$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female friends
Mexico city
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions (including shopping, if that's your thing). Spacious room, great staff and the best stay in san francisco! Definitely would stay again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The daily grill restaurant is fab!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 19, 2008

Cute, convenient and friendly staff

Handlery Union Square was clean and the rooms were pretty small, but that's to be expected in a Union Square hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms felt clean; however, the bathrooms lacked counter space. I really liked that there was a place to put 2 suitcases. Lastly, the location was wonderful. The hotel was 1/2 a block from Union Square. Macy's, Borders and tons of other stores are steps away. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 4, 2008

handicap access

Every thing was very nice. The room was large with a balcony. Only problem is that the club rooms were not handicap accessable. I Had the option(?) of climbing 18 steps with my walker or calling the front desk and requesting an excourt to route me through the laundry room. I did not use my walker much because it took too long to get help and carrying the walker was physicaly impossible for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square was a short block away

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 24, 2008

Great quality and value for cheap!

This hotel was literally only a half block from Union square. It was decorated very nicely. I loved our room! Yet it was really cheap, considering all the above aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a really good & affordable breakfast/lunch restaurant around the corner on Mason called Cafe Mason, if you miss the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 20, 2008

Family friendly

My son and I stayed for 4 days and night and were very pleased with the location of the hotel, the amenities offered, and the friendly atmosphere as a whole. We were next to a cable car line and within a block to major bus routes that took us anywhere we wanted to go in town. There was an IMAX within easy walking distance for that rainy evening we spent indoors. Would easily recommend to other families wanting an 'in-town' experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERNESTA
Business
New York, NY
Jan 28, 2008

A great hotel

I loved the hotel and the personnel working there. They were very accommodating and helped us with what to do on a very rainy day. I can't say enough good things about them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Conservatory Theater is a block and a half away.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERNESTA
Business
New York, NY
Jan 28, 2008

A great hotel

I loved the hotel and the personnel working there. They were very accommodating and helped us with what to do on a very rainy day. I can't say enough good things about them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Conservatory Theater is a block and a half away.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2007

Great, we had a view of union square.

For the time of year, we paid a great price. The only thing is the parking, We felt $47.00 was a bit high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square, you can walk to just about any restaurant, no problem, and the shopping is incredible

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 27, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square is one of mine and my wifes favorite hotels in San Francisco. It is located near Union Square where all the action is. Great people watching, catch a cable car, find a great restuarant. Shopping is nearby too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square park is just across the street.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 26, 2007

Great Location and Value!

Ideal location for shopping and exploring Union Square and SOMA. Rooms are on small size and hotel is older but very well kept. Very tourist friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleries

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

clean and efficient

Nice clean, quiet room for SF. Location was great. Well-trained staff and fun international guests...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to cable cars and BART and bus and express bus to 49er game...

Back to menu Return to top