$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 11, 2007

Great location

The location was very good. Access to cable cars, street cars and transportation was excellent. The standard room was very small, however, the bath shower area was good. The adjacent Grill was very convenient and a good place to eat. Union Square and great shopping was within walking distance. You can walk down Powell street to Market and catch the F street car to Fishermans warf and back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 30, 2007

great position

The hotel was in a very good position, so close to Union Square you were in downtown San Francisco e you could do anything you want. Clean, confortable for a so chip price. The best option for a week end in the city. The bed was very big. In the bedroom there was the TV, a sofa, a balcony every kind of facilities you need when you are far from home. I suggest it to everybody

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is in the centre of the shopping area. There are so many beautiful shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Apr 28, 2007

Fantastic First California experience

The Handlery was our choice of hotel in San Francisco because it was rated very well and we wanted to stay near Union Square. We were not disappointed at all. You are right in the middle of the action. The busy street sounds, people in motion, what a great New York style city. I will definitely go back to San Francisco and would stay in the Handlery again. The Hotel has the feel of 1930's Europe. The room is somewhat small but comfortable. We were on the eighth floor and noticed that there are no screens on the windows. I guess that is because they have no bugs, unlike here in Florida where we are constantly pestered by some flying or crawling insect. I actually opened the window and stuck my head out and took pictures of the ground straight down eight stories(not street view, inside view). That was cool and fun. The hotel is comfortable but can feel a little warm sometimes, especially after you return from a cool day in the city. It seems that there is no AC in the hotel, however, it is really not needed since it is only in the 70's in the afternoon. If I were to rate Handlery with a letter grade, I would give the hotel an A. P.S. don't forget to find LEFTY O'DOULS Irish pub a few doors down. It is very inexpensive and has great food. Also look up ZA Pizza Arts. It is a small Pizza Cafe with the best pizza and two great beers: Fat Tire, and San Francisco Liberty Ale. Bring your money with you and prepare to leave your heart behind. I miss it so much already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2007

Great deal

This hotel was a great deal. It was in a great location (Union Square) and very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was also very nice and hospitable. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and plan on staying there again on another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping right out the door and public transportation down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 12, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

Great location in Union Square.Rooms were clean and quite large, with sofa, chairs, coffee table desk, and balcony. Check in was a littler slow but the staff were quite friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we look forward to staying there on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is right next door as well as numerous other good restaurants within a one block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 11, 2007

In the middle of everything

This hotel was really nice for the money. The Handlery was truly in the heart of the city. The staff was so friendly and the conceige was so nice and made some suggestions that my daughter and I would never have known about if it were not for him. We will truly come back to beautiful San Francisco and stay at the Handlery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the major stores are within walking distance, H&M; Neiman Marcus, etc., Lots of little boutiques plus the big major stores. Walking in San Francisco is beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top