$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2007

Great location - good hotel

On check-in I was given a key with no further explanation of the amenities that I could call on. The concierge desk across the lobby was very helpful, friendly and ammusing. The room was clean and adequate, but the bathroom was small and cramped. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel was very good for lunch and dinner, but for breakfast you had to find you own way on the streets. This location, just half a block off of Union Square could not be better. Centrally located to the Cable Cars and excellent San Francisco shops. For the money the Handerly was a good place to stay in the heart of a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Within a block or two you have access to any shop that you might want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, ON
Jul 10, 2007

Right in the heart of the shopping district

The Handlery Union Square was comfortable accomodations, and centrally located to the heart of the shopping district, but also provided easy access to other parts of the city via public transit. We were upgraded to a king bed as our room was not ready when we arrived, and although the desk clerk made much of finding us a quiet room, we found this to not be so. Our room faced the main street (Geary) and every evening we were serenaded by loud drum/rock music from street musicians, as well as having our sleep disturbed by numerous sirens that screamed through the downtown. If you stay here, insist on a courtyard room overlooking the pool - the pool is only open until 8 PM, so if you want to turn in early, you can. The staff were generally very helpful and polite, and the concierge staff in particular were very knowledgeable about the area features and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Designer outlets abound within a 1-2 block radius around the hotel, but bargains are few to be found in this tourist area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 10, 2007

Great Location

This hotel had very good amenities. The location was downtown Union Square and there was very good shopping nearby. It was very clean other than the fact that the carpet could have used a good steaming. There was a safe in the room. This location was convenient to access of cable cars and public transportation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not venture too far outside of Union Square - there are some sketchy-looking people in the Tenderloin district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 8, 2007

Great Location

I felt that it was a very nice hotel, however the room was so small.The room was clean with the exception of the night stand which didn't seem to be dusted for weeks. The location was very good for shopping and close to all transportation. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to all major shopping like Macy's, Saks and upsale boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 8, 2007

The room we stayed in was ...

The room we stayed in was set up for handicapped guests and not really ideal for us.There was very little closet space for 2 people and the thermostat didn't function properly so maintaining a comfortable consistant temperature was difficult. The location was central to our activities and this was the only real plus. It was very noisy at night. The bathroom was clean, that is the only positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Of course San Francisco has a diversity of shopping and amenities. This hotel was very close to shopping, restaurants and other interests.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 7, 2007

good location

THE HANDERLY UNION SQUARE WAS A GREAT LOCATION, THE EMPLOYEES WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. THE ROOM WAS SMALL, EVEN WHEN YOU ARE OUT SIGHT-SEEING AND ONLY COME IN FOR THE NIGHT, IT WAS A TIGHT SQUEEZE FOR TWO PEOPLE. WE HAD TO ROTATE TO GET AROUND THE ROOM AND BATH. EVEN THOUGH THE ROOM WAS KEPT CLEAN, THE FURNITURE AND CARPET WERE DISGUSTING... STAINED AND DIRTY. MY ONLY REAL COMPLAINT ABOUT THE HOTEL IS SIMPLY TOO MUCH NOISE. WE WERE ON GEARY ST OVER LOOKING THE USUAL NOISE, THERE HAPPENED TO BE DRUMMER WHO PLAYED EVERY NIGHT (ON INTO THE NIGHT....STARTED TO SOUND LIKE THE SAME TUNE EVERY NIGHT.) PLUS, THE CITY NEVER SLEEPS THERE WAS A CONSTANT BANGING FROM THE DELIVERIES BEING MADE FOR THE NEXT DAY TO THE OTHER BUSINESSES ALONG THE STREET. MY ADVICE IS ASK FOR A ROOM WITH NO NOISE, IF THAT IS POSSIBLE. OTHERWISE, OUR STAY IN THE CITY WAS WONDERFUL. HOWEVER, I WOULD HESITATE TO RECOMMENT THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS OR FAMILY....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

O'DOULES BAR AND EATERY NEXT DOOR. GOOD FOOD, MUSIC AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE. WE HAD BREAKFAST (GOOD) AND LATE SNACK WITH DRINKS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosaria
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

In the heart of things

the location was excellent - right near major shopping and the theater. the room while small was enough what with everything going on outside! It was kept very clean and nicely decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marucs; Macys, Saks Fifth Avenue, Borders, etc., etc., etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viktoriya
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2007

Great location

Handlery Union Square is located right on Union square and very resonably priced. Rooms are veryv clean and nice and for being historical property it is being kept in very nice shape. Service is great and there is Daily grill right on the forst floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are walking distance, few min away from shopping, dinning, Bart station and cable car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2007

very good value

it's not the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed in, but it's clean, friendly, and good. I would stay there again. good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the most amazing shopping within three blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2007

excellent location

The Handlery at Union Square was in a great location --- walking distance from BART on Market Street, close to Union Square, superb shopping, cable cars, and walking distance to everything San Francisco. The room was quaint and old-style, but clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was immaculate and hot water ran well! The check-in process was a bit slow, and the reception area had a rank odor, but the upstairs guest's room smelled clean and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell Street and cable cars and even Chinatown was within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top