$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKCK
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2013

Great Location and staff!!

This hotel is less than 1/2 a block from union square!! It pretty much overlooks it. Great location and very nice rooms. It was our anniversary and they made it extra special by giving us a bottle of wine and a room overlooking union square. Tena at the front desk was the best!! We have stayed at a few different hotels in SF and I would definitely come back to this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sotto Mare, near the Italian District, has the best clam chowder, the best we can find! And Kokkari is the best meal you will find anywhere, close to the Ferry building. Yum!!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigfatj
Business
santa rosa
Jul 4, 2014

we do recommend the handlery

great staff great location. rooms could use a bit of an update. nice to take a dip in the outdoor pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBM64
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 1, 2014

Legit

Went here with the girlfriend for a small getaway vaca and it was nice plane was nice well kept expensive but good value a little pricy would be my only comment would recommend it for its features and benefits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjaimes
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Good Value

Good value in the heart of Union Square. Very close to many great restaurants and other points of interest. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritC0000
Business
los angeles, ca
Apr 21, 2014

Great Location

Great for our time spent there. Small rooms but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MISS ACK
Business
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA
Apr 17, 2014

GOOD LOCATION

They let us check in early-that was very nice. Room was very small and window looked onto a brick wall. Good location and price if you do not plan on staying in your room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

WESTFIELD MALL HAS GREAT FOOD

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Gambler
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect location

Wonderful location with very friendly and professional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaywayl
Business
Toronto
Mar 25, 2014

Nice place

I booked a suite with square footage included in the description so I was sure it could accommodate my group. Great location in upscale Union Square. Except that the area is surprisingly unsafe. My briefcase was stolen along with two iPads (from a nearby private event with security, not the hotel itself) and I know of two others who were mugged nearby when out late. Unfortunately if you're in San Fran for business I suggest staying in the immediate proximity of where you need to be and avoid walking outside late at night. Too many shady characters out there at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Business
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UserZ
Business
NYC
Feb 17, 2014

good location

otherwise nothing special, except i got a good deal on the room rate and got a room upgrade, for free, once I showed dissatisfaction with the original room, I was went to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whiskey J
Business
Long Beach CA
Feb 17, 2014

Small Rooms

The package I had boughten started with a double bed so I had to upgrade to a king. Thank God I did because I can't imagine what the other room was like. Our room might have been one of the smallest I've ever booked before. It was 1 tiny room with a bed and a tiny desk. Our window opened up to a lower roof that we could have just walked out on. The bathroom was ok, small but good enough. I will say the bed slept decent though. You could tell it wasn't the newest but it didn't keep us up. The location of this hotel is in the heart though. The biggest reason we got it. We went for he city not the hotel. If you're looking for a great hotel and experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of awesome bars around this hotel. All within a mile. Most of them are walking distance

Back to menu Return to top