$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines
Oct 11, 2008

Perfect Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Handlery in Union Square San Francisco. The location was central to everything we needed to do. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and informed. The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The room was spacious for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of shop imaginable right on your doorstep.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 20, 2008

Family friendly

My son and I stayed for 4 days and night and were very pleased with the location of the hotel, the amenities offered, and the friendly atmosphere as a whole. We were next to a cable car line and within a block to major bus routes that took us anywhere we wanted to go in town. There was an IMAX within easy walking distance for that rainy evening we spent indoors. Would easily recommend to other families wanting an 'in-town' experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel for the price!

Our stay at the Handlery was great. The room was huge, the beds were comfortable, and we even had a complimentary gift basket and bottle of wine in our room for booking with [...]. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is located right around the corner from where our conference was held, for less than half the price. We will definitely stay at the Handlery for all future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2007

Great weekend get away

The Handley was in a great location. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was polite and efficient. The room was not large but nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and certainly met our needs. We would definitely stay there again. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's within a very short walk. Also, great restaurants, cable car and art galleries.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 24, 2008

Great quality and value for cheap!

This hotel was literally only a half block from Union square. It was decorated very nicely. I loved our room! Yet it was really cheap, considering all the above aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a really good & affordable breakfast/lunch restaurant around the corner on Mason called Cafe Mason, if you miss the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 10, 2007

Great Location

This hotel had very good amenities. The location was downtown Union Square and there was very good shopping nearby. It was very clean other than the fact that the carpet could have used a good steaming. There was a safe in the room. This location was convenient to access of cable cars and public transportation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not venture too far outside of Union Square - there are some sketchy-looking people in the Tenderloin district.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great service

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and speacious. The hotel is in a good location that allows you to walk to theaters, shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

clean and efficient

Nice clean, quiet room for SF. Location was great. Well-trained staff and fun international guests...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to cable cars and BART and bus and express bus to 49er game...

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square was perfect for our family's visit to San Francisco. The rooms were small but were nicely decorated. The staff was extremely accommodating. We needed two rooms and our request to have them adjoining was met in spite of late notice. The location was great in that it was right off Union Square and so close to shopping, dining, night life, and the trolley. The continental breakfast, though having limited menu choices, was especially enjoyable since it involved an actual dining setting in a nice adjoining restuarant. Parking was a bit pricey, but the in and out privileges enabled us to come and go as necessary. We would definitely stay at the Handlery again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every major store is in the immediate vicinity. The location is supperb for the serious shopper.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2007

great local

The Handerly is a tired hotel although they are making improvements to update its appearance. New carpets in the hallways was evident. Our room was small but clean. The gift shop wasn't always open for our convenience and when we finally got in the clerk wasn't particularly friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and polite.The location was excellent especially for first timers to San Fran. Transportation was readily available. We had no problems with the shuttle to and fro the airport. All and all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you only have a short time do take a tour with the Cable Car Fun Tour...2 hour city tour crossing the Golden gate Bridge. Allow time for Fishermen's Wharf. Lots to see and do for kids and adults. Various boat tours to Alcatraz. We enjoyed Red Sox game at a local pub owned by a former Bostonian called Red Jacks.

Back to menu Return to top