$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingston
Oct 25, 2008

Great location

We really enjoyed our stay at the Handlery. The location was very convenient to all transportation and shopping. We had breakfast every morning at the restaurant attached which was excellent. Room service was always very quick to respond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost every store you can think of as well as cafe's and bars are within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City
Oct 24, 2008

Handy Hotel

The Handlery Union Square in San Francisco was located on Geary and in a great location for catching the cable car -- handy. It was clean and comfortable at an affordable price. I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a park and major shopping area just down the street. Since the cable cars run just at the end of the block, attractions are only a hop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 20, 2008

Great Location

The SF Handlery is a great location!! Very near shopping, food, and many of the city's neighborhoods like Chinatown, North Beach, Embarcadaro and Fisherman's Wharf. The room was smaller than most american rooms, however, it was perfect for a trip to San Francisco were you our sightseeing most of the time! Room 608 in on the inside (atrium side) of the hotel but still a little street noise came through. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be centrally located!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for Great Dim Sum Yank Sing's is the best in the city. It is out of the way on Stevenson Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingston
Oct 20, 2008

Great location

We were pleasantly surprised with our room. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and were expecting something old fashioned and uncomfortable. However, our room was very bright and cheerful, plenty of room all around. A small refridgerator and coffee maker was provided which was great. I would recommend asking for an inside room to avoid the noise from Union Square. The location was great. The bus and cable car stopped right outside the hotel. The food in the dining room was expensive (but what isn't in San Francisco) but excellent. We would defenitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in the mood to shop there are great stores within a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Lakes
Oct 12, 2008

Great Locarion

My room was described as petite. They told the truth! It was on the tiny size but fine for one occupant. It was clean, quiet, & the hotel well managed. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right off Union Square. There are many eating establishments nearby, & the Muni is readily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines
Oct 11, 2008

Perfect Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Handlery in Union Square San Francisco. The location was central to everything we needed to do. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and informed. The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The room was spacious for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of shop imaginable right on your doorstep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Oct 10, 2008

Fantastic location ... for everything!

The Handlery Hotel proved to be a great find. Great location, great service - what more could you want for a short stay in San Francisco - everything was on your doorstep; or the transport to it was. Helpful check-in staff, clean, light quiet room at a great rate - I was offered an upgrade from a Petite Double and it was well worth it. Having read some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot fault the helpful services or good sized room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A great location for everything. You can literally fall out of the hotel into Union Square which has great shops but also transport to almost everywhere if Union Square isn't your type of shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangkok
Oct 7, 2008

its closer than you'd think

Great location, it just on the corner of union square, 2 minutes walk from shopping areas. Dont ask for club room on 2nd floor, not practical in using stairs with heavy luggage.Rooms was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

meals all 2 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton
Sep 24, 2008

Great Location

This hotel has a great location, and the staff, do a great job in making you feel comfortable, and welcome. I love staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping, and dining in a very short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere
Sep 16, 2008

Well trained staff, nice accommodations, great food!

I had been wanting to try the Handlery for several years now. It was far beyond my expectations which were somewhat high to begin with. When I return to San Francisco on my next visit (and I go often), my stay will be at the Handlery! Clean, well maintained accommodations, well-trained friendly staff, many amenities like higher priced hotels provide, comfortable beds, and the on-premises grill was very good. Best buy in Union Square and downtown San Fran is on your doorstep. Great location! Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top