$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 16, 2015 Check-out: Feb 17, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
332 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights
Jan 4, 2009

convinient and great value

It is located in the most convinient place. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable, and the hotel stuff were very friendly and nice. I just couldn't controll the tempreture of the room... and felt very,very, cold in the room... If I complain, maybe I could change my room? The heating system seemed old ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything ... for shopping, sightseeing,dining out and drinking ...... It is the great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 25, 2008

Friendly and Clean

Prople were friendly at all the times. The hotel offers clean rooms. The beds were comfortable a the bathroom was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the restaurant next door is one of the favorites to visit. Lefties has great breakfast with fresh coffee from Starbucks and great custumer service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dobbs Ferry
Dec 21, 2008

Great location~!!!

Union Square, shopping, dining, galleries, cable cars, and transportation are within blocks of the hotel. My king club room which overlooked the hotel's mini pool was comfortable enough and peaceful (couldn't hear any noise from the streets). Wouldn't say that the hotel is made solely for lounging or atmosphere, but that in itself is encouragement to take in the surrounding city instead of staying cooped up in the room all day. Some things that would have made my stay better would have been complimentary internet and continental breakfast (neither provided gratis). However, Union Square provided free wi-fi and there was plenty of inexpensive dining surrounding the hotel which better accommodated my super tight traveling budget of $50 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As soon as you walk out of the hotel, Union Square is less than a block away. As it was my first time in San Francisco, I (of course) had to take a ride on a cable car. The main hub of the Powell-Mason cable car line was just a couple blocks away as were Market Street, the Bart, and bus lines to easily get around the city without needing a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2008

Great Location

The first room we were checked into was to small for the 4 of us, we were put in what they call the Colonial area which was very dingy no views out of the windows and had an awefull odour down the halls. We were showed another room by the pool area for a 50.00 upgrade that was just a little larger then the room we had with a tiny balcony. Later that evening somemore family members arrived and the fellow that brought their luggage to the room, told me he would show me a real nice room for only 30.00 a day upgrade. We switched we were ground level across from the pool we had a large room and bathroom with 2 queen beds well worth the 30.00. i guess it depends on who you talk to. Most of the staff were very freindly and helpfull with directions.The location was great right in the heart of the city, although the next time i go to San Fransisco i would probally stay in the Fishermans Wharf area. The bus system was very good for getting us around and cheap.We were there for a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 15, 2008

FABULOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE, FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDGEABLE.

HANDLERLY IS LOCATED IN A FABULOUS AREA. THE STAFF WAS VERY EFFICIENT WHEN WE CHECKED IN. CONCIERGE WAS EXCELLENT. WE HAD GREAT DIRECTIONS AND EXCELLENT RESTAURANTS WERE RECOMMENDED. OUR ROOM WAS LOVELY, REFRIGERATOR, COFFEE MAKER, HAIR DRYER AND THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO STAYING IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN AND WILL DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS AND CO-WORKERS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

FABULOUS SHOPPING, BREAKFAST AT LEFTY O'DOULE'S WAS SO GREAT AND CONVENIENT. HOTEL WAS FABULOUS, CLEAN, GREAT LOCATION. PARK ACROSS THE STREET. VERY CONVENIENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Nuys
Nov 12, 2008

Great Location

This was a great place for a long weekend. The room was small, but clean. Union Square is a great starting point for experiencing San Francisco. The Handlery Hotel is clean, staff are friendly and housekeeping was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Nov 4, 2008

Helpfull Staff

The room was really small, and, more bothersome, was the odor: a strong odor of wet wood, that could also be smelled in the hallways. Overall, the hotel feel is that it is an older, not modernized, operation. The suite was on the 5th floor, it smelled really good (some deodorant/perfume smell), and the hallway did not smell as bad as on the 8th floor. We really enjoyed it. We experienced the Hotel Restaurant, THe Daily Grill, because it was really raining on our first evening in SF (Nov 1st) and we could not get out with the baby. It's pricey but food is fine. Another problem was the internet WiFi connection in the room. THe instruction was for the Wayport. Thus, I paid for 2 days. But it did not work. The front desk told me that I should use another WiFi network (I forgot the name). It happens that Wayport is their old WiFi and they just got a new one, but they forgot to remove the old instructions in the rooms. Thus I had to register again, but the hotel refunded me the Wayport fee. In addition, the WiFi Signal is weak in the room, thus you have to ask for a bridge a the front desk. The one they gave me did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 2, 2008

Great location

The Handlery Hotel has a great location in Union Square, close to shopping and transportation. The cable cars stop a half block away and major bus routes within a few blocks. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The hotel itself can use an update, though it was very clean. The bathroom was very small, but again, clean. There is a small business center offering internet and printing at a cost. The Daily Grill is a nice moderately priced restaurant attached to the hotel offering American style foods and quick friendly service. In summary, comfortable, but not luxury with a great location and great cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Tix booth less than 2 blocks away at Union Square offering discount theater tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingston
Oct 25, 2008

Great location

We really enjoyed our stay at the Handlery. The location was very convenient to all transportation and shopping. We had breakfast every morning at the restaurant attached which was excellent. Room service was always very quick to respond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost every store you can think of as well as cafe's and bars are within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City
Oct 24, 2008

Handy Hotel

The Handlery Union Square in San Francisco was located on Geary and in a great location for catching the cable car -- handy. It was clean and comfortable at an affordable price. I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a park and major shopping area just down the street. Since the cable cars run just at the end of the block, attractions are only a hop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top