$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Marian
Business
Allentown, PA
Jun 18, 2007

Great Location!

The Handlery is in an extremely accessible location if you are into shopping in downtown San Francisco. It is located a half block away from Union Square and the world famous cable cars. You can get anywhere in town by bus (Muni), trolleys, and the subway and all of these are in walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is an older one, but very atmospheric. We found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Restaurants of every kind are close by and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried everything from 50's style at Lori's Diner and Betty Boops Diner (around the corner on Powell St.) to Sushi (on Geary and Mason Sts.) to Max's on the Square (Jewish rest.)(Geary and Mason Sts.) and David's Delicatessen (Geary and Jones Sts.). All within a short walk from the Handlery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 20, 2007

Nice hotel

The Handerly was clean amd well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful overall. Room service breakfast was very late in arriving, but food was yummy and well presented. The room was very nicely decorated and not old fashioned. Our room faced Geary Street which is where the upscale shopping is located. At night the area was noisy, there were lots of sirens and the homeless people seemed a bit more aggressive than I'm used to. Maybe that's just San Francisco. Overall it was great and there was a terrific sushi place in Chinatown (just around the corner), the one with the boats floating around with sushi in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joven/jill
Business
los angeles,california
May 31, 2009

100% you wil enjoy and fantastic

100% we enjoy our stay and the is clean.the staff ie very helpful and nice personality.so, you are the BEST in our personal taste.GOOD LUCK KEEP THR GOOD WORK............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2007

Great, we had a view of union square.

For the time of year, we paid a great price. The only thing is the parking, We felt $47.00 was a bit high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square, you can walk to just about any restaurant, no problem, and the shopping is incredible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 10, 2007

Great Service

We were unfortunate to not have our luggage upon arrival at the airport. The staff at Handlery Union Square were extremely aware of our situation and were very prompt in getting us our luggage as soon as it arrived. The location was perfect, very close to all the places we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping a very short distance from the hotel. With a great selection of stores to choose from. Shop till you drop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2007

Great deal

This hotel was a great deal. It was in a great location (Union Square) and very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was also very nice and hospitable. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and plan on staying there again on another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping right out the door and public transportation down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los altos
May 28, 2008

Good for price

The hotel was under partial construction when we were there, but other than that it was nice. It was nice having The Daily Grill in the building. Location is great, right in Union Square. Parking was 42 bucks, but, thats always the case in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the major stores, some theaters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

good Value

This hotel was a good value for the price and location. The one negative was that the concierge was never at his desk out of a 4 day stay we only seen him twice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the trolley cars as your main transportation around the city. The workers on the trolleys are rude and they are not reliable. We spent an hour at union square pickup area and another hour at fishermans wharf waiting on these trolleys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 27, 2007

Location,Location,Location!!!

The Handlery Hotel in San Francisco was convenient to all locations we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and helpful with all of our needs. Our initial room wasn't as clean as we felt was acceptable, so the Hotel Management immediately took care of us and gave us a wonderful room! I would definitely stay there again an will recomend it to my family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and dinning close by. Chinatown and Fisherman's Warf, walk or take the street-car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2007

Staff VERY nice!

When I first arrived I have flowers in my hand and the man checking me had them put in a vase and had them brought to my room. Then when I ended up with a room with twin beds he moved me to a better room the next day and was very nice about it. He he called to check on me when I got to my room and no one has ever done that. I liked their resturant. I had't eaten much that day and the waiter said they are known for their comfort food. I ordered the pot pie and it was as big as a plate with crust was lite and flaky. It was wonderful! I would like to go back in three months if I could get a good deal on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I was able to find Nike clothes that Columbus Ohio doesn't have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top