$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wasn't impressec012
Business
Tennessee
Sep 3, 2014

Decent but not all that

Hotel room was extremely small but clean. For us it was good for one night but no more. Parking cost over $50 and we were there less than 24 hours. For anyone not staying in the hotel it cost $15 for 12 hours to park. To top it off the main valet attendant was probably one of the rudest gentlemen we came across. Not sure why he took a job in hospitality! Lobby staff were very pleasant. I probably wouldn't stay here again or recommend it due to small rooms, hidden cost, and the rude valet that left a sour taste for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Colorado traveler
Business
Denver
Sep 1, 2014

Disappointed

We were greeted at the front desk by friendly and efficient Annell. We went to our room and were disappointed to find a very small room with a tiny bathroom. The view was of a brick wall portion of our hotel. I called the desk and asked for an up-grade. For $10 /night we were given a bigger room with a view of the street. This worked out fine. The concierge working on Friday was grumpy and not very helpful. The concierge working Sat. was much nicer and very helpful.sorry I don't remember his name. The location is good. Close to attractions and shopping. Overall, not a bad place to stay, but with so many hotels in the area you could do better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - a few doors down from hotel has good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrispyCritter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2014

friendly staff

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The room service was prompt and tasty. The only serious negative comment involves the "shades". The room was so bright, waking me up at the crack of dawn. There seemed to be no way to darken it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sal0224
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 4, 2014

Good location

Good location but not a great value. We have been to San Francisco many times. The location is close to many attractions but very close to the Tenderloin. Still, we felt pretty safe most of the time. Hotel room was clean - but who designed the sink and vanity across the room from the bathroom? And FYI- they need to reinvest in new hypoallergenic pillows! Daily Grill next door was a plus! Good food and good value! For a short trip I would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs Cabrera
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 31, 2014

Great trip!

With the exception of my first night there, the hotel was very nice. My only complaint is that the staff forgot to start our ac the first night so it never fell below 77 but the next day we mentioned it and it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel later that day. Good location, nice staff, room is a bit small but I didn't come to San Francisco to stay in my room all day and it was on the cheaper end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right beside the hotel is a great restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnCar
Business
Marion AR
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Handlery. The location was perfect for exploring the city. Cable cars and buses were a short walk around the corner -taking us to the wharf and Golden Gate Park. We caught the 38 bus just across the street to get to Land's End walk to stick our toes in the Pacific. The staff was friendly and eager to answer any questions. We enjoyed grabbing a slice of pizza or a pastry to eat in Union Square--a festive locale to end the day. We hope to stay here again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Walk the Lands End Trail in Lincoln Park--breathtaking views !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luther music man
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 22, 2014

Parking

Parking was very expensive, plus tax! There were no wash cloths in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Roof top dancing and cocktails @ Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
San Francisco
Jul 19, 2014

Quick business trip

Perfect spot to get to appointments anywhere in SF, rooms and baths apparently upgraded, much nice than previous trips here. Surprisingly nice restaurant for a bite when the isn't time to go to one of the many top restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind the price tag go to Farallon about 2 blocks - best seafood in SF and totally fabulous, massive jellyfish chandeliers, super wine list, friendly for such a pricey place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy A's fan
Business
Hayward, California
Jul 12, 2014

Ballpark visit

Went to SF for 2 ball games . Great location in Union Square. Cable Cars, shopping, restaurants, theaters all right in front of you. Our room was in the "historic" section of the Hotel, which really meant the older part. That's ok our room overlooked the street, with the square on the corner. 2 blocks from Cable Car turnaround and train service. Took the train to the night game, walked to the day game ( 40 min walk )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doul's has a fun piano bar just two doors down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigfatj
Business
santa rosa
Jul 4, 2014

we do recommend the handlery

great staff great location. rooms could use a bit of an update. nice to take a dip in the outdoor pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top