$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2007

excellent location

The Handlery at Union Square was in a great location --- walking distance from BART on Market Street, close to Union Square, superb shopping, cable cars, and walking distance to everything San Francisco. The room was quaint and old-style, but clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was immaculate and hot water ran well! The check-in process was a bit slow, and the reception area had a rank odor, but the upstairs guest's room smelled clean and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell Street and cable cars and even Chinatown was within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Great location and fabulous service

This hotel is wonderful. It is centrally located and close to all different kinds of transportation. The staff was very helpful and courteous and made our stay beyond comfortable. The room was very nice, the king size bed was comfortable and I was impressed at how nice the decor and view was for the price. I liked that there were a lot of outlet plugs available since I was travelling on business and had to work on my laptop while charging two phones. There was also an ipod docking station which was nice. All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
May 18, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Very clean room. No complaints except the percussion player out on the street playing way to late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loved the Daily Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin in Denver
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful Hotel just off of the Square!

Our experience at the hotel was wonderful. We were able to have a quiet room (which is a plus being near a busy road like Market St.). The staff were very helpfull and the location was great! You are near the union square, which allows you to catch the bus, or trolley car anywhere in the city. Can't wait to go back to SF! As the song says we 'left our heart in SF'!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the ticket office in Union Square make sure to buy the City Pass. It includes a week on the muni and admission to 5 museums and attractions. Well worth the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 10, 2009

Good hotel

Hotel has very good location, is very clean. My location in the hotel was very quiet. The staff were very friendly. Concierge was also helpful. The rooms are somewhat small but that's to be expected. Real downside is you have to pay $9.99 per day for internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasadena, CA
Jun 10, 2011

friendly staff and convenient location

very convenient location as it's at the heart of Union Square, walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The hotel staffs were extremely attentive and I was pleasantly surprised by an offer to upgrade my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines
Oct 11, 2008

Perfect Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Handlery in Union Square San Francisco. The location was central to everything we needed to do. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and informed. The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The room was spacious for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of shop imaginable right on your doorstep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 20, 2008

Family friendly

My son and I stayed for 4 days and night and were very pleased with the location of the hotel, the amenities offered, and the friendly atmosphere as a whole. We were next to a cable car line and within a block to major bus routes that took us anywhere we wanted to go in town. There was an IMAX within easy walking distance for that rainy evening we spent indoors. Would easily recommend to other families wanting an 'in-town' experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel for the price!

Our stay at the Handlery was great. The room was huge, the beds were comfortable, and we even had a complimentary gift basket and bottle of wine in our room for booking with [...]. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is located right around the corner from where our conference was held, for less than half the price. We will definitely stay at the Handlery for all future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2007

Great weekend get away

The Handley was in a great location. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was polite and efficient. The room was not large but nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and certainly met our needs. We would definitely stay there again. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's within a very short walk. Also, great restaurants, cable car and art galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top