$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 7, 2007

Friendly and ready to serve

Staff was helpful with directions and service. Rooms, esp. bathrooms, were spotless. Beds and pillows very comfy. Some double rooms have the sink separate from the bathroom and shower so two can get ready. Perfect Location, downtown, in the middle of everything and walking is definitly an option. Food great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is between Market Street for shopping and Chintown for eating/shopping.Walked to Fishermans Wharf Pier 39..13 blks. City Pass for unlimited Muni bus and cable car rides and free admissions. Tickets to Beach Blanket Babylon theater. Adult, political humor. Italian restaurants right around corner from theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 4, 2007

Perfect Stay

At check in there was a delay, as there was a conference in town the prior evening. The staff upgraded me to a suite at no extra charge without me even negotiating the upgrade. They were very gracious and attentive to every need I had during my two week stay. The service was helpful and friendly. The rooms in this hotel are clean and welcoming with ample room and seating. The hotel is less than a block from Union Square Park. It is a hidden gem among the most urban part of San Francisco. I plan to stay here every time I go to the Northern California area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the Financial District and shopping is plentiful.. only a block from the 7 story Macy's. Chinatown is only a few blocks up Grant Street. The Muni station is a short walk down Powell which is the transportation system which will take you anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 3, 2007

Small European Style

The location is just off Union Square. It is convenient to the BART and Cable cars for getting around San Francisco. The hotel has a small European feel. The room was definitely adequate for size and comfort. The room had twin beds, a small table and several chairs. The bathroom was a comfortable size with adequate space without feeling cramped or a bath with wasted space. The room was located at the end of the hall. The view was not great as it looked out on buildings but it was quiet as it was protected from street noise. The amenities are good. There is a pool and dining facilities. I had breakfast in the restaurant. The service was good. The staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The central location and accessibility to transportation around San Francisco was excellent. Great shopping at major department stores is just half a block. Maiden street with small shops and a walking street is just across the Union Square Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 3, 2007

Very roomy room!

I thought we were getting one room with two queen beds at the Handlery. When we arrived, our room had two queen beds and another full-size bed in an adjoining room. Needless to say, this was a very delightful surprise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 1, 2007

Great Hotel and staff

The Handerly was a very nice hotel. The location was fantastic. It was in the hub of everything. I was very satistied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, cable cars, public transportation.... Everything was 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2007

Decent room in a great location, heated pool and nice sauna.

My two friends and myself stayed at the Handlery Square. The hotel was great, checkin was a little slow, seems like staff could be a little faster. However, they upgraded us to a bigger room. Room was spacious very nice; only drawback was the shower, it could be a little bigger. Heated outdoor pool in courtyard of hotel and sauna, for which you have to make a reservation with the concierge, are excellent amenities you should experience. Overall a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's 50's diner is neat, Union Square, the cable cars are literally around the block and Market street and China Town are an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 30, 2007

Had a fun trip ..

The hotel had a great central location and you could walk to almost everything. The rooms was good size, clean and comfortable. We didn't use the pool or sauna, but they looked nice. The staff was nice and helpful. The elevators were a bit slow ..We did have trouble with the air conditioning on our entire floor and it took a couple of calls to get the attention of the maintenance crew, but otherwise .. everything went well. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2007

Handlery Union Square

We enjoyed our week stay at the Handlery Union Square. It is close to all sources of transportation and lots of great stores around. It is in the middle of a lot of action, very lively. We were able to rest comfortably in our lovely room and the service was great! They let us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great breakfast places within a block and lots of shopping, nightlife and fun within 2 blocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2007

Handlery Union Square

We enjoyed our week stay at the Handlery Union Square. It is close to all sources of transportation and lots of great stores around. It is in the middle of a lot of action, very lively. We were able to rest comfortably in our lovely room and the service was great! They let us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great breakfast places within a block and lots of shopping, nightlife and fun within 2 blocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 23, 2007

Great Location

The best thing about this hotel was the location. It is 1/2 a block off of union square, near the street car and market street. A great place to explore from. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was very very small and needed new tiles on the shower floor. Musty smell, when I first got there, had me worried, but turned on the a/c before going out, and smell was gone by the time I got back. All and all very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The lines for the streetcar are long, and you can't always get on at later stops, but it really is something everyone should do atleast once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top