Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingston
Oct 20, 2008

Great location

We were pleasantly surprised with our room. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and were expecting something old fashioned and uncomfortable. However, our room was very bright and cheerful, plenty of room all around. A small refridgerator and coffee maker was provided which was great. I would recommend asking for an inside room to avoid the noise from Union Square. The location was great. The bus and cable car stopped right outside the hotel. The food in the dining room was expensive (but what isn't in San Francisco) but excellent. We would defenitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in the mood to shop there are great stores within a short walking distance.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Lakes
Oct 12, 2008

Great Locarion

My room was described as petite. They told the truth! It was on the tiny size but fine for one occupant. It was clean, quiet, & the hotel well managed. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right off Union Square. There are many eating establishments nearby, & the Muni is readily accessible.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Catharines
Oct 11, 2008

Perfect Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Handlery in Union Square San Francisco. The location was central to everything we needed to do. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and informed. The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The room was spacious for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every type of shop imaginable right on your doorstep.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Oct 10, 2008

Fantastic location ... for everything!

The Handlery Hotel proved to be a great find. Great location, great service - what more could you want for a short stay in San Francisco - everything was on your doorstep; or the transport to it was. Helpful check-in staff, clean, light quiet room at a great rate - I was offered an upgrade from a Petite Double and it was well worth it. Having read some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot fault the helpful services or good sized room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A great location for everything. You can literally fall out of the hotel into Union Square which has great shops but also transport to almost everywhere if Union Square isn't your type of shopping.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangkok
Oct 7, 2008

its closer than you'd think

Great location, it just on the corner of union square, 2 minutes walk from shopping areas. Dont ask for club room on 2nd floor, not practical in using stairs with heavy luggage.Rooms was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

meals all 2 minutes away.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton
Sep 24, 2008

Great Location

This hotel has a great location, and the staff, do a great job in making you feel comfortable, and welcome. I love staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping, and dining in a very short distance.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere
Sep 16, 2008

Well trained staff, nice accommodations, great food!

I had been wanting to try the Handlery for several years now. It was far beyond my expectations which were somewhat high to begin with. When I return to San Francisco on my next visit (and I go often), my stay will be at the Handlery! Clean, well maintained accommodations, well-trained friendly staff, many amenities like higher priced hotels provide, comfortable beds, and the on-premises grill was very good. Best buy in Union Square and downtown San Fran is on your doorstep. Great location! Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mcpherson
Sep 16, 2008

good for big city stay

The Handlery was very cozy European influence. Small but adequate. I would stay in a heart beat again. Lots of places to eat and you get the pulse of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 8 story's of it how awesome can that be.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, *
Sep 4, 2008

Great Location

Our stay at the Handlery in San Francisco was wonderful! The convenience of getting anywhere in the city was at our doorstep. Next door to Lefty O'Douls where there is always something going on, and close to every type of transportation. The staff was very accomadating and helpful. The room was in the corner and I think it was a fairly decent size considering the hotel has been around for awhile. Everything was clean and although the view wasn't great from the window, we spend most of our days touring the city so it didn't matter. Bathroom was old fashioned, but the water was hot and strong, lots of closet space and the extra pillow and blanket were appreciated. I would definately come back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to spend more than one day here, go to the cable car turnaround and buy a 3 day or 7 day Muni pass...this lets you get on any transportation (bus, cable cars, trolley..) a three day cost $18 and a seven day pass cost $24. When you figure it cost $5 to ride the cable car one way...this is a bargain and it offers you many options.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abita Springs
Aug 22, 2008

Pleasant, very centrally located and modern

The Handlery Union Square is right next to Union Square, smack in the middle of downtown. If you are coming on vacation to do lots of tourist stuff and spend little to no time in the room, then this is the place for you because the location is amazing. It has incredible access to all mass transit and nightlife, plus there are loads of 24 hour diners and many, um, colorful locals in the nearby Tenderloin district for you to enjoy. The traditional-style building is nice and somewhat charming but feels ever so slightly run-down. I don't think we were given one of the nicest rooms in the place as it was quite full and we arrived really late. We didn't have a bathtub which was kind of annoying as I really don't like shower stalls but I know they have rooms with tubs so you have to ask at the desk. Overall we got a good night of sleep and it was a good deal so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top