$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2007

Great, we had a view of union square.

For the time of year, we paid a great price. The only thing is the parking, We felt $47.00 was a bit high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square, you can walk to just about any restaurant, no problem, and the shopping is incredible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 10, 2007

Great Service

We were unfortunate to not have our luggage upon arrival at the airport. The staff at Handlery Union Square were extremely aware of our situation and were very prompt in getting us our luggage as soon as it arrived. The location was perfect, very close to all the places we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping a very short distance from the hotel. With a great selection of stores to choose from. Shop till you drop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2007

Great deal

This hotel was a great deal. It was in a great location (Union Square) and very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was also very nice and hospitable. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and plan on staying there again on another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping right out the door and public transportation down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los altos
May 28, 2008

Good for price

The hotel was under partial construction when we were there, but other than that it was nice. It was nice having The Daily Grill in the building. Location is great, right in Union Square. Parking was 42 bucks, but, thats always the case in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the major stores, some theaters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

good Value

This hotel was a good value for the price and location. The one negative was that the concierge was never at his desk out of a 4 day stay we only seen him twice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the trolley cars as your main transportation around the city. The workers on the trolleys are rude and they are not reliable. We spent an hour at union square pickup area and another hour at fishermans wharf waiting on these trolleys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 27, 2007

Location,Location,Location!!!

The Handlery Hotel in San Francisco was convenient to all locations we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and helpful with all of our needs. Our initial room wasn't as clean as we felt was acceptable, so the Hotel Management immediately took care of us and gave us a wonderful room! I would definitely stay there again an will recomend it to my family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and dinning close by. Chinatown and Fisherman's Warf, walk or take the street-car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2007

Staff VERY nice!

When I first arrived I have flowers in my hand and the man checking me had them put in a vase and had them brought to my room. Then when I ended up with a room with twin beds he moved me to a better room the next day and was very nice about it. He he called to check on me when I got to my room and no one has ever done that. I liked their resturant. I had't eaten much that day and the waiter said they are known for their comfort food. I ordered the pot pie and it was as big as a plate with crust was lite and flaky. It was wonderful! I would like to go back in three months if I could get a good deal on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I was able to find Nike clothes that Columbus Ohio doesn't have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 3, 2007

Small European Style

The location is just off Union Square. It is convenient to the BART and Cable cars for getting around San Francisco. The hotel has a small European feel. The room was definitely adequate for size and comfort. The room had twin beds, a small table and several chairs. The bathroom was a comfortable size with adequate space without feeling cramped or a bath with wasted space. The room was located at the end of the hall. The view was not great as it looked out on buildings but it was quiet as it was protected from street noise. The amenities are good. There is a pool and dining facilities. I had breakfast in the restaurant. The service was good. The staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The central location and accessibility to transportation around San Francisco was excellent. Great shopping at major department stores is just half a block. Maiden street with small shops and a walking street is just across the Union Square Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 4, 2008

handicap access

Every thing was very nice. The room was large with a balcony. Only problem is that the club rooms were not handicap accessable. I Had the option(?) of climbing 18 steps with my walker or calling the front desk and requesting an excourt to route me through the laundry room. I did not use my walker much because it took too long to get help and carrying the walker was physicaly impossible for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square was a short block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brantford,on
Jul 26, 2009

Handlery Union Square

NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS HOTEL. ROOM SERVICE WAS GOOD AND STAFF WHERE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE INTERNET SERVICE WASN'T VERY GOOD AT THE HOTEL THOUGH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for shopping and galleries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top