$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
May 17, 2011

B2B weekend!

Bay to Breakers weekend! Great location for walking to the race and to accessing public transportation. Loved the fact that the room included a refrigerator for use (not to sell over-priced items).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanatorini was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yankeegirl
Business
New York City
Nov 28, 2009

Great location. Great price.

This was our first visit to SF, and we went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary over the July 4th holiday. It was an outstanding trip. We did all the typical tourist things, and enjoyed every minute of our stay in SF and at The Handlery. I can't emphasize enough how perfectly located this hotel is. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is centrally located not only to all the upscale shops, but more important, it is a short walk to all modes of transportation. All attractions are accessible via public transportation, and this city's public transportation system is great. If you have the time, take BART out to Berkeley and walk around. Beautiful campus, lots of interesting little shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, *
Sep 4, 2008

Great Location

Our stay at the Handlery in San Francisco was wonderful! The convenience of getting anywhere in the city was at our doorstep. Next door to Lefty O'Douls where there is always something going on, and close to every type of transportation. The staff was very accomadating and helpful. The room was in the corner and I think it was a fairly decent size considering the hotel has been around for awhile. Everything was clean and although the view wasn't great from the window, we spend most of our days touring the city so it didn't matter. Bathroom was old fashioned, but the water was hot and strong, lots of closet space and the extra pillow and blanket were appreciated. I would definately come back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to spend more than one day here, go to the cable car turnaround and buy a 3 day or 7 day Muni pass...this lets you get on any transportation (bus, cable cars, trolley..) a three day cost $18 and a seven day pass cost $24. When you figure it cost $5 to ride the cable car one way...this is a bargain and it offers you many options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2007

excellent location

The Handlery at Union Square was in a great location --- walking distance from BART on Market Street, close to Union Square, superb shopping, cable cars, and walking distance to everything San Francisco. The room was quaint and old-style, but clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was immaculate and hot water ran well! The check-in process was a bit slow, and the reception area had a rank odor, but the upstairs guest's room smelled clean and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell Street and cable cars and even Chinatown was within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Great location and fabulous service

This hotel is wonderful. It is centrally located and close to all different kinds of transportation. The staff was very helpful and courteous and made our stay beyond comfortable. The room was very nice, the king size bed was comfortable and I was impressed at how nice the decor and view was for the price. I liked that there were a lot of outlet plugs available since I was travelling on business and had to work on my laptop while charging two phones. There was also an ipod docking station which was nice. All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
May 18, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Very clean room. No complaints except the percussion player out on the street playing way to late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loved the Daily Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin in Denver
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful Hotel just off of the Square!

Our experience at the hotel was wonderful. We were able to have a quiet room (which is a plus being near a busy road like Market St.). The staff were very helpfull and the location was great! You are near the union square, which allows you to catch the bus, or trolley car anywhere in the city. Can't wait to go back to SF! As the song says we 'left our heart in SF'!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the ticket office in Union Square make sure to buy the City Pass. It includes a week on the muni and admission to 5 museums and attractions. Well worth the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 10, 2009

Good hotel

Hotel has very good location, is very clean. My location in the hotel was very quiet. The staff were very friendly. Concierge was also helpful. The rooms are somewhat small but that's to be expected. Real downside is you have to pay $9.99 per day for internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasadena, CA
Jun 10, 2011

friendly staff and convenient location

very convenient location as it's at the heart of Union Square, walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The hotel staffs were extremely attentive and I was pleasantly surprised by an offer to upgrade my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines
Oct 11, 2008

Perfect Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Handlery in Union Square San Francisco. The location was central to everything we needed to do. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and informed. The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The room was spacious for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of shop imaginable right on your doorstep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top