$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton
Sep 24, 2008

Great Location

This hotel has a great location, and the staff, do a great job in making you feel comfortable, and welcome. I love staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping, and dining in a very short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere
Sep 16, 2008

Well trained staff, nice accommodations, great food!

I had been wanting to try the Handlery for several years now. It was far beyond my expectations which were somewhat high to begin with. When I return to San Francisco on my next visit (and I go often), my stay will be at the Handlery! Clean, well maintained accommodations, well-trained friendly staff, many amenities like higher priced hotels provide, comfortable beds, and the on-premises grill was very good. Best buy in Union Square and downtown San Fran is on your doorstep. Great location! Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mcpherson
Sep 16, 2008

good for big city stay

The Handlery was very cozy European influence. Small but adequate. I would stay in a heart beat again. Lots of places to eat and you get the pulse of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 8 story's of it how awesome can that be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, *
Sep 4, 2008

Great Location

Our stay at the Handlery in San Francisco was wonderful! The convenience of getting anywhere in the city was at our doorstep. Next door to Lefty O'Douls where there is always something going on, and close to every type of transportation. The staff was very accomadating and helpful. The room was in the corner and I think it was a fairly decent size considering the hotel has been around for awhile. Everything was clean and although the view wasn't great from the window, we spend most of our days touring the city so it didn't matter. Bathroom was old fashioned, but the water was hot and strong, lots of closet space and the extra pillow and blanket were appreciated. I would definately come back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to spend more than one day here, go to the cable car turnaround and buy a 3 day or 7 day Muni pass...this lets you get on any transportation (bus, cable cars, trolley..) a three day cost $18 and a seven day pass cost $24. When you figure it cost $5 to ride the cable car one way...this is a bargain and it offers you many options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abita Springs
Aug 22, 2008

Pleasant, very centrally located and modern

The Handlery Union Square is right next to Union Square, smack in the middle of downtown. If you are coming on vacation to do lots of tourist stuff and spend little to no time in the room, then this is the place for you because the location is amazing. It has incredible access to all mass transit and nightlife, plus there are loads of 24 hour diners and many, um, colorful locals in the nearby Tenderloin district for you to enjoy. The traditional-style building is nice and somewhat charming but feels ever so slightly run-down. I don't think we were given one of the nicest rooms in the place as it was quite full and we arrived really late. We didn't have a bathtub which was kind of annoying as I really don't like shower stalls but I know they have rooms with tubs so you have to ask at the desk. Overall we got a good night of sleep and it was a good deal so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jul 31, 2008

Great for vistors

The Handlery was a very nice hotel. The room was a bit on the small size but had everything you needed within it. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for tourists. It was close to the Bart, Wharf, China Town, cable car connection, restaurants and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

*Walking distance to department stores and a mall. *Walking distance to great local restaurants and Cheese Cake Factory. *Walking distance to China Town. *Close to Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Encinitas, CA
Jul 25, 2008

USE WITH CAUTION ONLY

When we checked in, we were given an extremely shabby small old room that was of pre-WWII vintage (probably about WWI )with old bathroom and overlooking a large pipe. This was on the Geary St. side. We couldn't stay in it, it was so bad. We complained to the desk and we got a very good upgrade. It turns out that the hotel is really two hotels built back to back which connect. The second room that we got was on the O'Farrell St. side which was a modern hotel. We got a courtyard room overlooking the pool which was very quiet. The room was twice the size of the first bad room with a modern bathroom so we were satisfied. The hotel on the Geary St. side is best torn down and re-built. We did pay $30 extra for the upgrade, and it was well worth it. We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't grade the food. Staff was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of restaurants and attractions. Very interesting was the new Contemporary Jewish museum which has striking modern architecture and rotating exhibits that are not particularly related to Jewish issues. Right across the alley from this museum is an extremely interesting gallery of Chinese art glass- Luliu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jul 25, 2008

My review of Handlery Union Square

The Handerly Hotel is very conveniently located, shopping, cable cars, BART station, and restaurants. The pool was a very pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located 1/2 block from Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Jul 8, 2008

Great location

Located right off Union Square. Easy to get to everything. Smallish rooms, but clean, modern, updated, classy... Dining options are limited to the one place next door to the hotel itself, but, come on, you're in San Francisco...cable cars run ion the corner. Great value for the money, location, town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping, dining, etc nearby....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey
Jul 6, 2008

WiFi didn't work.

Excellent location, elegant appointments. Very small but clean and comfortable room. However, for price and target demographic was surprised that internet connection was not free, and even when paid for did not work in our room, but required a bulky attachment and only worked in the lobby. Hotel has own parking, but is additional cost and valet-only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, Saks, many other upscale stores within one block. Right on cablecar and bus routes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top