Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

San Francisco experience

The handlers is a classic sf hotel with a great downtown location. The staff is friendly and efficient and the food and atmosphere at the attached resteruant are top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Daily Grill!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
owen
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

ok

That is the value of this money.the only convenient thing is I can walk along that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarPar
Business
London
Dec 29, 2014

Winter stay

The staff were very helpful, and catering was great. The prices were a little expensive for food but the service was great and the quality of food was super. The location of the hotel is superb and the transport locally enables access to any part if SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All major dept stores are nearby.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagoan needing sun
Business
Chicago, illinois
Nov 18, 2014

Please look elsewhere

I'm not quite sure what other reviewers saw in this hotel but please please do not read them. I made the mistake of trusting what others had to stay and found this hotel old, dirty and a waste of money. The staff was less than welcoming or friendly upon check in, the room was dirty and smelled like my grandmothers damp moldy basement. Absolutely horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wasn't impressec012
Business
Tennessee
Sep 3, 2014

Decent but not all that

Hotel room was extremely small but clean. For us it was good for one night but no more. Parking cost over $50 and we were there less than 24 hours. For anyone not staying in the hotel it cost $15 for 12 hours to park. To top it off the main valet attendant was probably one of the rudest gentlemen we came across. Not sure why he took a job in hospitality! Lobby staff were very pleasant. I probably wouldn't stay here again or recommend it due to small rooms, hidden cost, and the rude valet that left a sour taste for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Colorado traveler
Business
Denver
Sep 1, 2014

Disappointed

We were greeted at the front desk by friendly and efficient Annell. We went to our room and were disappointed to find a very small room with a tiny bathroom. The view was of a brick wall portion of our hotel. I called the desk and asked for an up-grade. For $10 /night we were given a bigger room with a view of the street. This worked out fine. The concierge working on Friday was grumpy and not very helpful. The concierge working Sat. was much nicer and very helpful.sorry I don't remember his name. The location is good. Close to attractions and shopping. Overall, not a bad place to stay, but with so many hotels in the area you could do better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - a few doors down from hotel has good food at reasonable prices.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrispyCritter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2014

friendly staff

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. The room service was prompt and tasty. The only serious negative comment involves the "shades". The room was so bright, waking me up at the crack of dawn. There seemed to be no way to darken it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sal0224
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 4, 2014

Good location

Good location but not a great value. We have been to San Francisco many times. The location is close to many attractions but very close to the Tenderloin. Still, we felt pretty safe most of the time. Hotel room was clean - but who designed the sink and vanity across the room from the bathroom? And FYI- they need to reinvest in new hypoallergenic pillows! Daily Grill next door was a plus! Good food and good value! For a short trip I would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs Cabrera
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 31, 2014

Great trip!

With the exception of my first night there, the hotel was very nice. My only complaint is that the staff forgot to start our ac the first night so it never fell below 77 but the next day we mentioned it and it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel later that day. Good location, nice staff, room is a bit small but I didn't come to San Francisco to stay in my room all day and it was on the cheaper end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right beside the hotel is a great restaurant

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnCar
Business
Marion AR
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Handlery. The location was perfect for exploring the city. Cable cars and buses were a short walk around the corner -taking us to the wharf and Golden Gate Park. We caught the 38 bus just across the street to get to Land's End walk to stick our toes in the Pacific. The staff was friendly and eager to answer any questions. We enjoyed grabbing a slice of pizza or a pastry to eat in Union Square--a festive locale to end the day. We hope to stay here again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Walk the Lands End Trail in Lincoln Park--breathtaking views !!

Back to menu Return to top