$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
542 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Nov 12, 2010

As advertised

Quick check-in. I got the room I paid for. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was like new. The business center charges to use their computers. Great location if you're a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Nov 12, 2010

As advertised

Quick check-in. I got the room I paid for. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was like new. The business center charges to use their computers. Great location if you're a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disgruntled Half-marathon runner
San Francisco, CA
Nov 10, 2010

serious disapointment

When we first checked in, I received the parking slip for $39 and just figured it was a part of the price I paid online. That it would have included at least on parking for the night. When I spoke to the Front Desk Attendants, they were very rude, had a pompous attitude, and said that it was not covered and it will be charged to the credit card on file. I asked him to check that it was or was not covered on my payment for the room and they confirmed it was not. I told him I was very disappointed, he responded to me saying he could get my car from the lot and I could park across the street for $50…... REALLY? I responded with "that's ok, it's already parked, we can leave it there." Once we went up to the room we opened the door and saw two queen beds, a desk, a dresser, and a night stand stuffed into a room that was about 13' wide by 20' long the most. The bathroom was almost too small for one person let alone two people trying to get ready (we had five people that night) and there was only a shower stall and no tub. They did allow a roll away bed and it barely fit but caused up to block the only walkway in the room. Thankfully, there was not a fire or we might have had issues getting out. Our view from our window as we opened it up was of a brick wall surrounding all four sides. The only nice thing about the room was the updated décor. They had new furniture and a new 30"ish flat screen TV. I would not recommend this room to anyone. They have a heated pool but it closes at 8:30 and no spa. Parking for the hotel is at the rear of the building, which is not that big of a deal but the door attendant when we first pulled up told us the parking was up the street two blocks after the first left….Which is was not. It was just around the corner. For the $200 or so out the door, not including parking I would have stayed at a dozen other well-known establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disgruntled Half-marathon runner
San Francisco, CA
Nov 10, 2010

serious disapointment

When we first checked in, I received the parking slip for $39 and just figured it was a part of the price I paid online. That it would have included at least on parking for the night. When I spoke to the Front Desk Attendants, they were very rude, had a pompous attitude, and said that it was not covered and it will be charged to the credit card on file. I asked him to check that it was or was not covered on my payment for the room and they confirmed it was not. I told him I was very disappointed, he responded to me saying he could get my car from the lot and I could park across the street for $50…... REALLY? I responded with "that's ok, it's already parked, we can leave it there." Once we went up to the room we opened the door and saw two queen beds, a desk, a dresser, and a night stand stuffed into a room that was about 13' wide by 20' long the most. The bathroom was almost too small for one person let alone two people trying to get ready (we had five people that night) and there was only a shower stall and no tub. They did allow a roll away bed and it barely fit but caused up to block the only walkway in the room. Thankfully, there was not a fire or we might have had issues getting out. Our view from our window as we opened it up was of a brick wall surrounding all four sides. The only nice thing about the room was the updated décor. They had new furniture and a new 30"ish flat screen TV. I would not recommend this room to anyone. They have a heated pool but it closes at 8:30 and no spa. Parking for the hotel is at the rear of the building, which is not that big of a deal but the door attendant when we first pulled up told us the parking was up the street two blocks after the first left….Which is was not. It was just around the corner. For the $200 or so out the door, not including parking I would have stayed at a dozen other well-known establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Nov 9, 2010

The Handlery San Francisco

Very large comfortable room with lots of space and even a small balcony, a rarity in San Francisco. The bed was comfy; the linens were lovely. The location is ideal as well, convenient to Union Square, theaters, and the Bart. The only thing missing was a happy hour offered by many similiar hotels in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties for breakfast

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Nov 9, 2010

The Handlery San Francisco

Very large comfortable room with lots of space and even a small balcony, a rarity in San Francisco. The bed was comfy; the linens were lovely. The location is ideal as well, convenient to Union Square, theaters, and the Bart. The only thing missing was a happy hour offered by many similiar hotels in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties for breakfast

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Nov 8, 2010

Handlery - Great location, old.

Location is terrific -- across the street from the St. Regis on Union Square. The hotel has two sections -- the old (100 years) and the newer (1960s). I was in the older section. It was nicely appointed with a seating area, desk, good queen bed, fridge, big screen TV. The room was large with several windows that actually opened. This was good because there was a pervasive smell in the hallway -- probably from the AC. I would stay here again -- the smell seemed to diffuse after a day or so. Frankly, I didn't mention it so I have no idea if this is usual or what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is one block away. Ask the desk for the 15% discount coupons.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sexy lean guy
TEXAS
Nov 8, 2010

Great LOCATION! NO WIRELESS!!!

I much rather stay at a chain hotel. While the accomadations Were acceptable the shoWers Were TINY, like for little people and I'm only 5'9" and very lean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks and diners on every block, plus cheesecake factory and macy's, etc.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Nov 8, 2010

Handlery - Great location, old.

Location is terrific -- across the street from the St. Regis on Union Square. The hotel has two sections -- the old (100 years) and the newer (1960s). I was in the older section. It was nicely appointed with a seating area, desk, good queen bed, fridge, big screen TV. The room was large with several windows that actually opened. This was good because there was a pervasive smell in the hallway -- probably from the AC. I would stay here again -- the smell seemed to diffuse after a day or so. Frankly, I didn't mention it so I have no idea if this is usual or what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is one block away. Ask the desk for the 15% discount coupons.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sexy lean guy
TEXAS
Nov 8, 2010

Great LOCATION! NO WIRELESS!!!

I much rather stay at a chain hotel. While the accomadations Were acceptable the shoWers Were TINY, like for little people and I'm only 5'9" and very lean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks and diners on every block, plus cheesecake factory and macy's, etc.

Back to menu Return to top