$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luther music man
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 22, 2014

Parking

Parking was very expensive, plus tax! There were no wash cloths in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Roof top dancing and cocktails @ Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
San Francisco
Jul 19, 2014

Quick business trip

Perfect spot to get to appointments anywhere in SF, rooms and baths apparently upgraded, much nice than previous trips here. Surprisingly nice restaurant for a bite when the isn't time to go to one of the many top restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind the price tag go to Farallon about 2 blocks - best seafood in SF and totally fabulous, massive jellyfish chandeliers, super wine list, friendly for such a pricey place.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy A's fan
Business
Hayward, California
Jul 12, 2014

Ballpark visit

Went to SF for 2 ball games . Great location in Union Square. Cable Cars, shopping, restaurants, theaters all right in front of you. Our room was in the "historic" section of the Hotel, which really meant the older part. That's ok our room overlooked the street, with the square on the corner. 2 blocks from Cable Car turnaround and train service. Took the train to the night game, walked to the day game ( 40 min walk )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doul's has a fun piano bar just two doors down

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigfatj
Business
santa rosa
Jul 4, 2014

we do recommend the handlery

great staff great location. rooms could use a bit of an update. nice to take a dip in the outdoor pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBM64
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 1, 2014

Legit

Went here with the girlfriend for a small getaway vaca and it was nice plane was nice well kept expensive but good value a little pricy would be my only comment would recommend it for its features and benefits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjaimes
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Good Value

Good value in the heart of Union Square. Very close to many great restaurants and other points of interest. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritC0000
Business
los angeles, ca
Apr 21, 2014

Great Location

Great for our time spent there. Small rooms but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MISS ACK
Business
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA
Apr 17, 2014

GOOD LOCATION

They let us check in early-that was very nice. Room was very small and window looked onto a brick wall. Good location and price if you do not plan on staying in your room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

WESTFIELD MALL HAS GREAT FOOD

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Gambler
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect location

Wonderful location with very friendly and professional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaywayl
Business
Toronto
Mar 25, 2014

Nice place

I booked a suite with square footage included in the description so I was sure it could accommodate my group. Great location in upscale Union Square. Except that the area is surprisingly unsafe. My briefcase was stolen along with two iPads (from a nearby private event with security, not the hotel itself) and I know of two others who were mugged nearby when out late. Unfortunately if you're in San Fran for business I suggest staying in the immediate proximity of where you need to be and avoid walking outside late at night. Too many shady characters out there at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top