$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Oswego, OR
Oct 25, 2009

Review of Handlery Union Square

The proximity of the hotel to Union Square made it the ideal location for participants of the Nike Women's Marathon and Half-marathon. The room was very clean and the staff extremely accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cycling Crazies
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 22, 2009

Nike Woman's Marathon and a great Hotel

My wife ran the Nike Women's Half Marathon. We stayed at the Handlery two years ago and found it to be a great place to stay at a reasonable price. We really like the location, convenient for the race start and in the middle of the action. Handlery staff was great and our room, on both visits was clean and in a quiet part of the hotel. We will stay there again when we return to San Fransisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon City, Or
Oct 20, 2009

Great Union Square location.

Eveything went great, room was ready before check in time, they allowed us to get in early. I was there for the Nike womens Marathon...perfect location for the race, start line just a block down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rohnert park ca
Oct 19, 2009

Hotel great, parking the worst

Location was really good, parking lot attendents RUDE and wanted to charge me $3.00 for every 20 minutes that my car was there. All I wanted to do was check in and take my luggage up to my room and they wanted to charge me for leaving my car there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runs With Dogs
Business
Redlands, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Handlery Union Square - Good Value

Good experience, Hotel has outstanding location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 15, 2009

Disappointing Experience

The room was unclean in that there was an empty 6 pack of beer on the Armoir and the TV did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDOTRAVEL
Business
Arkansas
Oct 6, 2009

Great Location!

Concierge was excellent! The hotel was adjacent to great shopping, good food, art and theater, easy access to transportation and within walking distance of many sites including China Town. It would have been nice to have some amenities like newspaper in the morning and coffee in the lobby. Maintenance/cleaning staff were friendly and did their job well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ginatheraine
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 5, 2009

Good location, fair accommodations

It's an older European style hotel, very quaint but the walls were paper thin (could hear the neighbor's conversation without trying to). The staff was wonderful. Excellent location. Definitely a 3-star rating. Elevators were painfully slow! Very pricey to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to everything!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ginatheraine
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 5, 2009

Good location, fair accommodations

It's an older European style hotel, very quaint but the walls were paper thin (could hear the neighbor's conversation without trying to). The staff was wonderful. Excellent location. Definitely a 3-star rating. Elevators were painfully slow! Very pricey to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to everything!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
outsidelander
Business
new york
Oct 2, 2009

san fran festival pit stop

The hotel was pleasent, comfortable, and accessable. Although the breakfast was expensive it was easily the best around. All together it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top