$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 23, 2007

Great Location

The best thing about this hotel was the location. It is 1/2 a block off of union square, near the street car and market street. A great place to explore from. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was very very small and needed new tiles on the shower floor. Musty smell, when I first got there, had me worried, but turned on the a/c before going out, and smell was gone by the time I got back. All and all very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The lines for the streetcar are long, and you can't always get on at later stops, but it really is something everyone should do atleast once.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pas1
Business
San Francisco
Jul 23, 2009

Handlery Hotel - Union Square

Excellent location in Union Square. Close to everything including mass transit. Hotel staff were very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel located very close to some great restaurants in the Union Square area.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 2, 2008

Great location

The Handlery Hotel has a great location in Union Square, close to shopping and transportation. The cable cars stop a half block away and major bus routes within a few blocks. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The hotel itself can use an update, though it was very clean. The bathroom was very small, but again, clean. There is a small business center offering internet and printing at a cost. The Daily Grill is a nice moderately priced restaurant attached to the hotel offering American style foods and quick friendly service. In summary, comfortable, but not luxury with a great location and great cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Tix booth less than 2 blocks away at Union Square offering discount theater tickets.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis Indiana
Jun 7, 2009

Location is perfect for getting around

Over all I enjoyed the hotel. they bent over backwards to acoomodate us. the facility was old but well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDOTRAVEL
Business
Arkansas
Oct 6, 2009

Great Location!

Concierge was excellent! The hotel was adjacent to great shopping, good food, art and theater, easy access to transportation and within walking distance of many sites including China Town. It would have been nice to have some amenities like newspaper in the morning and coffee in the lobby. Maintenance/cleaning staff were friendly and did their job well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abita Springs
Aug 22, 2008

Pleasant, very centrally located and modern

The Handlery Union Square is right next to Union Square, smack in the middle of downtown. If you are coming on vacation to do lots of tourist stuff and spend little to no time in the room, then this is the place for you because the location is amazing. It has incredible access to all mass transit and nightlife, plus there are loads of 24 hour diners and many, um, colorful locals in the nearby Tenderloin district for you to enjoy. The traditional-style building is nice and somewhat charming but feels ever so slightly run-down. I don't think we were given one of the nicest rooms in the place as it was quite full and we arrived really late. We didn't have a bathtub which was kind of annoying as I really don't like shower stalls but I know they have rooms with tubs so you have to ask at the desk. Overall we got a good night of sleep and it was a good deal so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2008

Great Location

The first room we were checked into was to small for the 4 of us, we were put in what they call the Colonial area which was very dingy no views out of the windows and had an awefull odour down the halls. We were showed another room by the pool area for a 50.00 upgrade that was just a little larger then the room we had with a tiny balcony. Later that evening somemore family members arrived and the fellow that brought their luggage to the room, told me he would show me a real nice room for only 30.00 a day upgrade. We switched we were ground level across from the pool we had a large room and bathroom with 2 queen beds well worth the 30.00. i guess it depends on who you talk to. Most of the staff were very freindly and helpfull with directions.The location was great right in the heart of the city, although the next time i go to San Fransisco i would probally stay in the Fishermans Wharf area. The bus system was very good for getting us around and cheap.We were there for a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cycling Crazies
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 22, 2009

Nike Woman's Marathon and a great Hotel

My wife ran the Nike Women's Half Marathon. We stayed at the Handlery two years ago and found it to be a great place to stay at a reasonable price. We really like the location, convenient for the race start and in the middle of the action. Handlery staff was great and our room, on both visits was clean and in a quiet part of the hotel. We will stay there again when we return to San Fransisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 12, 2010

Clean and Friendly

Good location, friendly staff, room in the historic section was new and clean, spotless bathroom. Ergonomic desk chair and useable desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 7, 2008

Great location

This hotel offered a great location in Union Square to ALL KINDS of shopping and dining, and was a block away from mass transit to the piers and ballpark. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was small, and unfortunately the bedspread/carpet were stained. We liked the hotel restaurant. This was obviously an older hotel, but it definitely served our purpose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Westfield mall is a block away, located next to the mass transit. Awesome shopping is also located just beyond Union square. Every street you turn, you will find a great place to spend your money!

Back to menu Return to top