Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashland, KY
Jun 18, 2007

Comfortable and Convenient

Just off Union Square the Handerly is close to cable car and taxi. Great shopping within blocks. Lots of food choices, a nice pool, and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Gump's

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Jun 17, 2007

great for honeymooners!

We loved this hotel. The only real downsides were: internet was an extra $10 something a day, and the Daily Grill restaurant was terribly expensive and didn't offer any vegan options. The room was amazing, just the right amount of space for us to spread out all of our stuff plus souveniers. We would recommend this hotel to most, but not to any vegans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops are amazing!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2007

great local

The Handerly is a tired hotel although they are making improvements to update its appearance. New carpets in the hallways was evident. Our room was small but clean. The gift shop wasn't always open for our convenience and when we finally got in the clerk wasn't particularly friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and polite.The location was excellent especially for first timers to San Fran. Transportation was readily available. We had no problems with the shuttle to and fro the airport. All and all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you only have a short time do take a tour with the Cable Car Fun Tour...2 hour city tour crossing the Golden gate Bridge. Allow time for Fishermen's Wharf. Lots to see and do for kids and adults. Various boat tours to Alcatraz. We enjoyed Red Sox game at a local pub owned by a former Bostonian called Red Jacks.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square was perfect for our family's visit to San Francisco. The rooms were small but were nicely decorated. The staff was extremely accommodating. We needed two rooms and our request to have them adjoining was met in spite of late notice. The location was great in that it was right off Union Square and so close to shopping, dining, night life, and the trolley. The continental breakfast, though having limited menu choices, was especially enjoyable since it involved an actual dining setting in a nice adjoining restuarant. Parking was a bit pricey, but the in and out privileges enabled us to come and go as necessary. We would definitely stay at the Handlery again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every major store is in the immediate vicinity. The location is supperb for the serious shopper.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2007

mostly pleasent stay

This hotel is located at Union Square, the middle of San Francisco which is very convinient. Pablic transportation can be used to many places like Fishermen's Warf, Golden Gate Park, end so on. Well, my first room was located next to the pool and a groop of people decided to party till 5:00 am. The next room was very quiet and comfortable, so I've got what I wanted. When I asked for a transfer to another room my request was taken care of in a very nice way. I felt like the hotel warkers wanted me to be comfortable during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 11, 2007

Not great; but not all bad.

This is really two hotels. A very old one joined to a not so old one. I expected to be in an upgraded queen. The first room was right over the kitchen and the food smell was bad. The second room was right next to an ice machine that was very loud, perhaps broken. I have to say that one of the front desk staff was kind enough to escourt me to two other rooms. One with a loud air cond. unit, the 4th room was ok. I was told I could move to the new hotel for an additional $30 a night. Since I expected one of their upgraded rooms, I really feel I should have been given one of their best. Again, I will say the staff was very nice to me. Very few stations on the TV gave a picture that could be watched. The furniture was small and dirty as was the rug. This hotel really needs an overhaul. The location is what keep it going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 10, 2007

Great Service

We were unfortunate to not have our luggage upon arrival at the airport. The staff at Handlery Union Square were extremely aware of our situation and were very prompt in getting us our luggage as soon as it arrived. The location was perfect, very close to all the places we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping a very short distance from the hotel. With a great selection of stores to choose from. Shop till you drop!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 27, 2007

Location,Location,Location!!!

The Handlery Hotel in San Francisco was convenient to all locations we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and helpful with all of our needs. Our initial room wasn't as clean as we felt was acceptable, so the Hotel Management immediately took care of us and gave us a wonderful room! I would definitely stay there again an will recomend it to my family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and dinning close by. Chinatown and Fisherman's Warf, walk or take the street-car!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2007

Great Location

I'll be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 20, 2007

Nice hotel

The Handerly was clean amd well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful overall. Room service breakfast was very late in arriving, but food was yummy and well presented. The room was very nicely decorated and not old fashioned. Our room faced Geary Street which is where the upscale shopping is located. At night the area was noisy, there were lots of sirens and the homeless people seemed a bit more aggressive than I'm used to. Maybe that's just San Francisco. Overall it was great and there was a terrific sushi place in Chinatown (just around the corner), the one with the boats floating around with sushi in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top