$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlking40356
Seattle
Oct 23, 2013

Great stay

I stayed here over the weekend while I ran the Nike Women's Marathon. The location was great and so was the service. I really enjoyed the room service because after running a half marathon I didn't feel like going down to get food! The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in and check out was easy. I also expected more noice but was pleasantly surprised at how minimal the noise was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Colorado traveler
Business
Denver
Sep 1, 2014

Disappointed

We were greeted at the front desk by friendly and efficient Annell. We went to our room and were disappointed to find a very small room with a tiny bathroom. The view was of a brick wall portion of our hotel. I called the desk and asked for an up-grade. For $10 /night we were given a bigger room with a view of the street. This worked out fine. The concierge working on Friday was grumpy and not very helpful. The concierge working Sat. was much nicer and very helpful.sorry I don't remember his name. The location is good. Close to attractions and shopping. Overall, not a bad place to stay, but with so many hotels in the area you could do better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - a few doors down from hotel has good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrispyCritter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2014

friendly staff

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The room service was prompt and tasty. The only serious negative comment involves the "shades". The room was so bright, waking me up at the crack of dawn. There seemed to be no way to darken it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sal0224
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 4, 2014

Good location

Good location but not a great value. We have been to San Francisco many times. The location is close to many attractions but very close to the Tenderloin. Still, we felt pretty safe most of the time. Hotel room was clean - but who designed the sink and vanity across the room from the bathroom? And FYI- they need to reinvest in new hypoallergenic pillows! Daily Grill next door was a plus! Good food and good value! For a short trip I would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs Cabrera
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 31, 2014

Great trip!

With the exception of my first night there, the hotel was very nice. My only complaint is that the staff forgot to start our ac the first night so it never fell below 77 but the next day we mentioned it and it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel later that day. Good location, nice staff, room is a bit small but I didn't come to San Francisco to stay in my room all day and it was on the cheaper end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right beside the hotel is a great restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luther music man
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 22, 2014

Parking

Parking was very expensive, plus tax! There were no wash cloths in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Roof top dancing and cocktails @ Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
San Francisco
Jul 19, 2014

Quick business trip

Perfect spot to get to appointments anywhere in SF, rooms and baths apparently upgraded, much nice than previous trips here. Surprisingly nice restaurant for a bite when the isn't time to go to one of the many top restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind the price tag go to Farallon about 2 blocks - best seafood in SF and totally fabulous, massive jellyfish chandeliers, super wine list, friendly for such a pricey place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy A's fan
Business
Hayward, California
Jul 12, 2014

Ballpark visit

Went to SF for 2 ball games . Great location in Union Square. Cable Cars, shopping, restaurants, theaters all right in front of you. Our room was in the "historic" section of the Hotel, which really meant the older part. That's ok our room overlooked the street, with the square on the corner. 2 blocks from Cable Car turnaround and train service. Took the train to the night game, walked to the day game ( 40 min walk )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Doul's has a fun piano bar just two doors down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBM64
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 1, 2014

Legit

Went here with the girlfriend for a small getaway vaca and it was nice plane was nice well kept expensive but good value a little pricy would be my only comment would recommend it for its features and benefits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjaimes
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Good Value

Good value in the heart of Union Square. Very close to many great restaurants and other points of interest. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritC0000
Business
los angeles, ca
Apr 21, 2014

Great Location

Great for our time spent there. Small rooms but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top