$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regular1
Business
North Dakota
Jun 7, 2010

Great Location for a Girls Night Out!

This was a great location to shopping, restaurants, and to great night life! The rooms were nice and it was great to have a pool to relax at! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls From the Sticks
Business
Forest Lake, MN
May 18, 2010

Friendly staff and great beds!

We were able to easily access all forms of public transportation. We had a 6th floor room that overlooked two cross streets, with a noisy Irish pub below and street noise. We actually enjoyed the street life, and since it was a bit noisy into the week hours, the sounds seemed to blend and we had no problems sleeping. On the flip side, there were also quiet rooms in the center of the hotel had we decided it was too much. It just made us feel like we were part of the cityscape and the view couldn't have been better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A bus pass on the Muni system is probably your best bet for getting around the city fairly quickly. Be prepared for packed buses and standing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regular customer
Business
San Diego CA
May 11, 2010

Great location for the price

I always stay here in San Francisco - the location is on Union Square adjacent to public transit and the cable cars and extremely walkable with lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful without being too obtrusive. Room service is efficient and reasonable. The restaurant - the Daily Grill - is good, but very busy. The older part of the hotel has just been refurbished with new paint and furniture and the beds have been upgraded. Considering the busy location, rooms with peace and quiet are available, even with the windows open. The fact that the windows do open is a big plus. I stay here at least twice a year and wouldn't consider anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If dining at the Daily Grill, try to eat early or late - there is a long wait at the conventional dinner hour, but you can call down to get on the list and the restaurant will call you in your room when they are ready for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, Ohio
Apr 28, 2010

Great Hotel in Great Location

I wanted a class, clean, reasonably priced hotel within easy walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown. This was it! In addition, it had a very nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a fine hotel in a great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cuvee
Business
napa
Apr 27, 2010

great place,in the heart of sf

we walked to all the shops,saw a movie at the meteron.great location.it was nice eating at the daily grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maimeo
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 25, 2010

"Central but not up to standard"

Travelled to San Fran for a couple a days in between a trip to Vegas. I found the hotel rooms very small and they were a bit on the shabby side. Could have done with an overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory shop which is situated just around the corner on the top floor of Macys - not to be missed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 8, 2010

Great Location, Good Boutique Hotel

Stayed here New Year's Eve... great location steps from Union Square. Check in and check out were great. Parking is a little inconvenient as you have to drive around the block to get to the garage entrance in back (cost $43 for 24 hrs). Smallest room I've ever stayed in and I've travelled alot but very nice furniture, linens, large television. Not too loud for NYE in regards to crowd or drunk noise but the sirens from emergency vehicle were so loud all night I felt like I was sleeping on the sidewalk or at least in a room with no walls or windows. If you are a stay in the room type person then this is not the hotel as the rooms are small especially the double bed rooms. If you are going to see and enjoy San Francisco it is a great hotel, excellent location, comfy bed, excellent staff at a great price. Oh but very very small, very very slow elevators and there are only two of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diane Albert
Business
South San Francisco
Dec 15, 2009

Genentech Holiday Party Accommodations

Apart from an intermittently operational toilet in room 545 the hotel was nice, if quirky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yankeegirl
Business
New York City
Nov 28, 2009

Great location. Great price.

This was our first visit to SF, and we went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary over the July 4th holiday. It was an outstanding trip. We did all the typical tourist things, and enjoyed every minute of our stay in SF and at The Handlery. I can't emphasize enough how perfectly located this hotel is. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is centrally located not only to all the upscale shops, but more important, it is a short walk to all modes of transportation. All attractions are accessible via public transportation, and this city's public transportation system is great. If you have the time, take BART out to Berkeley and walk around. Beautiful campus, lots of interesting little shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel for the price!

Our stay at the Handlery was great. The room was huge, the beds were comfortable, and we even had a complimentary gift basket and bottle of wine in our room for booking with [...]. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is located right around the corner from where our conference was held, for less than half the price. We will definitely stay at the Handlery for all future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top