$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female friends
Mexico city
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions (including shopping, if that's your thing). Spacious room, great staff and the best stay in san francisco! Definitely would stay again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The daily grill restaurant is fab!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ccy.329
Business
Midland
Jan 15, 2015

San Fran Family Trip

Once I got my room my thought is that this is the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed. However, when I saw my friend's room at another hotel on the same street. I would say that the room I stayed is just fine. If you stay at the historic building, you will notice that there is a smell that I do not know how to describe. But I assumed that is a smell of an old building. Then when you enter the room, the cleanliness is good, everything is nicely placed. The room service did not refill any coffee pack and tea for our room after the first night but that was fine by me. After all our room is still nicely kept. The final thing I want to mention is that the elevator seems aged and will bump a little when you reach your floor. It scared me a little when I use it for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a Thai food lover, do stop by at Bachaa Thai as I think they have authentic and the most delicious Thai food I've eaten since I came to the states and their prices are reasonable too. Just turn left when you came out of the hotel cross the traffic light and it is located at the opposite of the road beside shabu shabu and a pizza shop.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

San Francisco experience

The handlers is a classic sf hotel with a great downtown location. The staff is friendly and efficient and the food and atmosphere at the attached resteruant are top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Daily Grill!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
owen
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

ok

That is the value of this money.the only convenient thing is I can walk along that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarPar
Business
London
Dec 29, 2014

Winter stay

The staff were very helpful, and catering was great. The prices were a little expensive for food but the service was great and the quality of food was super. The location of the hotel is superb and the transport locally enables access to any part if SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All major dept stores are nearby.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagoan needing sun
Business
Chicago, illinois
Nov 18, 2014

Please look elsewhere

I'm not quite sure what other reviewers saw in this hotel but please please do not read them. I made the mistake of trusting what others had to stay and found this hotel old, dirty and a waste of money. The staff was less than welcoming or friendly upon check in, the room was dirty and smelled like my grandmothers damp moldy basement. Absolutely horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wasn't impressec012
Business
Tennessee
Sep 3, 2014

Decent but not all that

Hotel room was extremely small but clean. For us it was good for one night but no more. Parking cost over $50 and we were there less than 24 hours. For anyone not staying in the hotel it cost $15 for 12 hours to park. To top it off the main valet attendant was probably one of the rudest gentlemen we came across. Not sure why he took a job in hospitality! Lobby staff were very pleasant. I probably wouldn't stay here again or recommend it due to small rooms, hidden cost, and the rude valet that left a sour taste for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Colorado traveler
Business
Denver
Sep 1, 2014

Disappointed

We were greeted at the front desk by friendly and efficient Annell. We went to our room and were disappointed to find a very small room with a tiny bathroom. The view was of a brick wall portion of our hotel. I called the desk and asked for an up-grade. For $10 /night we were given a bigger room with a view of the street. This worked out fine. The concierge working on Friday was grumpy and not very helpful. The concierge working Sat. was much nicer and very helpful.sorry I don't remember his name. The location is good. Close to attractions and shopping. Overall, not a bad place to stay, but with so many hotels in the area you could do better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - a few doors down from hotel has good food at reasonable prices.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrispyCritter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2014

friendly staff

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The room service was prompt and tasty. The only serious negative comment involves the "shades". The room was so bright, waking me up at the crack of dawn. There seemed to be no way to darken it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sal0224
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 4, 2014

Good location

Good location but not a great value. We have been to San Francisco many times. The location is close to many attractions but very close to the Tenderloin. Still, we felt pretty safe most of the time. Hotel room was clean - but who designed the sink and vanity across the room from the bathroom? And FYI- they need to reinvest in new hypoallergenic pillows! Daily Grill next door was a plus! Good food and good value! For a short trip I would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs Cabrera
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 31, 2014

Great trip!

With the exception of my first night there, the hotel was very nice. My only complaint is that the staff forgot to start our ac the first night so it never fell below 77 but the next day we mentioned it and it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel later that day. Good location, nice staff, room is a bit small but I didn't come to San Francisco to stay in my room all day and it was on the cheaper end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right beside the hotel is a great restaurant

Back to menu Return to top