$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKCK
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location and staff!!

This hotel is less than 1/2 a block from union square!! It pretty much overlooks it. Great location and very nice rooms. It was our anniversary and they made it extra special by giving us a bottle of wine and a room overlooking union square. Tena at the front desk was the best!! We have stayed at a few different hotels in SF and I would definitely come back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotto Mare, near the Italian District, has the best clam chowder, the best we can find! And Kokkari is the best meal you will find anywhere, close to the Ferry building. Yum!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 21, 2007

excellent location

The hotel was centrally located. Near all shopping and a half block from the cable cars. Room service was good and the food hot and quick. The room was clean and maintqained well. Bathroom was exceptionally clean. The only problem was the logistics of parking and walking to the hotel area. Of course, in San Francisco, parking is not inexpensive, but I was not impressed with the $42 dollars a day. And to add 14% tax was ridiculous. But all in all, I would stay there again. Lefty Odoul's next door was great. Good food and the piano bar was entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The cable cars are a block away. $11 dollars get you an all day pass , so dont fall for the $5 one way. You can buy tickets at the kiosk or from the conductor on the car. Dont go to the turnarounds to catch the cars. Try mid street. You will find stops near most intersections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2007

Great weekend get away

The Handley was in a great location. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was polite and efficient. The room was not large but nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and certainly met our needs. We would definitely stay there again. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's within a very short walk. Also, great restaurants, cable car and art galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 15, 2007

Very Friendly

The staff was extremely friendly at Handlery. The check in went very smooth, and they were always very helpful with directions to near-by restaurants or attractions. Plus the hotel is right in the middle of Union Square, making it very simple to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't take a cab to and from the airport, it can be very pricy. Instead take the Bart tram. It only costs around $6 and is also a much faster ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2007

Great location - good hotel

On check-in I was given a key with no further explanation of the amenities that I could call on. The concierge desk across the lobby was very helpful, friendly and ammusing. The room was clean and adequate, but the bathroom was small and cramped. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel was very good for lunch and dinner, but for breakfast you had to find you own way on the streets. This location, just half a block off of Union Square could not be better. Centrally located to the Cable Cars and excellent San Francisco shops. For the money the Handerly was a good place to stay in the heart of a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Within a block or two you have access to any shop that you might want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, ON
Jul 10, 2007

Right in the heart of the shopping district

The Handlery Union Square was comfortable accomodations, and centrally located to the heart of the shopping district, but also provided easy access to other parts of the city via public transit. We were upgraded to a king bed as our room was not ready when we arrived, and although the desk clerk made much of finding us a quiet room, we found this to not be so. Our room faced the main street (Geary) and every evening we were serenaded by loud drum/rock music from street musicians, as well as having our sleep disturbed by numerous sirens that screamed through the downtown. If you stay here, insist on a courtyard room overlooking the pool - the pool is only open until 8 PM, so if you want to turn in early, you can. The staff were generally very helpful and polite, and the concierge staff in particular were very knowledgeable about the area features and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Designer outlets abound within a 1-2 block radius around the hotel, but bargains are few to be found in this tourist area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 10, 2007

Great Location

This hotel had very good amenities. The location was downtown Union Square and there was very good shopping nearby. It was very clean other than the fact that the carpet could have used a good steaming. There was a safe in the room. This location was convenient to access of cable cars and public transportation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not venture too far outside of Union Square - there are some sketchy-looking people in the Tenderloin district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 8, 2007

Great Location

I felt that it was a very nice hotel, however the room was so small.The room was clean with the exception of the night stand which didn't seem to be dusted for weeks. The location was very good for shopping and close to all transportation. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to all major shopping like Macy's, Saks and upsale boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 8, 2007

The room we stayed in was ...

The room we stayed in was set up for handicapped guests and not really ideal for us.There was very little closet space for 2 people and the thermostat didn't function properly so maintaining a comfortable consistant temperature was difficult. The location was central to our activities and this was the only real plus. It was very noisy at night. The bathroom was clean, that is the only positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Of course San Francisco has a diversity of shopping and amenities. This hotel was very close to shopping, restaurants and other interests.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 7, 2007

good location

THE HANDERLY UNION SQUARE WAS A GREAT LOCATION, THE EMPLOYEES WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. THE ROOM WAS SMALL, EVEN WHEN YOU ARE OUT SIGHT-SEEING AND ONLY COME IN FOR THE NIGHT, IT WAS A TIGHT SQUEEZE FOR TWO PEOPLE. WE HAD TO ROTATE TO GET AROUND THE ROOM AND BATH. EVEN THOUGH THE ROOM WAS KEPT CLEAN, THE FURNITURE AND CARPET WERE DISGUSTING... STAINED AND DIRTY. MY ONLY REAL COMPLAINT ABOUT THE HOTEL IS SIMPLY TOO MUCH NOISE. WE WERE ON GEARY ST OVER LOOKING THE USUAL NOISE, THERE HAPPENED TO BE DRUMMER WHO PLAYED EVERY NIGHT (ON INTO THE NIGHT....STARTED TO SOUND LIKE THE SAME TUNE EVERY NIGHT.) PLUS, THE CITY NEVER SLEEPS THERE WAS A CONSTANT BANGING FROM THE DELIVERIES BEING MADE FOR THE NEXT DAY TO THE OTHER BUSINESSES ALONG THE STREET. MY ADVICE IS ASK FOR A ROOM WITH NO NOISE, IF THAT IS POSSIBLE. OTHERWISE, OUR STAY IN THE CITY WAS WONDERFUL. HOWEVER, I WOULD HESITATE TO RECOMMENT THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS OR FAMILY....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

O'DOULES BAR AND EATERY NEXT DOOR. GOOD FOOD, MUSIC AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE. WE HAD BREAKFAST (GOOD) AND LATE SNACK WITH DRINKS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosaria
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

In the heart of things

the location was excellent - right near major shopping and the theater. the room while small was enough what with everything going on outside! It was kept very clean and nicely decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marucs; Macys, Saks Fifth Avenue, Borders, etc., etc., etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top