$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaywayl
Business
Toronto
Mar 25, 2014

Nice place

I booked a suite with square footage included in the description so I was sure it could accommodate my group. Great location in upscale Union Square. Except that the area is surprisingly unsafe. My briefcase was stolen along with two iPads (from a nearby private event with security, not the hotel itself) and I know of two others who were mugged nearby when out late. Unfortunately if you're in San Fran for business I suggest staying in the immediate proximity of where you need to be and avoid walking outside late at night. Too many shady characters out there at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Business
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UserZ
Business
NYC
Feb 17, 2014

good location

otherwise nothing special, except i got a good deal on the room rate and got a room upgrade, for free, once I showed dissatisfaction with the original room, I was went to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whiskey J
Business
Long Beach CA
Feb 17, 2014

Small Rooms

The package I had boughten started with a double bed so I had to upgrade to a king. Thank God I did because I can't imagine what the other room was like. Our room might have been one of the smallest I've ever booked before. It was 1 tiny room with a bed and a tiny desk. Our window opened up to a lower roof that we could have just walked out on. The bathroom was ok, small but good enough. I will say the bed slept decent though. You could tell it wasn't the newest but it didn't keep us up. The location of this hotel is in the heart though. The biggest reason we got it. We went for he city not the hotel. If you're looking for a great hotel and experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of awesome bars around this hotel. All within a mile. Most of them are walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female friends
Business
Mexico city
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions (including shopping, if that's your thing). Spacious room, great staff and the best stay in san francisco! Definitely would stay again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The daily grill restaurant is fab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creative business travel
Business
San Francisco
Nov 4, 2013

Great location. convenient to shopping

Handlery is a great location right off Union Square, convenient to all the shopping. The staff is helpful and well-informed. Email access is seperate fee at downstairs computer room. ($5.00) Room is average size for San Francisco (adequate, but not big). The room was generally clean except for the edging on the bathroom tiles. I had a back room which had no view, but was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the Sushi Boat on Geary. The worst Japanese food I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesomedude10
Business
San Francisco
Oct 28, 2013

Clean and Comfortable

This hotel is clearly old, but the room was clean and updated. The Grill has decent food and a pretty good happy hour. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephenEven
Business
Knoxville, TN
Oct 26, 2013

Location and Value

Can't beat the location - It's in the dead center of all transportation options plus many shops, bars, and restaurants. We were in the "Historic" section, which I take to mean "old". No matter. The room was modern, clean, and in great condition. We had a suite, actually. Absolutely huge. Our room had no view, but that means it didn't face the street. Which means, no noise. We heard nothing from outside nor other rooms, for that matter. A great stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlking40356
Business
Seattle
Oct 23, 2013

Great stay

I stayed here over the weekend while I ran the Nike Women's Marathon. The location was great and so was the service. I really enjoyed the room service because after running a half marathon I didn't feel like going down to get food! The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in and check out was easy. I also expected more noice but was pleasantly surprised at how minimal the noise was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
penelope63
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 17, 2013

IP meetings

Pleasant-connected to a nice restaurant The Daily grill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top