$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great service

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and speacious. The hotel is in a good location that allows you to walk to theaters, shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 3, 2007

Customer Service disappointment

We arrived in San Francisco and called the Hotel for A shuttle Bus, they said they do not offer one. When we arrive by taxi, whats sitting in front of the hotel? A Shuttle Bus. Check in took about 30 minutes and their proffesionalism lacked greatly. We get to the room and it is small and smeeled like a dirty football locker. Our view was a section between the hotels that resembled the alley you never wanna go down, that was damp and people on the upper floors used it as a trash bin. Immediately went to front desk and complained, was told they could move us but it would be on the same floor and nothing would be different. I so said it would smell like the other one(cleaned up). I asked for a upgrade instead, they offered me one for an additonal $30 a night. We got the upgrade 20 minutes later. By this time my wife is furious and asked for the manager, which was not around. Asked him to have manager contact us and never did. Everytime we came into the hotel we asked for the manager, never around. Ordered food that took an hour and half to get to us from dinner downstairs ( hamburger and salad ). Check-out tried to call concierges desk to get shuttle left messages no return call. Walked downstairs and was told its to late to get shuttle bus. I tried calling for 2 hours. Had to take taxi to airport. Very disappointed in Union Square Handlery Hotel. San Francisco was awesome. Will come back and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All sorts of shopping and dining in Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forouz
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 1, 2007

great location

The hotel is walking distance from shopping, China town, tour bus of the city, troly line, BART and many restaurants. Our room had a great view of the street and very clean. The bathroom was small but we managed. The room had refrigerator and coffee maker whcih made it very convenient. The closet was too tight and unfunctional but not a big deal. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alltrendy and none trendy stores are in Union Square and a walking distance from the hotel. There is a Macy's store building 8 story high for women only and another Macy's in 6 story building for men! There is a H&M store not too far away and they have the best outfits with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2007

Staff VERY nice!

When I first arrived I have flowers in my hand and the man checking me had them put in a vase and had them brought to my room. Then when I ended up with a room with twin beds he moved me to a better room the next day and was very nice about it. He he called to check on me when I got to my room and no one has ever done that. I liked their resturant. I had't eaten much that day and the waiter said they are known for their comfort food. I ordered the pot pie and it was as big as a plate with crust was lite and flaky. It was wonderful! I would like to go back in three months if I could get a good deal on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I was able to find Nike clothes that Columbus Ohio doesn't have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

good Value

This hotel was a good value for the price and location. The one negative was that the concierge was never at his desk out of a 4 day stay we only seen him twice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the trolley cars as your main transportation around the city. The workers on the trolleys are rude and they are not reliable. We spent an hour at union square pickup area and another hour at fishermans wharf waiting on these trolleys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 15, 2007

Best Buy In S.F.

The Handlery is a family run hotel and it shows. The staff is Awesome. They were very accommodating, The bell desk, conceierge, and front desk all went out of their way to help with my visit. The hotel is located in the heart of S.F. Easy walk to Powell & Hyde turnaround cable car station, Union square, and easy access to many shopping and dinning options. The best deals are to be had on the weekdays at Handlery. The front desk saw that we were traveling without children and asked us if we wanted a more quieter part of the hotel. WOW. Just the vacation we needed. Thanks Handlery , We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield Shoppping Centre, Nordstroms, Macy's and a slew of high end shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edmonton, AB
Aug 8, 2007

Great location very ...

Great location very friendly staff very nice rooms (club section)lots of space and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We were only minutes away from Union Square,Cable cars,great restaurants & shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 7, 2007

Friendly and ready to serve

Staff was helpful with directions and service. Rooms, esp. bathrooms, were spotless. Beds and pillows very comfy. Some double rooms have the sink separate from the bathroom and shower so two can get ready. Perfect Location, downtown, in the middle of everything and walking is definitly an option. Food great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is between Market Street for shopping and Chintown for eating/shopping.Walked to Fishermans Wharf Pier 39..13 blks. City Pass for unlimited Muni bus and cable car rides and free admissions. Tickets to Beach Blanket Babylon theater. Adult, political humor. Italian restaurants right around corner from theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 4, 2007

Perfect Stay

At check in there was a delay, as there was a conference in town the prior evening. The staff upgraded me to a suite at no extra charge without me even negotiating the upgrade. They were very gracious and attentive to every need I had during my two week stay. The service was helpful and friendly. The rooms in this hotel are clean and welcoming with ample room and seating. The hotel is less than a block from Union Square Park. It is a hidden gem among the most urban part of San Francisco. I plan to stay here every time I go to the Northern California area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the Financial District and shopping is plentiful.. only a block from the 7 story Macy's. Chinatown is only a few blocks up Grant Street. The Muni station is a short walk down Powell which is the transportation system which will take you anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 3, 2007

Small European Style

The location is just off Union Square. It is convenient to the BART and Cable cars for getting around San Francisco. The hotel has a small European feel. The room was definitely adequate for size and comfort. The room had twin beds, a small table and several chairs. The bathroom was a comfortable size with adequate space without feeling cramped or a bath with wasted space. The room was located at the end of the hall. The view was not great as it looked out on buildings but it was quiet as it was protected from street noise. The amenities are good. There is a pool and dining facilities. I had breakfast in the restaurant. The service was good. The staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The central location and accessibility to transportation around San Francisco was excellent. Great shopping at major department stores is just half a block. Maiden street with small shops and a walking street is just across the Union Square Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top