$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKCK
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location and staff!!

This hotel is less than 1/2 a block from union square!! It pretty much overlooks it. Great location and very nice rooms. It was our anniversary and they made it extra special by giving us a bottle of wine and a room overlooking union square. Tena at the front desk was the best!! We have stayed at a few different hotels in SF and I would definitely come back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotto Mare, near the Italian District, has the best clam chowder, the best we can find! And Kokkari is the best meal you will find anywhere, close to the Ferry building. Yum!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 25, 2007

Super location in San Fran

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Handlery Union Square. An older building that has a lot of charm. Friendly staff that helped us find a place to have a wonderful Italian dinner at very short notice (Fino was the name of the restaurant within walking distance). We spend most of our time out of the room exploring San Fran, but when we returned the bed was very comfortable and clean. The best aspect of this hotel is the location - if you are a walker you can go anywhere in the city and if not, the cable cars are right there! We personally had a bad experience at the restaurant attached to the hotel so I would not recommend eating there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is right up the block!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 21, 2007

Friendly relaxing

Comfortable rooms Close to Cable cars and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2007

Great location

The Handlery was comfortable, roomy and quite a pleasant experience. The hotel check-in staff was very helpful and charming. The hotel was 2 blocks from the cable car start, although the line was long; also the Bart station was equally as close. Would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's is a block away, as well as many, many art galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 19, 2007

great value and location

The Handlery was very comfortable and convenient. We asked for a quiet room before we arrived and they accomodated us. There was adequate room for our suitcases, hanging space and sitting areas. The location was fantastic, walk out the door to shopping and transportation. The included continental breakfeast was a plus. Excellent staff at the Daily Grill. Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, Park and transportation are less than 3blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Marian
Business
Allentown, PA
Jun 18, 2007

Great Location!

The Handlery is in an extremely accessible location if you are into shopping in downtown San Francisco. It is located a half block away from Union Square and the world famous cable cars. You can get anywhere in town by bus (Muni), trolleys, and the subway and all of these are in walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is an older one, but very atmospheric. We found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Restaurants of every kind are close by and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried everything from 50's style at Lori's Diner and Betty Boops Diner (around the corner on Powell St.) to Sushi (on Geary and Mason Sts.) to Max's on the Square (Jewish rest.)(Geary and Mason Sts.) and David's Delicatessen (Geary and Jones Sts.). All within a short walk from the Handlery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashland, KY
Jun 18, 2007

Comfortable and Convenient

Just off Union Square the Handerly is close to cable car and taxi. Great shopping within blocks. Lots of food choices, a nice pool, and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Gump's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Jun 17, 2007

great for honeymooners!

We loved this hotel. The only real downsides were: internet was an extra $10 something a day, and the Daily Grill restaurant was terribly expensive and didn't offer any vegan options. The room was amazing, just the right amount of space for us to spread out all of our stuff plus souveniers. We would recommend this hotel to most, but not to any vegans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2007

great local

The Handerly is a tired hotel although they are making improvements to update its appearance. New carpets in the hallways was evident. Our room was small but clean. The gift shop wasn't always open for our convenience and when we finally got in the clerk wasn't particularly friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and polite.The location was excellent especially for first timers to San Fran. Transportation was readily available. We had no problems with the shuttle to and fro the airport. All and all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you only have a short time do take a tour with the Cable Car Fun Tour...2 hour city tour crossing the Golden gate Bridge. Allow time for Fishermen's Wharf. Lots to see and do for kids and adults. Various boat tours to Alcatraz. We enjoyed Red Sox game at a local pub owned by a former Bostonian called Red Jacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square was perfect for our family's visit to San Francisco. The rooms were small but were nicely decorated. The staff was extremely accommodating. We needed two rooms and our request to have them adjoining was met in spite of late notice. The location was great in that it was right off Union Square and so close to shopping, dining, night life, and the trolley. The continental breakfast, though having limited menu choices, was especially enjoyable since it involved an actual dining setting in a nice adjoining restuarant. Parking was a bit pricey, but the in and out privileges enabled us to come and go as necessary. We would definitely stay at the Handlery again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every major store is in the immediate vicinity. The location is supperb for the serious shopper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2007

mostly pleasent stay

This hotel is located at Union Square, the middle of San Francisco which is very convinient. Pablic transportation can be used to many places like Fishermen's Warf, Golden Gate Park, end so on. Well, my first room was located next to the pool and a groop of people decided to party till 5:00 am. The next room was very quiet and comfortable, so I've got what I wanted. When I asked for a transfer to another room my request was taken care of in a very nice way. I felt like the hotel warkers wanted me to be comfortable during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top