$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maru
Business
San Juan , Puerto Rico
Jun 26, 2009

the best family trip

excellent location, very clos to Powell station, central which facilitated us to walk, ride different atractions, go shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetlagged traveler
Business
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2009

Good location Good Price

The hotel was good for the price. The location was great. It was right in the heart of the city, within walking distance to shopping, China Town, cable cars, and other mass transit. The valet parking was one of the best I have ever had in large cities. The car came within a minute or two of the request. We would defitintely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three day MUNI pass for all above ground mass transportation. Definitely the way to go while in the city.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro NC
Jun 25, 2009

Convenient and Efficient

Walked all over the city. Haight-Ashbury is a bit far, after brunch at 2223 Market Street. But the Ferry Building and even Fisherman's Wharf were within walking distance. Lots of hills between Coit Tower and Lombard Street!! The famous locations were clean and pretty. Market Street below the Tenderloin was not. Lots of homeless folks and questionably mentally ill on streets. Hotel could have recommended shuttle bus from airport rather than BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the brick-oven pizza at Tommaso's, or pick up a picnic breakfast at the Ferry Building/Farmer's Market.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Double 22er
Business
Blue Springs, Missouri
Jun 23, 2009

Great personnel, location, and price.

All aspects were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dress in layers since the weather changes so fast from cool and windy to warm.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crazy scientist
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jun 23, 2009

Good value for your money

This hotel has a 3-star rating and I'd place it to the top of this category. Location could not be better. There is nothing fancy about the room but all the essentials are there. Coffee maker and a fridge are definitely a convenience too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of budget places to eat along the Geary street, to the west from the hotel

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett D
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 18, 2009

GREAT SAN FRANCISCO VACATION

good location...close to BART Station from airport and hub for transportation...helpful concierge services...clean facilities w/accommodating staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nwheel
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 15, 2009

San Francisco 2009

San Francisco is a "been there done that type" of city. We enjoyed our visit. The food was expensive (expected that), but the quality was not what I expected. Lots of Asian food to be found. Dim Sum is an experience. The staff at the Handerly was awesome. We upgraded to the club rooms which was a good idea. TAKE A ROOM ON THE POOL/COURTYARD SIDE. The city side was way too noisy late at night and early morning. They were even willing to change our rooms, but i did not do it. if there on a weekend, go to the ferry building to sample all of the fruits and veggies from the surrounding farms. Biking the golden gate bridge is a must!!! Just a few places that you will have to walk your bike up. Overall an memorable experience.Only if you have a car, go the Cliff House area to see the beach. sunset over the Pacific was an experience for this east coast girl.(the bus fare and time spent on bus is not really worth it.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easton, PA
Jun 14, 2009

a nice getaway

The vacation was terrific. You must take the tours to see everything. The staff was great. Take warmer clothing, it's not that warm in SF in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the muni passport to travel around the city. It will save you on fares.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First Timer in San Francisco
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

Just Okay

I was so very excited to get a Hotel & Airfare package but when I opened my door to the room it was so small that you felt enclosed. The bathroom could only fit on person in at a time. The front desk people were great and treat us very well but the room was not what we expected. The location to go down to Fishermans Wharf was great the Cable car went straight there and the Bart was just down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First Timer in San Francisco
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

Just Okay

I was so very excited to get a Hotel & Airfare package but when I opened my door to the room it was so small that you felt enclosed. The bathroom could only fit on person in at a time. The front desk people were great and treat us very well but the room was not what we expected. The location to go down to Fishermans Wharf was great the Cable car went straight there and the Bart was just down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top