$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 26, 2007

Great Location and Value!

Ideal location for shopping and exploring Union Square and SOMA. Rooms are on small size and hotel is older but very well kept. Very tourist friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

clean and efficient

Nice clean, quiet room for SF. Location was great. Well-trained staff and fun international guests...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to cable cars and BART and bus and express bus to 49er game...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 25, 2007

Great location!

Hotel staff was wonderful! We arrived at 10am hoping to leave our bags with the front desk staff until check-in at 3pm, but were told we could check in at that time! Room was clean, but a little small; regardless, it was perfect for what we needed - a place to sleep and shower. Our only complaint is that the hallways are carpeted and seem to have absorbed some odors over time... just a little musty; almost as if someone had a dog there. The room itself did not have an odor though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is the shopping mecca of San Fran! Perfect Location and close to the Hyde-Powell cable car line that can take you close to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loal
Business
Wichita, KS
Sep 23, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

This hotel has two sections. We stayed in the premier, upgrade area, I would hate to see the standard. We had no dresser or chest to store clothing, and for the upgrade charge, the room was very small. The location is very desirable, with a close proimity to the cable car, street car line, metro, and BART. Greet shopping and dining is close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Barney's, Nordstrom, NM, Gucci, Etal...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 16, 2007

Great location, great room!

I wasn't sure what to expect from the Handlery Hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was large, roomy and clean. We were right in the heart of the city. The people were nice and helpful. The room was VERY comfortbale!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast next door at Lefty O'Doul's was also wonderful and in expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square hotel is very conveniently located in downtown San Francisco. I have stayed at the hotel numerous times and it is a favorite, but this was the first time in the ?older section? of the property. I was pleased at the size of the rooms and the d?cor, but views were nonexistent. Throughout the hotel, staff were attentive and friendly. I checked in at 4pm (check-in was listed at 3pm) and the room wasn't ready. I had a 30 minute wait. I could have passed the time in the attractive lounge, but instead visited with friends in the lobby. If I had been tired, this would not have been fun. The hotel is close to shopping, dining and entertainment. The famous cable cars are steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The parking garage entrance is around the corner. To get to the front desk you must walk down a flight of stairs and it can be troublesome to navigate with baggage. Even if you just have one bag, use the bellman service. Be prepared to pay a hefty price for parking, although it does come with in-and-out privileges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soyeon
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

Handlery hotel was clean and comfortable. There is Union square just a minutes from hotel. and there is very good public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many shops a few minutes from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great service

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and speacious. The hotel is in a good location that allows you to walk to theaters, shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 3, 2007

Customer Service disappointment

We arrived in San Francisco and called the Hotel for A shuttle Bus, they said they do not offer one. When we arrive by taxi, whats sitting in front of the hotel? A Shuttle Bus. Check in took about 30 minutes and their proffesionalism lacked greatly. We get to the room and it is small and smeeled like a dirty football locker. Our view was a section between the hotels that resembled the alley you never wanna go down, that was damp and people on the upper floors used it as a trash bin. Immediately went to front desk and complained, was told they could move us but it would be on the same floor and nothing would be different. I so said it would smell like the other one(cleaned up). I asked for a upgrade instead, they offered me one for an additonal $30 a night. We got the upgrade 20 minutes later. By this time my wife is furious and asked for the manager, which was not around. Asked him to have manager contact us and never did. Everytime we came into the hotel we asked for the manager, never around. Ordered food that took an hour and half to get to us from dinner downstairs ( hamburger and salad ). Check-out tried to call concierges desk to get shuttle left messages no return call. Walked downstairs and was told its to late to get shuttle bus. I tried calling for 2 hours. Had to take taxi to airport. Very disappointed in Union Square Handlery Hotel. San Francisco was awesome. Will come back and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All sorts of shopping and dining in Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forouz
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 1, 2007

great location

The hotel is walking distance from shopping, China town, tour bus of the city, troly line, BART and many restaurants. Our room had a great view of the street and very clean. The bathroom was small but we managed. The room had refrigerator and coffee maker whcih made it very convenient. The closet was too tight and unfunctional but not a big deal. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alltrendy and none trendy stores are in Union Square and a walking distance from the hotel. There is a Macy's store building 8 story high for women only and another Macy's in 6 story building for men! There is a H&M store not too far away and they have the best outfits with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top