum!!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bellylaughs58
Little Rock, AR
Mar 31, 2013

Great Location

Great location next to BART, trolley car and buses. Lots of great restaurants closeby. Free wi-fi in room. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool which was a nice surprise. The only complaint I have is that there were no towel holders or hooks in the lavatory area---you have to walk into the bathroom (separate room) to get to the hand towel to dry your hands. Minor, really and I would stay here again. FYI: You're about 5 or 6 blocks from a really scary neighborhood in the Tenderloin---lots of shady looking characters everywhere in clusters. I definately wouldn't want to walk through here at night, and daytime is questionable. The immediate area around the hotel felt quite safe, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Super Conference Goer
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Convenient, clean, quiet

Stayed at this hotel with two other friends for a conference. Clean, quiet. No frills but worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Rooster
Sacramento, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Bad and Good Service

The front desk said someone cancelled our reservation and they had to talk to the manager about it. They agreed to give us another room, but it was the Handicap room. He said if we did not like it, we could come back and ask for another but it was better with a queen size bed rather than the regular bed we booked. However, the refrigerator did not work and the room was small with no dresser. We went back again. This time he upgraded us to a 2 room suite facing the street for the same price. I asked him jokingly for an upgrade and he did it. This guy really understands "Customer Service." I will return to this hotel again because of this great service. The only complaint I have is the cost of Valet Parking, $47, but its worth it if you are staying for a few days and don't want your car broken into like what happens in the other public lots that are cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many things to see and do in the city. City Guiudes offer free tours every day to various locations and areas like North Beach, Golden Gate Park, and the Mission Murals, etc. They are very informative and run by volunteers who only accept donations to the organization. Google S.F. City Guides for their daily schedule.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Sacramento
Jan 2, 2013

Couples Retreat

The hotel in my opinion was very overpriced. The lobby was really nice and that was about it. Rooms were very old and small and lacked certain ammenities such as toothpaste, soap, and minibar. However, we stated here for New Years so it didnt really bother us since we were out all day/night. Recomend this place for the location and for really short visits. Hope everyone had a great New Years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New years Liz
San Francisco
Jan 2, 2013

New year 2013

It was good! The staff was just ok. They had me write down the names if my guest n told me that room cards would be checked after midnight. They didn't. I wonder why they told me that. But my stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zzyzx
Southern CA
Nov 5, 2012

Handlery Hotel SFO Great Hotel for the price!

Hotel is always clean, neat, rooms are roomy and up-to-date. Staff is very courteous. They acknowledge your presence, always willing to help. Hotel location is 1/2 block from Union Square. Within walking distance of cable cars, shopping, night life, great restaurants. Worth the money, even if you may not be able to get a great deal on price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jax44
Carmel, Ca
Oct 28, 2012

World Series stay

We arrived two hours before check in time and we were given a room which was perfect because we were anxious to get to the game!. The Concierge gave us a great tip to take Muni to the field, this saved us tons of time and money. As always, a great time, courteous staff who go the extra mile and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lefty O'Douls next door, great piano bar.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisulu
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2012

Disappointment

While the staff was courteous, professional and helpful, I did not like this hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. I had to request a new room upon arrival as the room they put me in was as small as a closet and had an awful, foul smell. There was not way I could sleep there. A big, exposed AC unit in the ceiling was noisy and unattractive. They were booked solid but gave me a new room anyway. Still same size and the AC unit in the ceiling but the smell was gone. It is an old hotel...layer upon layer of paint, floors creek in hallway, etc. I prefer a more modern place. Again, staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini is around the corner, wonderful european-style cafe for an espresso, cappuccino, breakfast, etc. LOVE IT!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Godzilla
San Diego, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Go Giants!

I could not ask for better people to welcome you to the hotel than the front desk staff, Shirley is the best. Love the location but with it comes city noise. They provide you with ear plugs but didn't need it. Basic room and CLEAN. Shower was a little tight. Liked that windows open, it was raining and loved the sound and smell of rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R and G Lounge is the best Chinese restaurant around, worth the walk and wait. Fried salt and pepper crab only available for dinner. House special beef for lunch. MAKE RESERVATIONS first.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time visit
Burbank, California
Oct 4, 2012

Great Location

Very friendly staff at arrival, not happy with upgrade to suite,not for the up-charge but the location and cleanliness. Happy with size and cleanliness of reg queen room but not happy with location. Missed flight because no shuttle service and airport shuttle van late and 2 many stops, the Concierge forgot to mention 8:50 am shuttle 2 late for 10:10 am Departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for car or taxi, lots of choices very close.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search