$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 30, 2008

Great Place to Stay in downtown San Francisco

This Handlery Union Square is a wonderful hotel - this was our 4th stay there in 12 months. We were not able to get the room we wanted - without any hesitation the front desk clerk upgraded us and we were very happy with the room. The hotel is close to cable cars, street cars,great shopping, great piano bar next door and restaurants - everything to have a memorable visit to a beautiful city. The rooms are clean, the cleaning staff very friendly - everyone leaves you alone unless you need something. Perfect for that intimate week away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the big famous stores are within walking distance. Restaurants are a good value for your buck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2008

Nice option

The Handlery Union Square was a very good option for this area in San Francisco, where hotels tend to be quite a bit more expensive for few more advantages. The staff were excellent, the attached restaurant, The Daily Grill, served very good pub and American-style food. I have to say, though, that the room felt a little threadbare and dated. It could have used more electrical outlets conveniently located for charging my laptop and cell phone. I also hate having to pay an extra fee for wireless access and only having that access for a handful of hours. There is no excuse not to have free wireless at hotels anymore. It's not difficult or expensive to do. All in all, it was a pretty good experience, but the Handlery is probably better suited to leisure travelers than business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 27, 2008

Good for business

The hotel was comfortable, quaint, clean and reasonable. It is very close to many shops and is in walking distance to the Moscone Center. The restaurant could have offered more of a selection, however the food was good. You will need to pay for wireless Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to the airport. The shuttles will run you an additional 30-40 minutes before arriving for your flight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maida
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 23, 2008

Convenient for business and play

The Handlery Union Square is in an ideal location. It was easy to get onto the freeway to get to business meetings, and only a short walk to wonderful resturaunts and shopping. The room was small but the bed was comfortable. There were only 2 inconveniences--the parking structure is at the back of the building with stairs on the way to the lobby, so handling my large rolling laptop case was a challenge (suggestion: drop off luggage with the bellman at the hotel entrance on Geary Street before parking). The other inconvenience was having to pay for an internet connection ($9.95 per day), but I suppose the hotel rate compensates for that a bit. I found the staff to be very accommodating and upbeat. I would consider staying at the Handlery again on an upcoming return to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus, Saks, Macy's, Levi's, Polo, lots of charming boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maida
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 23, 2008

Convenient for business and play

The Handlery Union Square is in an ideal location. It was easy to get onto the freeway to get to business meetings, and only a short walk to wonderful resturaunts and shopping. The room was small but the bed was comfortable. There were only 2 inconveniences--the parking structure is at the back of the building with stairs on the way to the lobby, so handling my large rolling laptop case was a challenge (suggestion: drop off luggage with the bellman at the hotel entrance on Geary Street before parking). The other inconvenience was having to pay for an internet connection ($9.95 per day), but I suppose the hotel rate compensates for that a bit. I found the staff to be very accommodating and upbeat. I would consider staying at the Handlery again on an upcoming return to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus, Saks, Macy's, Levi's, Polo, lots of charming boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 19, 2008

Cute, convenient and friendly staff

Handlery Union Square was clean and the rooms were pretty small, but that's to be expected in a Union Square hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms felt clean; however, the bathrooms lacked counter space. I really liked that there was a place to put 2 suitcases. Lastly, the location was wonderful. The hotel was 1/2 a block from Union Square. Macy's, Borders and tons of other stores are steps away. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 19, 2008

Cute, convenient and friendly staff

Handlery Union Square was clean and the rooms were pretty small, but that's to be expected in a Union Square hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms felt clean; however, the bathrooms lacked counter space. I really liked that there was a place to put 2 suitcases. Lastly, the location was wonderful. The hotel was 1/2 a block from Union Square. Macy's, Borders and tons of other stores are steps away. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 4, 2008

handicap access

Every thing was very nice. The room was large with a balcony. Only problem is that the club rooms were not handicap accessable. I Had the option(?) of climbing 18 steps with my walker or calling the front desk and requesting an excourt to route me through the laundry room. I did not use my walker much because it took too long to get help and carrying the walker was physicaly impossible for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square was a short block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 24, 2008

Great quality and value for cheap!

This hotel was literally only a half block from Union square. It was decorated very nicely. I loved our room! Yet it was really cheap, considering all the above aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a really good & affordable breakfast/lunch restaurant around the corner on Mason called Cafe Mason, if you miss the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 20, 2008

Family friendly

My son and I stayed for 4 days and night and were very pleased with the location of the hotel, the amenities offered, and the friendly atmosphere as a whole. We were next to a cable car line and within a block to major bus routes that took us anywhere we wanted to go in town. There was an IMAX within easy walking distance for that rainy evening we spent indoors. Would easily recommend to other families wanting an 'in-town' experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top