$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debitahut
Business
san diego, ca
May 2, 2009

great location

The hotel was in a great location. Beds were very comfortable but the room was much smaller than expected. The photos online show a room with table and chairs that bore no resemblance to the one we had. We had one small chair in between the 2 beds which was in an awkward place. The bathroom is tiny, no bath tub, just a shower. The sink is outside the bathroom in the actual room. There was hardly any space to put out your toiletries. It is an older hotel and some of the furniture looked a little old. That said it was in a great location. We walked from the BART station which we took from the airport for a bargain $5.35 each. Also the staff were lovely. Arrived 5 hours before check in and we got our room straight away. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are on a budget the Westfield Shopping Center at the bottom of Powell St had several food halls that had a great variety. There is a Thai restaurant there that had a line every night because the food was great. Ate there 3 times in 4 nights. Something in the food hall for everyone. Also a Bristol Farms in there that we got our fruit from daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie Walk Alot
Business
Kirkland, WA
Jul 12, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

If you want to stay downtown the Handlery Union Square Hotel is a great pick. I traveled with my sister and she thought it was the nicest hotel she had ever stayed in. The service at the hotel was amazing. We were up-graded to a larger room with out making a request and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The location was also good. Close to the cable cars, BART, shopping, good restaurants and the Chinatown Gateway. I have stayed in San Francisco five times previous to this trip and have always stayed at Fisherman's Wharf but I definitely prefer the amenities at this downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from the airport to this hotel. The BART was very user friendly and economical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt and Beth
Business
Cornelius, NC
Jun 3, 2009

San Fran

The only problem was the air condition went out but they quickly relocated us to another room. Very nice people and very helpful. Can't wait to come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daily grill was great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London UK
Jul 30, 2009

Great hotel in great location

Really good all round - excellent location for sightseeing etc. Also close to some groovy bars. Hotel staff polite and friendly and good value for money - definitely worth staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gold Dust bar - live music every night, great to meet people. The Edinburgh Castle - really great pub. The Hemlock Tavern - a groovy dive bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brea, CA
Dec 20, 2010

Handlery Union Square opinion

Staff was friendly, room was very clean and newly redone. We had 2 double beds, they were really comfy with down comforters and pillows that actually stayed fairly plump when you put your head on them. The room had a small fridge, large screen tv, thermostat to adjust the heat, really all we needed. The bathroom was nothing special, but clean, great hot water in the shower. We were not on the Geary street side, but faced the inner back so did not have SF street noise all night. Last year we stayed at the Hilton - I don't believe that room was much bigger and the Handlery has much more character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Bart, Market Street and the Westfield mall and right by Macys. Eat at John's Grill on Ellis St for great steak and lamb. Not cheap, but tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Nov 12, 2010

As advertised

Quick check-in. I got the room I paid for. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was like new. The business center charges to use their computers. Great location if you're a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 29, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

We loved our room, the bath robes, the pool, the quiet side of the hotel, the location could not be beat. But the staff was clueless about everything we would ask about like: how do we get to the CalTrain. What's the schedule for the train? Where can we find a specific item around Union Square (So we wouldn't waste time walking around looking for the item). It seemed like everytime we asked the front desk a question they were clueless about the answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Half Price Tickets was across the street on Union Square. They were awesome and got us great seats to see Wicked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trvlgrl
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was in a really great location in the heart of union square. There are lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. I suggest that you ask for a room facing the inside of the hotel if you prefer quiet nights. The first night I had a room facing the street, and it was incredibly noisy so it was difficult to sleep. The staff was very accommodating in moving my belongings to a new room that was much quieter and bigger than the first room for the next night. Overall, very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 2, 2011

Great locatio!

Great location! Hotel is nice. Beds are not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend the tour buses, it saves you time , you see everything and you can hop on and hop off at any time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 25, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

We were diappointed in the room location(looked out at a vent in the middle of the hotel),rooms were tiny for the price you pay.The staff were very pleasant and rooms were clean. Dispite the nice staff and the clean room the I would have a hard time recommending this place to friends because of the size of the rooms and no view to speak of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fishermans Warf is great by cable car or a long walk with a good workout!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top