$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trvlgrl
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was in a really great location in the heart of union square. There are lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. I suggest that you ask for a room facing the inside of the hotel if you prefer quiet nights. The first night I had a room facing the street, and it was incredibly noisy so it was difficult to sleep. The staff was very accommodating in moving my belongings to a new room that was much quieter and bigger than the first room for the next night. Overall, very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Almost Retired
Business
Washington DC
May 27, 2009

Beware of parking charges

Chose based on being a Cheap Tickets pick.. Good central location, but hotel has seen better days. Room was large but bathroom was tiny with no lav and a shower where you are the only thing between the the shower head and bathroom floor..AC ceiling mounted and noisy.. Inner rooms look out on mechanical room.. Service was good, but nothing extrodinary. Big shock was the 36 bucks a night for parking..Would not rent a car and pay to park with such a great public transportation system..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is right in the heart of the shopping district and all walkable... Take the BART from the Airport or a shuttle and don't pay the rental and parking costs.. Have a great meal or two at the Daily Grill at the Handerly instead... Tours with Grey Line were all great with hotel pick-up

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki, Finland
May 26, 2009

Great location

The hotel was clean and safe. Service (including room service) was great and so was the food in the hotels restaurant 'Daily Grill.' We stayed 4 nights in the hotel. Location of the hotel was excellent. Both Cable Car and Street Car stops were just around the corner. It took 17 minutes to get to Fisherman's Wharf by F-line Street Car (1.50$ per adult) and about 35 minutes on foot, which was good exercise (steep streets) and a great opportunity to explore the downtown area. The only annoying thing about our room was the occasional loud siren noise from the street (Fire Station near by).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki, Finland
May 26, 2009

Great location

The hotel was clean and safe. Service (including room service) was great and so was the food in the hotels restaurant 'Daily Grill.' We stayed 4 nights in the hotel. Location of the hotel was excellent. Both Cable Car and Street Car stops were just around the corner. It took 17 minutes to get to Fisherman's Wharf by F-line Street Car (1.50$ per adult) and about 35 minutes on foot, which was good exercise (steep streets) and a great opportunity to explore the downtown area. The only annoying thing about our room was the occasional loud siren noise from the street (Fire Station near by).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garden Grove CA
May 24, 2009

Handelry San Fran

easy walk to cable car or bus. great room with bay window. 2 nights quiet, 3rd night noisy neighbors @ 4am knocking boots. uuuugh. will stay again and request the same room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Little Henrys Italian food. we saw 3 police cycles parked outdide so we figured it must be good food. Great food and low prices. excellent service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
May 9, 2009

Very good room and location was superb

Friendly and helpful staff, clean room w/comfortable bed, excellent location for walking or public transport. Good restaurants very near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant across the street (back side of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dublin
Business
San Francisco
May 4, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Clean, friendly, cozy, nice restaurant and a great location. It was nice having a garage for our rental car, with quick service, but a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Gate National Park was a great place to visit on Sunday: no cars, just people, bikes and dogs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dublin
Business
San Francisco
May 4, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Clean, friendly, cozy, nice restaurant and a great location. It was nice having a garage for our rental car, with quick service, but a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Gate National Park was a great place to visit on Sunday: no cars, just people, bikes and dogs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debitahut
Business
san diego, ca
May 2, 2009

great location

The hotel was in a great location. Beds were very comfortable but the room was much smaller than expected. The photos online show a room with table and chairs that bore no resemblance to the one we had. We had one small chair in between the 2 beds which was in an awkward place. The bathroom is tiny, no bath tub, just a shower. The sink is outside the bathroom in the actual room. There was hardly any space to put out your toiletries. It is an older hotel and some of the furniture looked a little old. That said it was in a great location. We walked from the BART station which we took from the airport for a bargain $5.35 each. Also the staff were lovely. Arrived 5 hours before check in and we got our room straight away. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are on a budget the Westfield Shopping Center at the bottom of Powell St had several food halls that had a great variety. There is a Thai restaurant there that had a line every night because the food was great. Ate there 3 times in 4 nights. Something in the food hall for everyone. Also a Bristol Farms in there that we got our fruit from daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 26, 2009

Unbeatable location, and family getaway

Hotel was located in the best part of downtown, accessible to many attractions and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top