$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
325 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, the family-owned and operated Handlery Union Square Hotel is just steps away from the Powell Street cable car line, world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or oversized rooms in the Premier Section. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. The Daily Grill, the on site restaurant, serves American fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Please note: Parking is $47.00 per day, plus tax with unlimited in and out privileges. Additional charge may apply for oversized vehicles.

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 27, 2007

Great Location

The Handlery Hotel offers a great location in the heart of Union Square. It is very clean and cozy and offers a great place to eat, The Daily Grill with a great bar and sports to watch. Everything was handled quickly and efficiently throughout my stay. The only suggestion I would make is to reduce or eliminate the cost of the internet access. This would make it more attractive to business customers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maida
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 23, 2008

Convenient for business and play

The Handlery Union Square is in an ideal location. It was easy to get onto the freeway to get to business meetings, and only a short walk to wonderful resturaunts and shopping. The room was small but the bed was comfortable. There were only 2 inconveniences--the parking structure is at the back of the building with stairs on the way to the lobby, so handling my large rolling laptop case was a challenge (suggestion: drop off luggage with the bellman at the hotel entrance on Geary Street before parking). The other inconvenience was having to pay for an internet connection ($9.95 per day), but I suppose the hotel rate compensates for that a bit. I found the staff to be very accommodating and upbeat. I would consider staying at the Handlery again on an upcoming return to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus, Saks, Macy's, Levi's, Polo, lots of charming boutiques.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square was perfect for our family's visit to San Francisco. The rooms were small but were nicely decorated. The staff was extremely accommodating. We needed two rooms and our request to have them adjoining was met in spite of late notice. The location was great in that it was right off Union Square and so close to shopping, dining, night life, and the trolley. The continental breakfast, though having limited menu choices, was especially enjoyable since it involved an actual dining setting in a nice adjoining restuarant. Parking was a bit pricey, but the in and out privileges enabled us to come and go as necessary. We would definitely stay at the Handlery again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every major store is in the immediate vicinity. The location is supperb for the serious shopper.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosaria
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

In the heart of things

the location was excellent - right near major shopping and the theater. the room while small was enough what with everything going on outside! It was kept very clean and nicely decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marucs; Macys, Saks Fifth Avenue, Borders, etc., etc., etc.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Nov 4, 2008

Helpfull Staff

The room was really small, and, more bothersome, was the odor: a strong odor of wet wood, that could also be smelled in the hallways. Overall, the hotel feel is that it is an older, not modernized, operation. The suite was on the 5th floor, it smelled really good (some deodorant/perfume smell), and the hallway did not smell as bad as on the 8th floor. We really enjoyed it. We experienced the Hotel Restaurant, THe Daily Grill, because it was really raining on our first evening in SF (Nov 1st) and we could not get out with the baby. It's pricey but food is fine. Another problem was the internet WiFi connection in the room. THe instruction was for the Wayport. Thus, I paid for 2 days. But it did not work. The front desk told me that I should use another WiFi network (I forgot the name). It happens that Wayport is their old WiFi and they just got a new one, but they forgot to remove the old instructions in the rooms. Thus I had to register again, but the hotel refunded me the Wayport fee. In addition, the WiFi Signal is weak in the room, thus you have to ask for a bridge a the front desk. The one they gave me did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forouz
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 1, 2007

great location

The hotel is walking distance from shopping, China town, tour bus of the city, troly line, BART and many restaurants. Our room had a great view of the street and very clean. The bathroom was small but we managed. The room had refrigerator and coffee maker whcih made it very convenient. The closet was too tight and unfunctional but not a big deal. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alltrendy and none trendy stores are in Union Square and a walking distance from the hotel. There is a Macy's store building 8 story high for women only and another Macy's in 6 story building for men! There is a H&M store not too far away and they have the best outfits with reasonable prices.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Petaluma, CA
Jan 1, 2011

excellent location

Our trip to the handlery union square hotel was great. The accommodations with valet parking were really convenient and reasonably priced. (40 dollars for a compact vehicle). The rooms were very adorable and reasonably sized, and pristine. I will definitely be staying here again if I need a room in the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 16, 2007

great local

The Handerly is a tired hotel although they are making improvements to update its appearance. New carpets in the hallways was evident. Our room was small but clean. The gift shop wasn't always open for our convenience and when we finally got in the clerk wasn't particularly friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and polite.The location was excellent especially for first timers to San Fran. Transportation was readily available. We had no problems with the shuttle to and fro the airport. All and all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you only have a short time do take a tour with the Cable Car Fun Tour...2 hour city tour crossing the Golden gate Bridge. Allow time for Fishermen's Wharf. Lots to see and do for kids and adults. Various boat tours to Alcatraz. We enjoyed Red Sox game at a local pub owned by a former Bostonian called Red Jacks.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Catharines
Oct 11, 2008

Perfect Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Handlery in Union Square San Francisco. The location was central to everything we needed to do. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and informed. The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The room was spacious for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of shop imaginable right on your doorstep.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2007

Decent room in a great location, heated pool and nice sauna.

My two friends and myself stayed at the Handlery Square. The hotel was great, checkin was a little slow, seems like staff could be a little faster. However, they upgraded us to a bigger room. Room was spacious very nice; only drawback was the shower, it could be a little bigger. Heated outdoor pool in courtyard of hotel and sauna, for which you have to make a reservation with the concierge, are excellent amenities you should experience. Overall a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's 50's diner is neat, Union Square, the cable cars are literally around the block and Market street and China Town are an easy walk.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search