$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amom
Alameda, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Shopping Trip

This is our third year into the city for Christmas shopping and fun and by far the best. The location and ease of parking is the big draw. And the fact that the staff is very helpful and friendly. You are 1/2 block off Union Square which really helps with the noise level. Anything on Union Square can be really loud. We will definitely be back next year! It's an older hotel but it has been remodeled. Our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYers on Holiday
Business
New York, NY
Sep 19, 2010

Good enough, great parking

A problem-free place to stay while seeing the area. The garage staff are wonderful about quickly retreiving & receiving your car, so you can come and go as you like. We always tipped because they were so efficient and pleasant. The hotel layout is rather odd, and not all elevators serve all wings of the hotel, so it was a convoluted walk to our room, but no big hardship. The outdoor pool looks attractive, if weather permits. Clean and perfectly adequate, although not charming or a standout, but a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Worth walking a few extra blocks up Geary street to explore diner, restaurant, cafe, & bar options beyond those immediately adjacent to hotel. Recommended: Mango Cafe. Looks cool: Grand Cafe. Both on Geary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yombe
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 7, 2010

Charming, Clean, Well-Situated Hotel

I had a room billed as "petite," which worried me a bit until I saw the room. For one person, even a couple, it was more than adequate: a desk, comfortable bed, large clothes closet, modern bathroom. The room was spotless, and my bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel was air conditioned, but I preferred opening the windows. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Xanadau Gallery (on Maiden Lane) is an ethnographic art/jewelry gallery housed in a Frank Lloyd Wright building. Even if you're not interested in the type of museum-quality works they offer (Pre-Columbian, Indian, African, etc.), a visit to see the building is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Folsom
Sep 7, 2010

San Francisco getaway

Great location to union square, staff great, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
Business
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
Business
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xSF Local
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 13, 2010

Not for Business travelers

Good hotel, great location, but seems to be filled with families on vacation. That in itself is not an issue because the hotel is quiet. However, some important amenities for a business traveler are lacking - internet access. My room had a non-functional internet access. Even at their business center, which supposedly had the strongest connection, it was too slow and unreliable to hold a web conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 8, 2010

Great hotel in the heart of San Fran.

We had a great time in San Francisco, thanks in part to having a great home base at the Handlery Hotel, located just off Union Square. The staff was super helpful and responded promptly to all of our needs, despite being very busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For great Indian food, try the New Delhi Restaurant, not far from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 29, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

We loved our room, the bath robes, the pool, the quiet side of the hotel, the location could not be beat. But the staff was clueless about everything we would ask about like: how do we get to the CalTrain. What's the schedule for the train? Where can we find a specific item around Union Square (So we wouldn't waste time walking around looking for the item). It seemed like everytime we asked the front desk a question they were clueless about the answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Half Price Tickets was across the street on Union Square. They were awesome and got us great seats to see Wicked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glasgow, UK
Jun 15, 2010

Not worth the money...

Was not worth the amount paid. Could have been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 12, 2010

Clean and Friendly

Good location, friendly staff, room in the historic section was new and clean, spotless bathroom. Ergonomic desk chair and useable desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top