$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kunkletown
May 28, 2008

Great Location

The Hotel Handlery was in a great location. Close to shops restaurants and transportation. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a block or two you have great department stores like Macy's, Saks 5th Avenue, H&M, and many other designer stores.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 15, 2008

FABULOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE, FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDGEABLE.

HANDLERLY IS LOCATED IN A FABULOUS AREA. THE STAFF WAS VERY EFFICIENT WHEN WE CHECKED IN. CONCIERGE WAS EXCELLENT. WE HAD GREAT DIRECTIONS AND EXCELLENT RESTAURANTS WERE RECOMMENDED. OUR ROOM WAS LOVELY, REFRIGERATOR, COFFEE MAKER, HAIR DRYER AND THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO STAYING IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN AND WILL DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS AND CO-WORKERS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

FABULOUS SHOPPING, BREAKFAST AT LEFTY O'DOULE'S WAS SO GREAT AND CONVENIENT. HOTEL WAS FABULOUS, CLEAN, GREAT LOCATION. PARK ACROSS THE STREET. VERY CONVENIENT.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
I live in vegas
Oct 10, 2010

awesome

I had a great week touring northern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I take surveys all the time and I'm not sure what info you want.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 15, 2007

Best Buy In S.F.

The Handlery is a family run hotel and it shows. The staff is Awesome. They were very accommodating, The bell desk, conceierge, and front desk all went out of their way to help with my visit. The hotel is located in the heart of S.F. Easy walk to Powell & Hyde turnaround cable car station, Union square, and easy access to many shopping and dinning options. The best deals are to be had on the weekdays at Handlery. The front desk saw that we were traveling without children and asked us if we wanted a more quieter part of the hotel. WOW. Just the vacation we needed. Thanks Handlery , We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield Shoppping Centre, Nordstroms, Macy's and a slew of high end shops

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Marian
Business
Allentown, PA
Jun 18, 2007

Great Location!

The Handlery is in an extremely accessible location if you are into shopping in downtown San Francisco. It is located a half block away from Union Square and the world famous cable cars. You can get anywhere in town by bus (Muni), trolleys, and the subway and all of these are in walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is an older one, but very atmospheric. We found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Restaurants of every kind are close by and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried everything from 50's style at Lori's Diner and Betty Boops Diner (around the corner on Powell St.) to Sushi (on Geary and Mason Sts.) to Max's on the Square (Jewish rest.)(Geary and Mason Sts.) and David's Delicatessen (Geary and Jones Sts.). All within a short walk from the Handlery.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 20, 2007

Nice hotel

The Handerly was clean amd well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful overall. Room service breakfast was very late in arriving, but food was yummy and well presented. The room was very nicely decorated and not old fashioned. Our room faced Geary Street which is where the upscale shopping is located. At night the area was noisy, there were lots of sirens and the homeless people seemed a bit more aggressive than I'm used to. Maybe that's just San Francisco. Overall it was great and there was a terrific sushi place in Chinatown (just around the corner), the one with the boats floating around with sushi in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joven/jill
Business
los angeles,california
May 31, 2009

100% you wil enjoy and fantastic

100% we enjoy our stay and the is clean.the staff ie very helpful and nice personality.so, you are the BEST in our personal taste.GOOD LUCK KEEP THR GOOD WORK............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2007

Great, we had a view of union square.

For the time of year, we paid a great price. The only thing is the parking, We felt $47.00 was a bit high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square, you can walk to just about any restaurant, no problem, and the shopping is incredible

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 10, 2007

Great Service

We were unfortunate to not have our luggage upon arrival at the airport. The staff at Handlery Union Square were extremely aware of our situation and were very prompt in getting us our luggage as soon as it arrived. The location was perfect, very close to all the places we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping a very short distance from the hotel. With a great selection of stores to choose from. Shop till you drop!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2007

Great deal

This hotel was a great deal. It was in a great location (Union Square) and very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was also very nice and hospitable. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and plan on staying there again on another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping right out the door and public transportation down the street.

Back to menu Return to top