$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2007

Decent room in a great location, heated pool and nice sauna.

My two friends and myself stayed at the Handlery Square. The hotel was great, checkin was a little slow, seems like staff could be a little faster. However, they upgraded us to a bigger room. Room was spacious very nice; only drawback was the shower, it could be a little bigger. Heated outdoor pool in courtyard of hotel and sauna, for which you have to make a reservation with the concierge, are excellent amenities you should experience. Overall a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's 50's diner is neat, Union Square, the cable cars are literally around the block and Market street and China Town are an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 30, 2007

Had a fun trip ..

The hotel had a great central location and you could walk to almost everything. The rooms was good size, clean and comfortable. We didn't use the pool or sauna, but they looked nice. The staff was nice and helpful. The elevators were a bit slow ..We did have trouble with the air conditioning on our entire floor and it took a couple of calls to get the attention of the maintenance crew, but otherwise .. everything went well. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2007

Handlery Union Square

We enjoyed our week stay at the Handlery Union Square. It is close to all sources of transportation and lots of great stores around. It is in the middle of a lot of action, very lively. We were able to rest comfortably in our lovely room and the service was great! They let us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great breakfast places within a block and lots of shopping, nightlife and fun within 2 blocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 23, 2007

Great Location

The best thing about this hotel was the location. It is 1/2 a block off of union square, near the street car and market street. A great place to explore from. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was very very small and needed new tiles on the shower floor. Musty smell, when I first got there, had me worried, but turned on the a/c before going out, and smell was gone by the time I got back. All and all very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The lines for the streetcar are long, and you can't always get on at later stops, but it really is something everyone should do atleast once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Not great

I stayed at this hotel before and was very satisfied. This time we had 2 rooms that had double beds and were very small .... the bedspreads & decorative pillows ... questionable cleanliness ... the bathrooms were very clean & nice ... but the towels were thin & rough .... the pillows .... were very uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hotel unless you requested a better room. The location is great & the staff very nice. he restaurant was wonderful. Parking prices were excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nordstrom etc all

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2007

New section of Handlery very elegant

For a small extra fee, I upgraded to a VIP room in the newer section of the hotel, and it was more than worth it. The room was large and filled with every amenity one could think of. It was super comfortable, with a king bed, covered with large, comfy pillows. There was a nice balcony overlooking the pool area. Beautiful bath and dressing area, bathrobe provided, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, shoe buffer, wireless access, cable TV and movies... everything one could want in a hotel room! A very alert and helpful staff added to the enjoyment of my stay. And the Union Square location is just about perfect. I will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a block from San Francisco's theater district, one could easily attend the theater, without taking a cab. Not to mention dinner beforehand, with all the terrific restaurants nearby. There is even a two-for-one theatrical ticket booth one half-block from the hotel, in Union Square, making it all that much more affordable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 21, 2007

excellent location

The hotel was centrally located. Near all shopping and a half block from the cable cars. Room service was good and the food hot and quick. The room was clean and maintqained well. Bathroom was exceptionally clean. The only problem was the logistics of parking and walking to the hotel area. Of course, in San Francisco, parking is not inexpensive, but I was not impressed with the $42 dollars a day. And to add 14% tax was ridiculous. But all in all, I would stay there again. Lefty Odoul's next door was great. Good food and the piano bar was entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The cable cars are a block away. $11 dollars get you an all day pass , so dont fall for the $5 one way. You can buy tickets at the kiosk or from the conductor on the car. Dont go to the turnarounds to catch the cars. Try mid street. You will find stops near most intersections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2007

Great weekend get away

The Handley was in a great location. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was polite and efficient. The room was not large but nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and certainly met our needs. We would definitely stay there again. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's within a very short walk. Also, great restaurants, cable car and art galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 15, 2007

Very Friendly

The staff was extremely friendly at Handlery. The check in went very smooth, and they were always very helpful with directions to near-by restaurants or attractions. Plus the hotel is right in the middle of Union Square, making it very simple to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't take a cab to and from the airport, it can be very pricy. Instead take the Bart tram. It only costs around $6 and is also a much faster ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2007

Great location - good hotel

On check-in I was given a key with no further explanation of the amenities that I could call on. The concierge desk across the lobby was very helpful, friendly and ammusing. The room was clean and adequate, but the bathroom was small and cramped. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel was very good for lunch and dinner, but for breakfast you had to find you own way on the streets. This location, just half a block off of Union Square could not be better. Centrally located to the Cable Cars and excellent San Francisco shops. For the money the Handerly was a good place to stay in the heart of a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Within a block or two you have access to any shop that you might want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top