$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarPar
Business
London
Dec 29, 2014

Winter stay

The staff were very helpful, and catering was great. The prices were a little expensive for food but the service was great and the quality of food was super. The location of the hotel is superb and the transport locally enables access to any part if SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All major dept stores are nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

San Francisco experience

The handlers is a classic sf hotel with a great downtown location. The staff is friendly and efficient and the food and atmosphere at the attached resteruant are top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Daily Grill!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ccy.329
Business
Midland
Jan 15, 2015

San Fran Family Trip

Once I got my room my thought is that this is the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed. However, when I saw my friend's room at another hotel on the same street. I would say that the room I stayed is just fine. If you stay at the historic building, you will notice that there is a smell that I do not know how to describe. But I assumed that is a smell of an old building. Then when you enter the room, the cleanliness is good, everything is nicely placed. The room service did not refill any coffee pack and tea for our room after the first night but that was fine by me. After all our room is still nicely kept. The final thing I want to mention is that the elevator seems aged and will bump a little when you reach your floor. It scared me a little when I use it for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a Thai food lover, do stop by at Bachaa Thai as I think they have authentic and the most delicious Thai food I've eaten since I came to the states and their prices are reasonable too. Just turn left when you came out of the hotel cross the traffic light and it is located at the opposite of the road beside shabu shabu and a pizza shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer
Business
Gretna
Mar 14, 2015

good value

Great location, walking distance to union square, chinatown, and shopping. Friendly and professional staff. I wish parking was free for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SP80
Business
Darien
Apr 18, 2015

Good for a one night stay

I stayed here for a night during a business trip. The room is small but it seems as though that is pretty typical of a SF hotel and the parking was very expensive (again typical), but overall, my stay was fine, the room was comfortable, the shower water pressure was good which is all that matters to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female friends
Business
Mexico city
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions (including shopping, if that's your thing). Spacious room, great staff and the best stay in san francisco! Definitely would stay again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The daily grill restaurant is fab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OneWall
Business
Chicago
Feb 24, 2014

Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next to the festivities. Also very convenient to just sight see a bit on our off time. A lot of things are in walking distance. Had a great city view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2008

great location

Hotel was just off union square, so lots of great shopping within a short walking distance. hotel rooms were pleasant and clean. staff was helpful. hotel restaurant was great. would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Daily Grill restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2007

Handlery Union Square

We enjoyed our week stay at the Handlery Union Square. It is close to all sources of transportation and lots of great stores around. It is in the middle of a lot of action, very lively. We were able to rest comfortably in our lovely room and the service was great! They let us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great breakfast places within a block and lots of shopping, nightlife and fun within 2 blocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 8, 2007

Great Location

I felt that it was a very nice hotel, however the room was so small.The room was clean with the exception of the night stand which didn't seem to be dusted for weeks. The location was very good for shopping and close to all transportation. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to all major shopping like Macy's, Saks and upsale boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top