$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abita Springs
Aug 22, 2008

Pleasant, very centrally located and modern

The Handlery Union Square is right next to Union Square, smack in the middle of downtown. If you are coming on vacation to do lots of tourist stuff and spend little to no time in the room, then this is the place for you because the location is amazing. It has incredible access to all mass transit and nightlife, plus there are loads of 24 hour diners and many, um, colorful locals in the nearby Tenderloin district for you to enjoy. The traditional-style building is nice and somewhat charming but feels ever so slightly run-down. I don't think we were given one of the nicest rooms in the place as it was quite full and we arrived really late. We didn't have a bathtub which was kind of annoying as I really don't like shower stalls but I know they have rooms with tubs so you have to ask at the desk. Overall we got a good night of sleep and it was a good deal so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jul 31, 2008

Great for vistors

The Handlery was a very nice hotel. The room was a bit on the small size but had everything you needed within it. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for tourists. It was close to the Bart, Wharf, China Town, cable car connection, restaurants and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

*Walking distance to department stores and a mall. *Walking distance to great local restaurants and Cheese Cake Factory. *Walking distance to China Town. *Close to Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Encinitas, CA
Jul 25, 2008

USE WITH CAUTION ONLY

When we checked in, we were given an extremely shabby small old room that was of pre-WWII vintage (probably about WWI )with old bathroom and overlooking a large pipe. This was on the Geary St. side. We couldn't stay in it, it was so bad. We complained to the desk and we got a very good upgrade. It turns out that the hotel is really two hotels built back to back which connect. The second room that we got was on the O'Farrell St. side which was a modern hotel. We got a courtyard room overlooking the pool which was very quiet. The room was twice the size of the first bad room with a modern bathroom so we were satisfied. The hotel on the Geary St. side is best torn down and re-built. We did pay $30 extra for the upgrade, and it was well worth it. We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't grade the food. Staff was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of restaurants and attractions. Very interesting was the new Contemporary Jewish museum which has striking modern architecture and rotating exhibits that are not particularly related to Jewish issues. Right across the alley from this museum is an extremely interesting gallery of Chinese art glass- Luliu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jul 25, 2008

My review of Handlery Union Square

The Handerly Hotel is very conveniently located, shopping, cable cars, BART station, and restaurants. The pool was a very pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located 1/2 block from Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Jul 8, 2008

Great location

Located right off Union Square. Easy to get to everything. Smallish rooms, but clean, modern, updated, classy... Dining options are limited to the one place next door to the hotel itself, but, come on, you're in San Francisco...cable cars run ion the corner. Great value for the money, location, town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping, dining, etc nearby....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey
Jul 6, 2008

WiFi didn't work.

Excellent location, elegant appointments. Very small but clean and comfortable room. However, for price and target demographic was surprised that internet connection was not free, and even when paid for did not work in our room, but required a bulky attachment and only worked in the lobby. Hotel has own parking, but is additional cost and valet-only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, Saks, many other upscale stores within one block. Right on cablecar and bus routes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Great Location.

Hotel was in a great location. Easy to get to attractions, dining and public transportation. The room was very nice and clean. Houskeeping was very good. The only negative was the brick wall that our window faced. But then it allowed for the window to be open during the night for fresh air and no one looking in your room. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kunkletown
May 28, 2008

Great Location

The Hotel Handlery was in a great location. Close to shops restaurants and transportation. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a block or two you have great department stores like Macy's, Saks 5th Avenue, H&M, and many other designer stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los altos
May 28, 2008

Good for price

The hotel was under partial construction when we were there, but other than that it was nice. It was nice having The Daily Grill in the building. Location is great, right in Union Square. Parking was 42 bucks, but, thats always the case in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the major stores, some theaters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
May 22, 2008

Have the best location, ...

Have the best location, near Union Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many boutiques near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top