$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
May 1, 2008

Fast-Paced

It seemed that the host was in a hurry to check us in and 'get rid of us'. We traveled many hours and we could have used a friendly person recieving us. Seemed like no one took the time to help us out. The hotel is rather old but nice overall. Although the floors squeeqed 'a lot', we didn't hear the noise in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We rode the trollies both wire and rail...fun experience!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryse
Friends
USA
Apr 22, 2008

excellent service

The Handlery Union Square was just what I was looking for in a hotel as far as comfort, location and service at a very reasonable price. I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location for shopping

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 15, 2008

My review of Handlery Union Square

The hotel was in a very central and convenient location. It took only minutes to walk to Union Square. Immediately around the hotel block were the cable car, bus and trolley lines so public transportation was easily reached. Although our room had absolutely no view out the window because it faced another wall of the hotel, it didn't matter much. We spent all of our time outside and not looking out the window anyway. Or when we slept, the shades were always pulled. The front desk personnel were very helpful in providing directions and maps for us to get around. We didn't dine in the hotel since there were many good dining facilities within short walking distance from the hotel. For example, Lefty O'Dhouls which is immediately to the left of the hotel entrance served good, reasonably-priced meals. Even in back of the hotel, there is a terrific japanese restaurant which was always crowded. If you want to eat at Fisherman's Wharf, it only takes about 20 minutes on the cable car to get there. We were surprised to see many Walgreen stores in the downtown area where we could buy snacks and drinks. The area around the hotel is quite safe for walking around although I frequently saw panhandlers at street corners but they didn't bother anyone. The city blocks are small and the streets are not complicated. I would not recommend having a car because parking is extremely expensive. I think the Handlery charges $38 a day. The best thing to do is use the public transportation and buy the Muni Passport. It gives you unlimited rides on the cable cars, buses or trolleys for either one, three or seven days. We picked up our Muni Passports at the Airport near the baggage claim and once we got checked into our hotel, we used it right away to ride the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 7, 2008

Great location

This hotel offered a great location in Union Square to ALL KINDS of shopping and dining, and was a block away from mass transit to the piers and ballpark. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was small, and unfortunately the bedspread/carpet were stained. We liked the hotel restaurant. This was obviously an older hotel, but it definitely served our purpose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Westfield mall is a block away, located next to the mass transit. Awesome shopping is also located just beyond Union square. Every street you turn, you will find a great place to spend your money!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2008

good location

The Handlery Union Square was well located, within easy walking distance to fine restaurants and shopping. There was a cable car stop at the corner and what's a trip to San Francisco without riding the cable car at least once? While our room was very small, we hadn't intended to spend a lot of time there anyway, our bathroom was large and obviously remodeled in the recent past. Nice pool area and easy access to parking garage. Every staff member we encountered from the front desk to the parking attendant was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A drink...or two at Bourbon and Branch is a unique experience for anyone who appreciates a well-made cocktail in a quiet, elegant atmosphere. Great place to unwind.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Little Rock, AR
Apr 6, 2008

very family friendly

The Handley Hotel is an old hotel in San Francisco, but it has been remodeled and the rooms were very nice, quiet, and clean. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. You can not ask for a better location. It is next to Union Square with all the shopping stores within a block. For the price, it is the best bargian in SF. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are many within a block or less. My wife and I were too busy to enjoy the pool and the fitness center. The hotel was doing some remolding of the pool. Overall, I would give the Handley an excellent rating, along with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the finest retail stores such as Macey's, Levi, Sak's Fifth Avenue and many more within a short walking distance. On the top floor of Macey's is the Cheese Cake Restaurant. The food is great with very large portions, and you must try one of their famous cheese cakes.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Honolulu, HI
Mar 31, 2008

Good Value

Excellent Location, timely service, excellent concierge service, fantastic attached restaurant (Daily Grill), Good Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a block from Union Square.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Vancouver, BC
Mar 30, 2008

Great Place to Stay in downtown San Francisco

This Handlery Union Square is a wonderful hotel - this was our 4th stay there in 12 months. We were not able to get the room we wanted - without any hesitation the front desk clerk upgraded us and we were very happy with the room. The hotel is close to cable cars, street cars,great shopping, great piano bar next door and restaurants - everything to have a memorable visit to a beautiful city. The rooms are clean, the cleaning staff very friendly - everyone leaves you alone unless you need something. Perfect for that intimate week away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the big famous stores are within walking distance. Restaurants are a good value for your buck.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2008

Nice option

The Handlery Union Square was a very good option for this area in San Francisco, where hotels tend to be quite a bit more expensive for few more advantages. The staff were excellent, the attached restaurant, The Daily Grill, served very good pub and American-style food. I have to say, though, that the room felt a little threadbare and dated. It could have used more electrical outlets conveniently located for charging my laptop and cell phone. I also hate having to pay an extra fee for wireless access and only having that access for a handful of hours. There is no excuse not to have free wireless at hotels anymore. It's not difficult or expensive to do. All in all, it was a pretty good experience, but the Handlery is probably better suited to leisure travelers than business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 27, 2008

Good for business

The hotel was comfortable, quaint, clean and reasonable. It is very close to many shops and is in walking distance to the Moscone Center. The restaurant could have offered more of a selection, however the food was good. You will need to pay for wireless Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to the airport. The shuttles will run you an additional 30-40 minutes before arriving for your flight.

Back to menu Return to top