$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey
Jul 6, 2008

WiFi didn't work.

Excellent location, elegant appointments. Very small but clean and comfortable room. However, for price and target demographic was surprised that internet connection was not free, and even when paid for did not work in our room, but required a bulky attachment and only worked in the lobby. Hotel has own parking, but is additional cost and valet-only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, Saks, many other upscale stores within one block. Right on cablecar and bus routes.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Great Location.

Hotel was in a great location. Easy to get to attractions, dining and public transportation. The room was very nice and clean. Houskeeping was very good. The only negative was the brick wall that our window faced. But then it allowed for the window to be open during the night for fresh air and no one looking in your room. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kunkletown
May 28, 2008

Great Location

The Hotel Handlery was in a great location. Close to shops restaurants and transportation. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a block or two you have great department stores like Macy's, Saks 5th Avenue, H&M, and many other designer stores.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los altos
May 28, 2008

Good for price

The hotel was under partial construction when we were there, but other than that it was nice. It was nice having The Daily Grill in the building. Location is great, right in Union Square. Parking was 42 bucks, but, thats always the case in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the major stores, some theaters.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
May 22, 2008

Have the best location, ...

Have the best location, near Union Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many boutiques near the hotel

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 1, 2008

Fast-Paced

It seemed that the host was in a hurry to check us in and 'get rid of us'. We traveled many hours and we could have used a friendly person recieving us. Seemed like no one took the time to help us out. The hotel is rather old but nice overall. Although the floors squeeqed 'a lot', we didn't hear the noise in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We rode the trollies both wire and rail...fun experience!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryse
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

excellent service

The Handlery Union Square was just what I was looking for in a hotel as far as comfort, location and service at a very reasonable price. I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location for shopping

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2008

great location

Hotel was just off union square, so lots of great shopping within a short walking distance. hotel rooms were pleasant and clean. staff was helpful. hotel restaurant was great. would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Daily Grill restaurant

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2008

great location

Hotel was just off union square, so lots of great shopping within a short walking distance. hotel rooms were pleasant and clean. staff was helpful. hotel restaurant was great. would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Daily Grill restaurant

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 15, 2008

My review of Handlery Union Square

The hotel was in a very central and convenient location. It took only minutes to walk to Union Square. Immediately around the hotel block were the cable car, bus and trolley lines so public transportation was easily reached. Although our room had absolutely no view out the window because it faced another wall of the hotel, it didn't matter much. We spent all of our time outside and not looking out the window anyway. Or when we slept, the shades were always pulled. The front desk personnel were very helpful in providing directions and maps for us to get around. We didn't dine in the hotel since there were many good dining facilities within short walking distance from the hotel. For example, Lefty O'Dhouls which is immediately to the left of the hotel entrance served good, reasonably-priced meals. Even in back of the hotel, there is a terrific japanese restaurant which was always crowded. If you want to eat at Fisherman's Wharf, it only takes about 20 minutes on the cable car to get there. We were surprised to see many Walgreen stores in the downtown area where we could buy snacks and drinks. The area around the hotel is quite safe for walking around although I frequently saw panhandlers at street corners but they didn't bother anyone. The city blocks are small and the streets are not complicated. I would not recommend having a car because parking is extremely expensive. I think the Handlery charges $38 a day. The best thing to do is use the public transportation and buy the Muni Passport. It gives you unlimited rides on the cable cars, buses or trolleys for either one, three or seven days. We picked up our Muni Passports at the Airport near the baggage claim and once we got checked into our hotel, we used it right away to ride the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top