$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
539 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (539)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
539 out of 539
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soyeon
San Diego, CA
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

Handlery hotel was clean and comfortable. There is Union square just a minutes from hotel. and there is very good public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many shops a few minutes from hotel

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dobbs Ferry
Dec 21, 2008

Great location~!!!

Union Square, shopping, dining, galleries, cable cars, and transportation are within blocks of the hotel. My king club room which overlooked the hotel's mini pool was comfortable enough and peaceful (couldn't hear any noise from the streets). Wouldn't say that the hotel is made solely for lounging or atmosphere, but that in itself is encouragement to take in the surrounding city instead of staying cooped up in the room all day. Some things that would have made my stay better would have been complimentary internet and continental breakfast (neither provided gratis). However, Union Square provided free wi-fi and there was plenty of inexpensive dining surrounding the hotel which better accommodated my super tight traveling budget of $50 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As soon as you walk out of the hotel, Union Square is less than a block away. As it was my first time in San Francisco, I (of course) had to take a ride on a cable car. The main hub of the Powell-Mason cable car line was just a couple blocks away as were Market Street, the Bart, and bus lines to easily get around the city without needing a car.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
Philadelphia
May 6, 2013

Good value for location

Very nice staff, big room, suprisingly quiet for Union Square - though inside pool creates some noise and the pumbing was a little old. Worth it, thoug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2007

mostly pleasent stay

This hotel is located at Union Square, the middle of San Francisco which is very convinient. Pablic transportation can be used to many places like Fishermen's Warf, Golden Gate Park, end so on. Well, my first room was located next to the pool and a groop of people decided to party till 5:00 am. The next room was very quiet and comfortable, so I've got what I wanted. When I asked for a transfer to another room my request was taken care of in a very nice way. I felt like the hotel warkers wanted me to be comfortable during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaywayl
Business
Toronto
Mar 25, 2014

Nice place

I booked a suite with square footage included in the description so I was sure it could accommodate my group. Great location in upscale Union Square. Except that the area is surprisingly unsafe. My briefcase was stolen along with two iPads (from a nearby private event with security, not the hotel itself) and I know of two others who were mugged nearby when out late. Unfortunately if you're in San Fran for business I suggest staying in the immediate proximity of where you need to be and avoid walking outside late at night. Too many shady characters out there at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Holiday
Worcestershire, UK
Sep 3, 2012

Spacious family room. Excellent Location

We really enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. The location was perfect. The room was very clean and comfortable. As a family of four, we were pleased with the spacious premier room we chose. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Bellini's served great breakfast just around the corner.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangkok
Oct 7, 2008

its closer than you'd think

Great location, it just on the corner of union square, 2 minutes walk from shopping areas. Dont ask for club room on 2nd floor, not practical in using stairs with heavy luggage.Rooms was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

meals all 2 minutes away.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meldonator
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

San Francisco

Hotel was in perfect location and rooms were comfortable. Close to transportation, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Foley's Irish Pub!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied but Disappointed
Tulsa, Ok
May 30, 2009

Almost perfect

The location, the parking attendants and the Concierge were the best part of this hotel, not to mention the cleanliness and charm of the hotel. We had to walk a ways to the parking garage but you walk everywhere in SF anyway. I would have liked to have been able to use the pool either early in the morning or late at night but the hours were 8 am - 8 pm and there was no fitness room. We would also have liked to have used room service later at night but that too was only until 10 PM. This may be standard for other hotels also. The room - we were able to adjust our own temperature and it was spotless clean with extremely comfortable beds. The last night there the room above us was thumping and loud disturbing noises that kept us awake. The hotel staff said they would take care of it but it did not stop until I just left the room at 6:30 am to get some peace and quiet in the lobby. The hotel manager was not very agressive about taking care of the noise either. This may keep us from returning to the hotel in the future. We did not eat at the attached restaurant as there were cheaper choices nearby. I was given a complimentary cup of coffee my last morning there but rightfully so as it had been sitting in the pot a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Being centrally located we could have walked or taken the trolley to any place we wanted to go. Very convenient.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwandww
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2012

Excellent hotel in midst of lively Union Square!

What a perfect central location to explore San Francisco! Within walking distance of cable cars, many restaurant choices, and Chinatown, this hotel was an excellent choice for us. We loved the balcony that allowed us to feel a part of the busy streets below while we sipped coffee or wine! This hotel is great for couples or for families with teenages who would like to spend time exploring the area. The stop for the hop on-hop off bus tours is nearby also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Restaurant, a local tradition for great breakfasts. John's Grill, another local tradition for nice dinners and live music!

Back to menu Return to top