$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cycling Crazies
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 22, 2009

Nike Woman's Marathon and a great Hotel

My wife ran the Nike Women's Half Marathon. We stayed at the Handlery two years ago and found it to be a great place to stay at a reasonable price. We really like the location, convenient for the race start and in the middle of the action. Handlery staff was great and our room, on both visits was clean and in a quiet part of the hotel. We will stay there again when we return to San Fransisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon City, Or
Oct 20, 2009

Great Union Square location.

Eveything went great, room was ready before check in time, they allowed us to get in early. I was there for the Nike womens Marathon...perfect location for the race, start line just a block down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rohnert park ca
Oct 19, 2009

Hotel great, parking the worst

Location was really good, parking lot attendents RUDE and wanted to charge me $3.00 for every 20 minutes that my car was there. All I wanted to do was check in and take my luggage up to my room and they wanted to charge me for leaving my car there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runs With Dogs
Business
Redlands, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Handlery Union Square - Good Value

Good experience, Hotel has outstanding location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 15, 2009

Disappointing Experience

The room was unclean in that there was an empty 6 pack of beer on the Armoir and the TV did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDOTRAVEL
Business
Arkansas
Oct 6, 2009

Great Location!

Concierge was excellent! The hotel was adjacent to great shopping, good food, art and theater, easy access to transportation and within walking distance of many sites including China Town. It would have been nice to have some amenities like newspaper in the morning and coffee in the lobby. Maintenance/cleaning staff were friendly and did their job well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ginatheraine
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 5, 2009

Good location, fair accommodations

It's an older European style hotel, very quaint but the walls were paper thin (could hear the neighbor's conversation without trying to). The staff was wonderful. Excellent location. Definitely a 3-star rating. Elevators were painfully slow! Very pricey to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
outsidelander
Business
new york
Oct 2, 2009

san fran festival pit stop

The hotel was pleasent, comfortable, and accessable. Although the breakfast was expensive it was easily the best around. All together it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
harried traveler
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 26, 2009

Great location

The desk and conciege were great and helpful. The room was very noisy - it was almost as if there was no glass in the windows. Lots of homeless people on the street in front. Great location, place was clean. Beds uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

City Grill restaurant was outstanding - service great, food good, nice ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yorker that loves San Francisco!
Business
New York City
Sep 24, 2009

Handlery in Union Square a great hotel!

Really loved this hotel. We stayed here the last time we were in San Francisco. We really loved the pool again! Hardly anyone used it and we had it mostly to ourselves. l liked being on the O'Farrell street side of the hotel this time. (Last time we were on the Geary street side) Our room windows looked down towards Market Street and made for a very entertaining view. If I had any negative thoughts about the Handlery, it would be that I wish they had better television sets in the room. Overall, an excellent hotel that I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a new cupcake place on O'Farrell street steps away and across the street (going towards Powell) that is called: CAKO'S. Oh my God, they have the most delicious cupcakes! Make sure you try them! They're REALLY good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top