Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vince Malum Bono
Arlington, TX
Jun 16, 2012

Very pleased!

First time staying at this hotel and second time visiting San Fran. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The only thing that wasnt perfect was the bed. It was stiff and provided moderate discomfort upon awakening, but that was overshadowed by this great city, great location within the city, and the great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, Ohio
Apr 28, 2010

Great Hotel in Great Location

I wanted a class, clean, reasonably priced hotel within easy walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown. This was it! In addition, it had a very nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a fine hotel in a great location.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cuvee
Business
napa
Apr 27, 2010

great place,in the heart of sf

we walked to all the shops,saw a movie at the meteron.great location.it was nice eating at the daily grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 8, 2010

Great Location, Good Boutique Hotel

Stayed here New Year's Eve... great location steps from Union Square. Check in and check out were great. Parking is a little inconvenient as you have to drive around the block to get to the garage entrance in back (cost $43 for 24 hrs). Smallest room I've ever stayed in and I've travelled alot but very nice furniture, linens, large television. Not too loud for NYE in regards to crowd or drunk noise but the sirens from emergency vehicle were so loud all night I felt like I was sleeping on the sidewalk or at least in a room with no walls or windows. If you are a stay in the room type person then this is not the hotel as the rooms are small especially the double bed rooms. If you are going to see and enjoy San Francisco it is a great hotel, excellent location, comfy bed, excellent staff at a great price. Oh but very very small, very very slow elevators and there are only two of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diane Albert
Business
South San Francisco
Dec 15, 2009

Genentech Holiday Party Accommodations

Apart from an intermittently operational toilet in room 545 the hotel was nice, if quirky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yankeegirl
Business
New York City
Nov 28, 2009

Great location. Great price.

This was our first visit to SF, and we went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary over the July 4th holiday. It was an outstanding trip. We did all the typical tourist things, and enjoyed every minute of our stay in SF and at The Handlery. I can't emphasize enough how perfectly located this hotel is. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is centrally located not only to all the upscale shops, but more important, it is a short walk to all modes of transportation. All attractions are accessible via public transportation, and this city's public transportation system is great. If you have the time, take BART out to Berkeley and walk around. Beautiful campus, lots of interesting little shops.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel for the price!

Our stay at the Handlery was great. The room was huge, the beds were comfortable, and we even had a complimentary gift basket and bottle of wine in our room for booking with [...]. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is located right around the corner from where our conference was held, for less than half the price. We will definitely stay at the Handlery for all future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nike Marathoner
Business
Albany, Oregon
Nov 16, 2009

Perfect Place to Stay in San Francisco

Everyone at the Handlery provided excellent service from the front desk to the bell men. We had a few requests the week before we arrived and they went above and beyond to meet them. The restaurant next door, The Daily Grill, was also a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staatsburg,
Nov 2, 2009

Nice, clean and next to all action

I was there for the JCAHPO meeting. The Hotel was nice, clean and conveniently located. The room was clean but with old furnishings and I couldn't adjust the temperature. I missed the free WIFI that was available in the rest of the area hotels ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a short distance away...great shops!!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
simsdad
Business
Alberta, Canada
Oct 27, 2009

Great location, tiny room

Very small room, but it was fine for just one person. Would have been a bit claustrophobic if my wife had been along. Great location; walking distance to many things, including Moscone Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galway, Ireland
Oct 26, 2009

October 2009

Good visit, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top