$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evanthas
Single
Houston Texas
Jul 3, 2009

in the Heart Of San Fran

I was late getting into San Fransisco. The Staff of The Handerly was effecient and professional. I had plenty of extra turn around time to go explore San Fransisco. The staff also helped me learn the mini system which is just down the street @ Market and Powell. Cable cars run near the Hotel. And There are street performers at night. But There is also The Gold Dust and Lefty Odouls for live music right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a mini card/pass. They are good for most if not all public transit, buses, cable cars, trolleys, in the city. And remember mini is not BART.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Denver, co
Sep 28, 2010

great location, very helpful staff

Very helpful, courteous staff. Fabulous location. An older hotel, so the room was a bit noisy, although very clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to dining, theatre, cable cars, bus tours, Muni.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maye mom
Couples
Mexico City
Aug 4, 2009

Good experience

We like it, even though the service could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

kuletos restaurant

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loal
Business
Wichita, KS
Sep 23, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

This hotel has two sections. We stayed in the premier, upgrade area, I would hate to see the standard. We had no dresser or chest to store clothing, and for the upgrade charge, the room was very small. The location is very desirable, with a close proimity to the cable car, street car line, metro, and BART. Greet shopping and dining is close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Barney's, Nordstrom, NM, Gucci, Etal...

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kansas
Jul 21, 2009

Wonderful Hotel

We were able to get to any place from this hotel. This hotel is located in just the right place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dallas, TX
Jul 7, 2007

good location

THE HANDERLY UNION SQUARE WAS A GREAT LOCATION, THE EMPLOYEES WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. THE ROOM WAS SMALL, EVEN WHEN YOU ARE OUT SIGHT-SEEING AND ONLY COME IN FOR THE NIGHT, IT WAS A TIGHT SQUEEZE FOR TWO PEOPLE. WE HAD TO ROTATE TO GET AROUND THE ROOM AND BATH. EVEN THOUGH THE ROOM WAS KEPT CLEAN, THE FURNITURE AND CARPET WERE DISGUSTING... STAINED AND DIRTY. MY ONLY REAL COMPLAINT ABOUT THE HOTEL IS SIMPLY TOO MUCH NOISE. WE WERE ON GEARY ST OVER LOOKING THE USUAL NOISE, THERE HAPPENED TO BE DRUMMER WHO PLAYED EVERY NIGHT (ON INTO THE NIGHT....STARTED TO SOUND LIKE THE SAME TUNE EVERY NIGHT.) PLUS, THE CITY NEVER SLEEPS THERE WAS A CONSTANT BANGING FROM THE DELIVERIES BEING MADE FOR THE NEXT DAY TO THE OTHER BUSINESSES ALONG THE STREET. MY ADVICE IS ASK FOR A ROOM WITH NO NOISE, IF THAT IS POSSIBLE. OTHERWISE, OUR STAY IN THE CITY WAS WONDERFUL. HOWEVER, I WOULD HESITATE TO RECOMMENT THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS OR FAMILY....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

O'DOULES BAR AND EATERY NEXT DOOR. GOOD FOOD, MUSIC AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE. WE HAD BREAKFAST (GOOD) AND LATE SNACK WITH DRINKS.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
florida
Aug 3, 2009

great location for shopping and sightsee

Very friendly and helpful staff, with a great l;ocation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2008

Nice option

The Handlery Union Square was a very good option for this area in San Francisco, where hotels tend to be quite a bit more expensive for few more advantages. The staff were excellent, the attached restaurant, The Daily Grill, served very good pub and American-style food. I have to say, though, that the room felt a little threadbare and dated. It could have used more electrical outlets conveniently located for charging my laptop and cell phone. I also hate having to pay an extra fee for wireless access and only having that access for a handful of hours. There is no excuse not to have free wireless at hotels anymore. It's not difficult or expensive to do. All in all, it was a pretty good experience, but the Handlery is probably better suited to leisure travelers than business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2008

good location

The Handlery Union Square was well located, within easy walking distance to fine restaurants and shopping. There was a cable car stop at the corner and what's a trip to San Francisco without riding the cable car at least once? While our room was very small, we hadn't intended to spend a lot of time there anyway, our bathroom was large and obviously remodeled in the recent past. Nice pool area and easy access to parking garage. Every staff member we encountered from the front desk to the parking attendant was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A drink...or two at Bourbon and Branch is a unique experience for anyone who appreciates a well-made cocktail in a quiet, elegant atmosphere. Great place to unwind.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangkok
Oct 7, 2008

its closer than you'd think

Great location, it just on the corner of union square, 2 minutes walk from shopping areas. Dont ask for club room on 2nd floor, not practical in using stairs with heavy luggage.Rooms was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

meals all 2 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top