Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viktoriya
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2007

Great location

Handlery Union Square is located right on Union square and very resonably priced. Rooms are veryv clean and nice and for being historical property it is being kept in very nice shape. Service is great and there is Daily grill right on the forst floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are walking distance, few min away from shopping, dinning, Bart station and cable car

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2007

very good value

it's not the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed in, but it's clean, friendly, and good. I would stay there again. good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the most amazing shopping within three blocks.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2007

excellent location

The Handlery at Union Square was in a great location --- walking distance from BART on Market Street, close to Union Square, superb shopping, cable cars, and walking distance to everything San Francisco. The room was quaint and old-style, but clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was immaculate and hot water ran well! The check-in process was a bit slow, and the reception area had a rank odor, but the upstairs guest's room smelled clean and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell Street and cable cars and even Chinatown was within walking distance!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 27, 2007

Great Location

The Handlery Hotel offers a great location in the heart of Union Square. It is very clean and cozy and offers a great place to eat, The Daily Grill with a great bar and sports to watch. Everything was handled quickly and efficiently throughout my stay. The only suggestion I would make is to reduce or eliminate the cost of the internet access. This would make it more attractive to business customers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 25, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

We were diappointed in the room location(looked out at a vent in the middle of the hotel),rooms were tiny for the price you pay.The staff were very pleasant and rooms were clean. Dispite the nice staff and the clean room the I would have a hard time recommending this place to friends because of the size of the rooms and no view to speak of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fishermans Warf is great by cable car or a long walk with a good workout!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 25, 2007

Super location in San Fran

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Handlery Union Square. An older building that has a lot of charm. Friendly staff that helped us find a place to have a wonderful Italian dinner at very short notice (Fino was the name of the restaurant within walking distance). We spend most of our time out of the room exploring San Fran, but when we returned the bed was very comfortable and clean. The best aspect of this hotel is the location - if you are a walker you can go anywhere in the city and if not, the cable cars are right there! We personally had a bad experience at the restaurant attached to the hotel so I would not recommend eating there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is right up the block!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 21, 2007

Friendly relaxing

Comfortable rooms Close to Cable cars and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe next door

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2007

Great location

The Handlery was comfortable, roomy and quite a pleasant experience. The hotel check-in staff was very helpful and charming. The hotel was 2 blocks from the cable car start, although the line was long; also the Bart station was equally as close. Would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's is a block away, as well as many, many art galleries.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 21, 2007

Friendly relaxing

Comfortable rooms Close to Cable cars and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe next door

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2007

Great location

The Handlery was comfortable, roomy and quite a pleasant experience. The hotel check-in staff was very helpful and charming. The hotel was 2 blocks from the cable car start, although the line was long; also the Bart station was equally as close. Would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's is a block away, as well as many, many art galleries.

Back to menu Return to top